Customer Reviews


2,626 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,481)
4 star:
 (601)
3 star:
 (346)
2 star:
 (122)
1 star:
 (76)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 141 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking
The story of Soloman Northup is both horrifying and heartbreaking and all the more devastating when you know that it is true. I have seen the film and although it is excellent, I feel that the book explains in more detail exactly what happened. There are parts in the film where I would have wondered why situations developed as they did and the book fills in those gaps...
Published 13 months ago by Chrissywissy

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ohhh...
I know its probably a sin to say it but I found this book really boring, even the fact it was a true story couldn't keep me gripped. It was too slow for my liking. I can't believe I am saying this but I think I would rather have watched the film!
Published 12 months ago by Nichola J Langton


‹ Previous | 1120 121 122263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
A Great read of a sad story x I want to watch the film now, a recommended read for anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
Took this book away on holiday and it had me gripped right until the end. Watched the film but not as good as the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
I read this book and enjoyed every page. The way it was written was at first a bit distracting as it was old fashioned but I soon got used to it. I really felt for Solomon and his celebs at being wrenched fro his family were really felt. It's hard to believe how cruel the masters were to their slaves. The author was good at describing all the different characters so that you got a real sense of what they were like. I went and saw the film after I had read the book and whilst enjoyable I enjoyed the book far more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
Brilliantly written book, details in such simple terms the unbelievable journey this man undertook. Highly recommend to any reader young or old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read would recommend, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
what an amazing true story
I am now looking forward to watching the film very soon.
an emotional read that is tear jerking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twelve years a slave, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
The language used in the writing of this book was very different, took a bit of getting used to as it is written like a diary, so therefore the language is of the day it was written. It is worth sticking with it though. A story of a man who never gave up hope and endured the pains of life as a slave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 23 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
This is an absolutely must read for anyone. This part of our history has to be kept alive so slavery like this isn't part of our history again. Shame in some countries it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars twelve years a slave, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
having recently seen the film I thought that Ii would give the book a try . it didn't disappoint , a very real account of this man's life . you have no idea of what slavery really is until you read this book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting account of Mr Northup`s life. Sad that he went through this terrible ordeal. However he then went on to help the escape of other slaves and campaign for the abolition of slavery once he was free again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book., 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
Harrowing and inspiring tale of slavery. Tugs at the heartstrings. One of the most emotional and heartfelt books I have ever read. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1120 121 122263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twelve Years a Slave
Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews