Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars2,967
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2014
if purchasiing have to beaware this book was written in 1840 and as such the grammer is victorian also as with the movie timescales of enslavement unclear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
The strength of the author's spirit under relentless suffering is impressive and shines through the horror of slavery - an excellent read and an education.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
before I started to read I knew what the book was about and that it was a true story. this didn't spoil my reading in anyway, A fantastic well written book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
A great book, very interesting and informative, almost unbelievable in parts. A book you don't want to put down, keeps you enthralled all the way through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
A remarkable story. I put off watching the film until I had read the book. It is a powerful account of this vile practise, one that sadly continues today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
Haven't been to see the film but can see why this account of his life was selected for the screen. Hard to put down: factual, well written and compelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
very good read, unbelievable that life could be like this. Have not seen the movie but not sure i would want to see the darker instances of life on screen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2014
From the beginning right to the end I found this book exciting riveting, real, dramatic and beautiful. I recommend this book to anyone wanting to read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
A bit difficult to read given the subject matter and the way it is written.Very descriptive and at times disturbing and hard to read but also interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Harrowing and inspiring tale of slavery. Tugs at the heartstrings. One of the most emotional and heartfelt books I have ever read. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.