Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A homage to the old school
I really liked More Than A Lot when it was first released. It provided a unique twist on different aspects of drum and base and dubstep that worked really well. This is the same kind of concept, but this time Chase and Status are revisiting some of the classic dance movements that have taken place over the last 20-30 years or so. Count on me is a brilliant rave track...
Published 6 months ago by Dave

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More M&S than C&S
One of the criticisms levelled at No More Idols was that it was a couple of track too long. This album, by contrast, is more like 10 or 11 tracks too long. The opener 'Gun Metal Grey' is a tedious dirge that blunders in a stoned haze into the uninspiring dance-hall nursery rhyme of 'International' so that by the time the first of the singles is over it feels like this...
Published 4 months ago by BobbyBread


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A homage to the old school, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
I really liked More Than A Lot when it was first released. It provided a unique twist on different aspects of drum and base and dubstep that worked really well. This is the same kind of concept, but this time Chase and Status are revisiting some of the classic dance movements that have taken place over the last 20-30 years or so. Count on me is a brilliant rave track reminiscent of some of the Prodigy's earlier work, but with a more modern twist. On the note of the Prodigy, there is even a sample from Charly on the track Deeper Devotion. I love the Prodigy, so from my point of view it is a definite plus point that this album is clearly influenced by one of my favourite artists.

I also picked up a bit of a DJ Shadow style vibe from some of the tracks, especially with regards to some of the more experimental/hip hop influenced tracks. Cheers to Chase and Status for also dropping a garage track in there as well (Blk & Blu), that really took me back! :)

The reggae vocals on some tracks I am not so keen on, but that is just my own musical preference. There are some tracks on the album I am not completely sold on, but that is usually the case with most albums.

I think if you are around 30 or over, you will probably appreciate this more than if you are much younger or aren't familiar with some of the older influenced tracks. Although saying that, this album could introduce you to a whole new range of older dance music you never even knew existed.

Not a perfect album, but there are some really decent tracks on there that make it well worth the money in my opinion. If you want more of More Than A Lot, then this probably isn't the album for you. If you have a more varied taste when it comes to dance music, then just skip forward to track 3 and enjoy the album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More M&S than C&S, 2 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
One of the criticisms levelled at No More Idols was that it was a couple of track too long. This album, by contrast, is more like 10 or 11 tracks too long. The opener 'Gun Metal Grey' is a tedious dirge that blunders in a stoned haze into the uninspiring dance-hall nursery rhyme of 'International' so that by the time the first of the singles is over it feels like this brand new machine has barely got past first gear. 'Count on Me' is a unapologetic homage to early 90's rave that at least manages to hit some kind of high, mediocre by the standard Chase and Status set on their previous albums and over far too quickly. After this the clouds of dope smoke grow thicker and the artists seem to drift into a comma. 'Blk and Blu' sidles past keeping it's head down with a disappointing Major Lazer collaboration skulking behind. 'Machine Gun', when it arrives, is so out of context that what sounded like a four-to-the-floor banger on the radio is jarring and uncomfortable.

'Gangsta Boogie' is straight up hip-hop and while there is nothing wrong hip-hop as such it seems as though this track only exists to demonstrate how well C&S can 'do' hip-hop. 'Heaven Knows' fills a similar purpose demonstrating how adept they are at power ballads. Then comes the third drum and bass offering which, as Louis points out, is fading away almost from the moment it starts.

Then comes the dull 90's interlude, four filler tracks with little to distinguish them, showcasing C&S's old-school credentials before they remember the lessons from 'Music Club' on More Than Alot (i.e build it up to a big crescendo). The final track almost manages to make up for the vacuous nonsense that preceded it but it still feels as though they are barely alive rather than "so alive!" as Jacob Banks would have it.

Of course everything is immaculately performed and produced as one would expect but it lacks the vibrancy and vitality that made the first two records such compelling listening. More Than Alot and No More Idols were seminal albums which helped to bring drum and bass back from the wilderness and were benchmarks by with the rest of the dance music industry was judged. If they were hoping to do the same for 90's rave with this album then they are seriously misguided. Brand New Machine sets the bar as low as it can go before tripping over it and landing on its arse.

2/5

Must try harder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 18 Dec 2013
By 
A. Hill (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brand New Machine [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Worst thing C&S have done to date. Not quite sure what they were thinking. It;s like a showcase of genres they have painted by numbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 3rd Album they just keep getting better and better, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your into good Music, Grew up with Old Skool breaks and beats love Rave and Feel good Music.....Buy it!
C&S Return to the old vibe! check out there whole catalogue and see you at the O2 in November! LIve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent work., 9 Oct 2013
I am a big C&S fan and have seen them live on more than one occasion. The way they transcend the different forms of dance music and serve up a unique yet post modern take on the genre is what I like best about them. For me they're the Prodigy of their day and although this album isn't perfect I am very happy with it. I think it suffers from a little over ambition at times but when it gets it right with the x2 single releases to date it really nails it. For me the Pusha T song is poor but that's down to me being a Clipse fan and expecting more from him on this. They could have got anyone to do what he did with that song.

I like the remixes, especially the Andy C mix of the latest single.

I recommend this album to one and all. As a previous reviewer put it - instantly accessible.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brand New Machine - Chase & Status, 20 Oct 2013
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
If you are a Chase & Status fan, you may at first feel slightly disappointed with this album. However, you may find that to change after a few listens, as the tracks seem to evolve with each hearing, rather than be instance classics. I personally now love this album as much as the previous two albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Relax everyone - it's obviously a good album!, 4 April 2014
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
For those who wanted pure drum & bass, you were always gonna be disappointed - all 3 LPs have been really diverse dance records. This is different to the last two, but as much fun as 'More Than A Lot' and as assured as 'No More Idols'. If you liked both or either, what's not to like here? Basically a big collection of loving nods to the Old Skool. Maybe you have to have been an 18 year old numpty stood in a muddy field in the 90s to truly get why this is such a good album, and it might be sentimentality, but it takes me back and I like this record 'more than a lot'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
Big fan of chase and status and this album does not disappoint.

Classics like COUNT ON YOU and now there new follow up Black & Blue.

They bring the vibe with gritty and decent sounds and melodies.

As good as there other albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a very confused album, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
This album is good, but with so many different styles on it, it sounds more like a compilation album rather than the work of a single artist. I'm not sure if this is because C & S were trying to show they can "do" dance music, or if it is a by product of the number of collaborations (11 over the 14 tracks). There are a couple of old skool bangers in Count On Me & Deeper Devotion, some garage in Blak & Blu, some dubstep in Alive, and almost everything in between! Chase & Status fans will undoubtedly love it, but for the casual listener, I'd suggest just downloading individual tracks rather than shelling out for the entire album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some great tracks, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brand New Machine (Audio CD)
I really only bought this CD for one track-Count on Me-I loved the Old Skool vibe of that track when I first heard that. Really enjoyed the rest of the album too. It really is a bonus when you buy an album for one song and really enjoy the rest of the album too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b71c30)

This product

Brand New Machine [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews