Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schenker back to his Very Best
This is the album that Schenker fans have been waiting for and is probably the guitarist's best work since his solo career began in 1980. From the pounding opener `Where the Wild Winds Blow' to the closing number `Dance for the Piper', every song is a corker. Stand out tracks include the galloping `Horizons', the amazing `Lord of the Lost and Lonely' and the brooding...
Published 7 months ago by Jesmondos

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
I'm a big Schenker fan but I think this is average at best. Probably because I don't like the vocals, Metal Mikey plays OK but I don't think there are any outstanding tracks. Certainly nothing close to his UFO and early MSG stuff. I often wonder if his ego has prevented him linking with a real top notch singer to avoid being over shadowed. Just an opinion.
Published 5 months ago by JohnRob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schenker back to his Very Best, 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: Bridge The Gap (Audio CD)
This is the album that Schenker fans have been waiting for and is probably the guitarist's best work since his solo career began in 1980. From the pounding opener `Where the Wild Winds Blow' to the closing number `Dance for the Piper', every song is a corker. Stand out tracks include the galloping `Horizons', the amazing `Lord of the Lost and Lonely' and the brooding `Black Moon Rising'. One or two tracks may need a few plays to appreciate just how good they are, but this album gets better and better every time it is played. Schenker has put together an exceptional band that is finally worthy of his talents and Doogie White, Herman Rarebell, Francis Bulchholz and the ever dependable Wayne Findlay are in fine form throughout. However, it is Schenker's stellar playing that makes this album great. He is possibly in the best form of his career and recent live performances testify to this. The word genius is too often used to describe moderate talent, but it is fully justified in Schenker's case. Buy this album, it is quite simply the most consistently brilliant piece of work Schenker has done since his UFO days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars teutonic metal, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge The Gap (Audio CD)
been a fan of Michael since he was a member of the Scorpions through UFO/MSG and now the TEMPLE OF ROCK great to see and hear him back to his brilliant best after the bad years and back at the top of his game as one of the guitar greats bit biased here but simply love the boy to bits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This could Bridge the Gap between Everest and K2!, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Robert Knowles "109Rob" (Cardiff, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge The Gap (Audio CD)
This is yet another magnificent, exhilarating, vivifying, adrenalizing, jubilant, and energizing offering from Michael Schenker. Bridge the Gap (BG) is an understatement - you could span continents and oceans with this album.

Over the years, in my opinion, Michael has proved himself to be rock's greatest ever guitarist, having: the best musical compositions; the greatest stylistic versatility; the largest and most consistently outstanding portfolio; the most originality; the most beautiful style; the most sophisticated melodic architecture; the best use of structural progressions; the most blistering solos; more riff ideas than anybody else - the list goes on. In my opinion, name any objective musical criterion (as opposed to subjective taste), and Michael Schenker towers over the competition (with the possible exception of Hendrix - though, in my view, Schenker ultimately surpasses even him).

That Schenker is not more popular than he is is surely a sad testament to the dark powers of market-engineered and socially constructed consumer-conditioning, to the pre-critical passive submission of media-targeted demographic groups to herd-mentality and to the unthinking "chav-culture" adoption of behaviourally-mimicked and non-interrogated received habits of speech about this or that artist's achievements or failings. Michael may have had the odd "dark year" in terms of live performances, but these pale into insignificance next to the thousands of great live gigs he has under his belt, and next to his amazing studio-output, which is about two or three times the size of that of the next most-consistent rock acts.

And the standards remain high in this album. I thought Temple of Rock (TR) was superb, but if anything I think BG is even more consistent. In my view, and speaking of TR, then tracks 2,3,4,5,9,10,13, and 14 were fabulous, with tracks 1,6,7,8,11,12,15, and 16 being still very good (Schenker doesn't do "bad"), but not quite as outstanding. This meant that TR had three "zones" of "greatest strength" that were interspersed with slight dips.

By contrast, in my view, BG is sheer greatness from track 1 all the way to track 8 inclusive, with a slight dip at 9, followed by more greatness in tracks 10 and 11, a slight dip again for 12 and 13, only to end with greatness again with track 14. So, again, we have three zones of "greatest strength", and a couple of dips, but in BG we have fully 10 tracks of greatness, whereas in TR there were 8 tracks of highest quality. In BG, moreover, since the first 8 tracks are all good, you get a more consistently great "album" experience. And 9 is still pretty good, so really you get almost unbroken top-notch classic rock for 11 tracks, which looks pretty consistent to me!

As to the tracks themselves, then we begin with Neptune Rising, which is really the start of Track 2, Where the Wild Winds Blow. Taken together, we end up with a great single composite track: explosive and haunting opening, melodically strong, excellent tone and mix, well-layered, catchy, with plenty of pace, an acoustic then electric solo, but still with sufficient restraint to create a building effect when we go to track 3, Horizons. Horizons is fast-paced, original, energizing, with a superb solo, and is well-known by those who've been to see Schenker live. Track 4, Lord of the Lost and Lonely, is a highlight for me - absolutely brilliant.

It is amazing how Schenker keeps coming up with classic after classic. You're left thinking, "I thought everything had been done already in rock, but I was wrong!" Generally, in rock these days, there is a numbing sameness and melodic paucity to the material of many bands. The reason for this is that very few people have more than a couple of great ideas. Schenker, though, is like a constant source of brilliant genre-defining ideas.

Track 5, Rock n Roll Symphony, is also an absolute corker in my view. You've got pace, energy, joy, melody, sing-along accessibility, trade-mark engine-room riffing you could recalibrate Greenwich atomic clock by, brilliant soloing interspersed with great keyboards. And by now, you've realized that Doogie White is one hell of a great singer.

One thing that singles Schenker out is the sheer joy and happiness in his music. There's none of the usual self-pitiousness or addiction to ominousness you find in most rock music these days. Schenker is never monotomous, never boring, but always packing in idea after idea, concept after concept, structure upon structure into his music. By comparison, other bands always seem depressing, dull, samey, cross-fertilized in their copying of one another in order to conform to market-driven fads and hit the money - traits that Schenker is famous for successfully, rightly, and uniquely avoiding like the plague.

Track 6, Live for the King, is another stunning offering. There is more of Schenker's "deep-south" style going on in the soloing, catchy and faultless structure and melody, and an opposite-to-early-Budgie progression of structures. The comparisons with Dio, Maiden and Rainbow have some truth to them, but the "Schenkerizing" filter is strong - as though Schenker were revising the earlier works to show how it should be done.

The thing with Schenker is the way one just wants to listen to his music again and again because there is an energizing delight to what he does. With other rock bands, however, (great bands like Rush, Fish and a few others aside) there is much more limitation, predictability, and two-dimensionality. With Schenker, though, there are layers to be discovered - a definite "grows on you effect". In fact, it is even dangerous to review a Schenker album too early because often he sacrifices immediate "bubble-gum" impact in order to bring us something more substantial. As one friend pointed out, with Schenker what at first might seem simple turns out to be much more complex than you at first thought - so that new highlights and empathy-moments emerge after multiple listens. Schenker doesn't really fit into "sound-bite" culture; and yet, at the same time, his conciseness is almost unmatched. He's a bit like a great beer - you have to wait for the after-taste; everything does not happen the first moment it hits your tongue.

Track 7, the third fast-paced track, lives up to its title, Land of Thunder. Another thing you notice is what a great drum and bass combination we have with Herman Rarebell and Francis Buchholz. Don't be fooled by their clean-cut and friendly "family-man" demeanor - these guys are superb accompanying musicians and outstanding rockers who are used to playing together. They both really shine out in Track 8, Temple of the Holy. There are yet more strong accessible melodies and deep-south style soloing on this track. Billy Gibbons take note. In fact, Schenker is mixing styles again - the gravelly deep-south soloing is spliced with a more Euro style structurally.

Track 9, Shine On, which I indicated earlier was a slight dip - well, now I'm not sure. Again, it just may be one of those tracks that takes longer for one to appreciate properly. Certainly, the soloing in it is wonderful, and Wayne Findley's consistently strong backing guitars come into welcome prominence. Track 10, Bridges we have Burned, is a wonderful track. Totally original riff-structures, strong vocals, marvelous chorus.

The material is so strong, you're not at all desperate for the solo to start like you are with other bands. Rather, Schenker's soloing is more integral to the track as a whole, which demands more restraint perhaps, but which serves to create a unity that empathically resonates with the listener and helps them to build imaginary worlds. In other bands, by contrast, one's own journey is often interrupted by a vanity-display solo that - for that reason - soon seems dull.

Track 11, Because You Lied, is yet another surprise. Break-neck pace; three solos; structurally original and unusual; addictive. Track 12, which again brings Wayne Findlay's 7-string guitar and keyboards to prominence, is a welcome slowing of the pace after the mania of the previous track. Superb extended soloing, great singalong potential; great sense of building. With Track 13, the pace is upped slightly, though not quite enough in my view. Nevertheless, there is a great accessibility to this track, good beefy rhythm guitars, and a good melody and chorus. Overall, I think this track is the weakest on the album, though it has several redeeming features. I would have preferred a final track like How Long on Temple of Rock, which had a truly inspired outro solo. Instead we get a bit of an anticlimax after such a first-class run of tracks.

Which is why the album to get is the one with the bonus track 14, entitled Faith, which is really "Positive Forward" from Thank You, but with a welcome guest vocal appearance from Don Dokken. This last track is top-notch in my view, and serves to remind those who don't know about the great work that Michael did on the "Thank You" albums - all of which were something no other rock guitarist could have written, in my view, such was their quality, complexity, accessibility, and originality.

To cut a long story short, definitely get this latest offering from Michael Schenker. It Bridges the Gap, spans the oceans, and crosses the continents. I almost single-handedly conquered Sparta, chiseled out my very own Norwegian fjord, and hand-built a granite aqueduct across the Bearing Sea after listening to this. I felt so rock-vectored with resolve, that even Monday mornings seemed to offer no resistance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 4 Mar 2014
This review is from: Bridge The Gap (Audio CD)
I'm a big Schenker fan but I think this is average at best. Probably because I don't like the vocals, Metal Mikey plays OK but I don't think there are any outstanding tracks. Certainly nothing close to his UFO and early MSG stuff. I often wonder if his ego has prevented him linking with a real top notch singer to avoid being over shadowed. Just an opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars schenker at his best, 11 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Bridge The Gap (Audio CD)
iv been a fan of his music since his days with the scorpions as i didn't know that he was with UFO at the time. he created two of the best 70s albums for the scorpions and all time fav with UFO and his return had injected power to UFO by the end of the 90s early y2k. now that his back 1st with his own solo then the resurrection of MSG, but this is his time again and this is the best album to say the truth this is will be the best guitar album of 2013 in my book. buy it if your looking for the best of the best in guitar playing buy it if your looking for something better the the radio friendly albums. a must to any 70s - 80s rock fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge The Gap (Audio CD)
This man is a God. In my eyes he can do no wrong !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge The Gap (Audio CD)
Michael Schenker is my favorite living guitarist. I have everything he's ever played on including off the beaten track stuff like albums with Siggi Schwartz, The Plot, Contraband, Amy Schugar, you name it. As a guitarist there is no one like him, his ear for melody, vibrato, phrasing, playing style - amazing....but songwise his albums just keep coming up short for me.

I keep buying his stuff, whether it is MSG, solo projects, this new "Temple of Rock" stuff, and I keep being disappointed due to a lack of good songwriting. Actually that is not completely true, I thought the first Temple of Rock album was "OK", but it, like most everything else he's released since about 1995, hasn't done his axe wielding skills justice. IMO his last truly great album was UFO's Walk On Water from 1995. I think he needs a songwriting partner/singer with an ear for melody like UFO's Phil Mogg, or what Michael was able to do with Gary Barden or Graham Bonnet back in the '80's in MSG. Or Klaus Meine from the Scorpions. The man can still play that's for sure, live he is still incredible.

I did have high hopes for this album since I loved his recent live outing with most of the players on this album (singer Doogie White and the ex-Scorpions rhythm section Herman & Francis) but the songs on this album just do nothing for me at all. I find it to be a very tedious listen. I was hoping for so much more.

That being said I hope Michael continues to make new music. Maybe one of these days he'll hit songwriting paydirt again, but I fear that is not going to happen unless he can hook up with a decent vocalist/songwriter with an ear for actual melody. Having Don Dokken on one song on this (an old instrumental with added vocals) might be a good omen, if Michael can only work with Don to write some new songs. Or might I suggest someone like Danny Vaughn. Or heck team up with Davey Pattison and write some songs (rather than just doing covers - which I loved btw). Or team up with brother Rudolf, maybe he can give Michael some melodic song ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Return for Schenker, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge The Gap (Audio CD)
I'm really glad I bought this CD. Doogie White does a great job on the vocals and it has some great songs with catchy riffs. It could have done with a few more guitar solos but on a whole I would recommend this to any fan of classic hard rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars msg, 18 April 2014
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge The Gap (Audio CD)
great to see Michael schenker making great records again. with dougie white on vocals and some scorpions he is reinvented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars msg, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge The Gap (Audio CD)
Michael back in the driving seat . very good album... and Dougie white on vocals .well worth 5 stars . buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bridge The Gap
Bridge The Gap by Michael Schenker (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews