Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars84
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 11 October 2013
I really liked More Than A Lot when it was first released. It provided a unique twist on different aspects of drum and base and dubstep that worked really well. This is the same kind of concept, but this time Chase and Status are revisiting some of the classic dance movements that have taken place over the last 20-30 years or so. Count on me is a brilliant rave track reminiscent of some of the Prodigy's earlier work, but with a more modern twist. On the note of the Prodigy, there is even a sample from Charly on the track Deeper Devotion. I love the Prodigy, so from my point of view it is a definite plus point that this album is clearly influenced by one of my favourite artists.

I also picked up a bit of a DJ Shadow style vibe from some of the tracks, especially with regards to some of the more experimental/hip hop influenced tracks. Cheers to Chase and Status for also dropping a garage track in there as well (Blk & Blu), that really took me back! :)

The reggae vocals on some tracks I am not so keen on, but that is just my own musical preference. There are some tracks on the album I am not completely sold on, but that is usually the case with most albums.

I think if you are around 30 or over, you will probably appreciate this more than if you are much younger or aren't familiar with some of the older influenced tracks. Although saying that, this album could introduce you to a whole new range of older dance music you never even knew existed.

Not a perfect album, but there are some really decent tracks on there that make it well worth the money in my opinion. If you want more of More Than A Lot, then this probably isn't the album for you. If you have a more varied taste when it comes to dance music, then just skip forward to track 3 and enjoy the album!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 4 November 2013
Not on the level of the two previous albums but worth a listen none the less. Personally being a fan a the deeper sounds such as saxon and the very dance centric, no problem and smash tv I most enjoyed, Machine Gun, Gangsta Boogie and both mixes of International. Not a fan of either Moko songs or blk and blu which was awful live in nottingham, but alive, lost and not found and heaven are all decent additions. the rest is average filler for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 October 2013
I am a big C&S fan and have seen them live on more than one occasion. The way they transcend the different forms of dance music and serve up a unique yet post modern take on the genre is what I like best about them. For me they're the Prodigy of their day and although this album isn't perfect I am very happy with it. I think it suffers from a little over ambition at times but when it gets it right with the x2 single releases to date it really nails it. For me the Pusha T song is poor but that's down to me being a Clipse fan and expecting more from him on this. They could have got anyone to do what he did with that song.

I like the remixes, especially the Andy C mix of the latest single.

I recommend this album to one and all. As a previous reviewer put it - instantly accessible.......
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 18 December 2013
Worst thing C&S have done to date. Not quite sure what they were thinking. It;s like a showcase of genres they have painted by numbers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 October 2013
Chase and status have always been one of those annoying acts for me. Some of the tracks they've released have been absolutely amazing. Blind faith springs to mind! However, their previous albums have been a bit heavy on the tracks I just want to skip. Having heard two tracks from this album, lost and found; count on me, I was very excited to hear it and to see what direction C&S have gone in this time.
First impressions? This is a very varied offering. If you like the aforementioned tracks you will PROBABLY like the album. They're not all like the tracks released as singles. Pressure ft major lazer is very basement jaxx like, and blk & blu could easily be mistaken for Artful Dodger in its uk garage feel. Deeper Devotion has a 90s dance feel to it. The standout tracks are definitely the ones already released, and the rest although not as good, are not tracks to skip.
All in all this is a very good, varied, well produced album. I love count on me, it's one of my tracks of the year, but I wouldn't want to listen to a whole album of similar stuff. This is definitely am album you can listen to all the way through, but just keep an open mind!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
This is the third studio album from Chase and Status and is the follow up to their critically acclaimed and celebrated No More Idols.

The push to move electronic music to the forefront of pop music is not a new phenomenon - this album comes just a week after Sub Focus released their new album Torus; both artists clearly doing a great job at bringing Drum and Bass (and its various offshoots) into the mainstream.

'Brand New Machine' is a tribute to the variety of electronic music that flourished in the 90s. The album is instantly accessible (much like their previous works) and dips into trip-hop, dance, drum and bass and even a hint of r&b.

A far cry from their underground roots on the Renegade Hardware label, Saul Milton (Chase) and Will Kennard (Status) have lost alot of the ingenuity and rawness of real jungle and d'n'b but have on the other hand manifested a formula that will sell out venues and festivals. Its a scintillating pop sound that is still generating classic feel-good anthems.

Listen to: 'Count On Me', 'Heaven Knows', 'Lost & Not Found', 'Alive'
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
I see so much hate from people for this album, but really dont see what is to hate, just because they havent done what there other albums where... which doesnt make sense either... because there previous two albums were rather different.

This Album shows a whole new level in what Chase & Status can do and what THEY can achieve, SO many great tracks on this album that i just cannot stop listening

all this hate that they are giving will it ever be enough ;)

only song i never liked was 'heaven knows' yet thats grown on me and has a real nice sound

I really like this album, and am proud to own the CD along with the other 2 albums.


ive become found. peace
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 9 October 2013
If your into good Music, Grew up with Old Skool breaks and beats love Rave and Feel good Music.....Buy it!
C&S Return to the old vibe! check out there whole catalogue and see you at the O2 in November! LIve
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
This album is good, but with so many different styles on it, it sounds more like a compilation album rather than the work of a single artist. I'm not sure if this is because C & S were trying to show they can "do" dance music, or if it is a by product of the number of collaborations (11 over the 14 tracks). There are a couple of old skool bangers in Count On Me & Deeper Devotion, some garage in Blak & Blu, some dubstep in Alive, and almost everything in between! Chase & Status fans will undoubtedly love it, but for the casual listener, I'd suggest just downloading individual tracks rather than shelling out for the entire album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 2 December 2013
One of the criticisms levelled at No More Idols was that it was a couple of track too long. This album, by contrast, is more like 10 or 11 tracks too long. The opener 'Gun Metal Grey' is a tedious dirge that blunders in a stoned haze into the uninspiring dance-hall nursery rhyme of 'International' so that by the time the first of the singles is over it feels like this brand new machine has barely got past first gear. 'Count on Me' is a unapologetic homage to early 90's rave that at least manages to hit some kind of high, mediocre by the standard Chase and Status set on their previous albums and over far too quickly. After this the clouds of dope smoke grow thicker and the artists seem to drift into a comma. 'Blk and Blu' sidles past keeping it's head down with a disappointing Major Lazer collaboration skulking behind. 'Machine Gun', when it arrives, is so out of context that what sounded like a four-to-the-floor banger on the radio is jarring and uncomfortable.

'Gangsta Boogie' is straight up hip-hop and while there is nothing wrong hip-hop as such it seems as though this track only exists to demonstrate how well C&S can 'do' hip-hop. 'Heaven Knows' fills a similar purpose demonstrating how adept they are at power ballads. Then comes the third drum and bass offering which, as Louis points out, is fading away almost from the moment it starts.

Then comes the dull 90's interlude, four filler tracks with little to distinguish them, showcasing C&S's old-school credentials before they remember the lessons from 'Music Club' on More Than Alot (i.e build it up to a big crescendo). The final track almost manages to make up for the vacuous nonsense that preceded it but it still feels as though they are barely alive rather than "so alive!" as Jacob Banks would have it.

Of course everything is immaculately performed and produced as one would expect but it lacks the vibrancy and vitality that made the first two records such compelling listening. More Than Alot and No More Idols were seminal albums which helped to bring drum and bass back from the wilderness and were benchmarks by with the rest of the dance music industry was judged. If they were hoping to do the same for 90's rave with this album then they are seriously misguided. Brand New Machine sets the bar as low as it can go before tripping over it and landing on its arse.


Must try harder
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Torus by Sub Focus

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.