Customer Reviews


1,916 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,082)
4 star:
 (454)
3 star:
 (243)
2 star:
 (84)
1 star:
 (53)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking
The story of Soloman Northup is both horrifying and heartbreaking and all the more devastating when you know that it is true. I have seen the film and although it is excellent, I feel that the book explains in more detail exactly what happened. There are parts in the film where I would have wondered why situations developed as they did and the book fills in those gaps...
Published 6 months ago by Chrissywissy

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ohhh...
I know its probably a sin to say it but I found this book really boring, even the fact it was a true story couldn't keep me gripped. It was too slow for my liking. I can't believe I am saying this but I think I would rather have watched the film!
Published 4 months ago by Nichola J Langton


‹ Previous | 1 2192 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

127 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
The story of Soloman Northup is both horrifying and heartbreaking and all the more devastating when you know that it is true. I have seen the film and although it is excellent, I feel that the book explains in more detail exactly what happened. There are parts in the film where I would have wondered why situations developed as they did and the book fills in those gaps. The language in the book is evocative of the time in which it was written and for me was all the more powerful because of the understated tone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


166 of 179 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solomon Northup - The epic journey from freedom to slavery and back, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
"12 Years a Slave" is one of those books that was important and popular in its day but unexplainably over the years it fell from view and into obscurity. In every sense this book by Solomon Northup is the non fiction equivalent of Harriet Beecher Stowe's classic anti slavery tome "Uncle Tom's Cabin". Indeed in many respects it is a better read. Yet whereas the reputation of the latter has played a key role particularly book in the historiography of the origins of the American Civil War, Northup's book only re-emerged in the 1960s after being rediscovered by two Louisiana historians. The books fame will receive a well deserved boost with the forthcoming release of Steve Rodney McQueen's heavily British driven film version. It is already an Oscar contender in the US and is clocking a remarkable 97% rating on the film critics web site "Rotten Tomatoes". There is some inevitable controversy over the films interpretation of the book but that is for another review. Whatever the case the central performances of Chiwetel Ejiofor as "Northup" and Lupita Nyong'o as "Patsey" are said to verge on acting master classes with potential award glories to follow.

First published in 1853 the base line for the book charts the story of Solomon Northup. He was born in Minerva, New York in July 1808, to a liberated slave and his wife. Northup's life as a a free man and brilliant musician takes up the first part of this very powerful short book. In 1841 an encounter he had outside Washington DC with two men "Merrill Brown and Abram Hamilton" changes everything. They essentially kidnap him and sell him into slavery. This base duplicity leads to the telling of a story of a free man forced into bondage and its horrors. He is sold to the notorious Washington-based slave trader James H. Burch, who brutally whips him for protesting that he is a free man. Eventually he ends up deep in Louisiana and spends the next 12 years of his life there until he was rescued by a prominent citizen of his home state who knew him. In that time he is "sold' to a variety of "owners" although by far the most brutish is Edwin Epps, a "repulsive and coarse" Louisiana cotton planter whom Northup describes as being devoid of any redeeming qualities "and never enjoying the advantages of an education". This is where the burning hurt and degradation of the story reaches its climax. This is a throughly compelling and gripping read. Northup describes the "rhythms" of slavery giving real insight into the relentless whippings, punishments and the back breaking work particularly of cotton picking season. He learns to survive and despite his predicament a fierce intelligence burns not least a sense of the beauty of the nature around him confessing that "there are few sights more pleasant to the eye than a wide cotton field when it is in bloom" . The details in the book of slave living quarters, of sticks of wood as pillows and the starvation diets of bacon and corn are a key element of this book, but it is the chronicle of the Antebellum era "White masters" that makes you rage with anger. These were possibly one of the most debauched, brutish and hypocritical category of human being this side of white South African police during apartheid. Thank God that Lincoln, with the persistent agitation of abolitionists like the great Frederick Douglas, took them on and won.

The book concludes with the tortuous negotiations around Northup's release from slavery (hampered by the fact that his slave name was "Platt") and the joy of eventual re-union with his family. It is a literary work that deserves all belated plaudits possible. It is written in a surprisingly contemporary manner and Northup is natural storyteller, acutely intelligent and observant plus possessing a dry sense of humour despite his predicament. His prose is beautiful and easy to read and he has a towering tale to tell. The cost of this book is essentially a giveaway and you will not regret its purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ohhh..., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
I know its probably a sin to say it but I found this book really boring, even the fact it was a true story couldn't keep me gripped. It was too slow for my liking. I can't believe I am saying this but I think I would rather have watched the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hard read - but well worth it., 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
it's taken me longer than usual to read this book. Not because it was uninteresting or boring. I honestly found it difficult to read for long periods of time. I felt such despair and frustruation throughout I needed to stop reading for a while. I am humbled by Soloman Northrup and all of those who endured the relentless pain of slavery. I am utterly speechless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw truth, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
This was a fantastic book. The eloquent writing style expressed the strong personality of the author throughout. It immerses us into the world of slavery and is heartbreaking, not only for the injustices Soloman suffered, but the suffering that the other slaves had to endure for the rest of their lives, even when Soloman was restored to liberty. The sequence of events are believable and portrayed with raw honesty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most powerful and moving books I have ever read, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
This book.is an amazing account of Solomon Northup's 12 years in bondage and the hardships and inhumanities that he suffered under slavery in the south, after being kidnapped while a free citizen of the North.

There is.no.doubt that this book should be up there as a classic and also as a piece of historic literature that should be read by everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more detailed than the film., 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
Superb account of the trials and tribulations of slavery. Necessarily diluted and compressed for the otherwise brilliant film. I cannot understand why this book hasn't been required reading for the last 150 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading., 25 Jan 2014
By 
Bazz (WIRRAL, MERSEYSIDE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
I consider this book to be essential reading for everyone. I read it to prepare myself for the film and am glad I did. It is a very moving personal account of Northup's kidnapping and slavery. The few flaws in the narrative give it an authentic tone. A very moving account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars interesting insight into slavery but not a compelling narrative, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
The topic of the book is interesting and I persisted to the end if only in respect of Solomon himself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Slavery, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Years a Slave (Kindle Edition)
Much, much, much better than the film. This book shows the horror of slavery and the people who managed the slaves. A must for all students of American history and the legacy of slavery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2192 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twelve Years a Slave
Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup
0.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews