Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well sourced information.
The Real Diana is not what is expected. As a Diana worshipper who cried buckets at her funeral,I was interested in the multi faceted personality of this iconic woman. This book tells another story completely. The sourcing for each statement is impeccable, and so I am inclined to believe it. It is sympathetic to her 'difficulties', but shows a cunning and quite ruthless...
Published on 14 Jun 2012 by Petspectrum

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm
I’ve just finished reading the Kindle edition of The Real Diana, and the fact that I actually got from cover to cover indicates to me that this book is not all THAT bad. It’s worth a read. However, there is so much not to like. Tone is one thing. For the first 30% of this book, the author repeats variations of ‘mentally ill’ so often that when...
Published 5 months ago by Ditsy Chick


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well sourced information., 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Diana (Paperback)
The Real Diana is not what is expected. As a Diana worshipper who cried buckets at her funeral,I was interested in the multi faceted personality of this iconic woman. This book tells another story completely. The sourcing for each statement is impeccable, and so I am inclined to believe it. It is sympathetic to her 'difficulties', but shows a cunning and quite ruthless woman. The cover-ups and distortions make sense too. I still love the memory of her, but it is a fairer description than the innocent, naive woman we grew to love.
A good read if you like all things royal. Recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb biography., 10 Nov 2013
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Diana (Kindle Edition)
Having read Andrew Morton's book on Diana I felt very sorry for her as it came across that she was relentlessly bullied by the Royal family and their Courtiers. This book tells a totally different story. One where the young Diana is too naive to have even been married into Royalty at such a young age. She thought that once she was The Princess of Wales and had given birth to the Heir and the Spare that was her job done. She had a hard time having to go through her diary every day and quite frequently screamed at her secretary and threw the diary across the room.

From the start, she railed against everybody including her Husband, accusing him of still seeing Camilla Parker-Bowles, had histrionics with the Courtiers and also developed an eating disorder. Bulimia. She waged a war against this illness for many, many years.

Charles also wounded from a fractured childhood did his best to look after her but the more he tried to help, the more she pushed him away.

This is a sad book in many ways because if Diana hadn't married into the Royal family, she may still have been alive today. On the other hand we wouldn't have the delightful two Princes in the Royal family now.

Eventually some years after their divorce, Diana and Prince Charles managed to become friends again. By this time, she was travelling regularly to America to attend various charity functions as she was a Patron of many.

Her death and that of Dodi Fayed and Paul Henri, is still a cause of many conspiracy theories to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very,very good., 27 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Real Diana (Kindle Edition)
diana fans will hate this book. however, it clearly explains quoting doctors how ill diana was for many years. yes, she could be lovely and at times a real bitch too. all due to mental illness. whoever she'd married, the outcome would've the same. this book merely explains the hell behind closed doors. dians fans will hate some parts because they loved her so much but the truth can hurt. i believe that lady colin has written a good, well researched book. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just couldn't put it down... and wished it would never end, 5 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading Real Diana I definitely feel that I now have a better insight into what made the ultimately beautiful, unforgettable, tragic Diana tick. Throughout reading it I feel it afforded me the absolute priviledge of stepping into her life and experiencing all the pain and glory from her perspective. While the book is quick to capitalise on Diana's human failings above all else it lets Diana's natural goodness and charisma shine through.
No-one reading this book can deny that Diana loved Charles deeply and anything she did... the tantrums, the affairs etc were her way of trying to gain his attention and win him back. I think it is also obvious from the book that Charles did indeed love Diana too and one is left feeling utterly heartbroken for the wonderful King and Queen we will never have! One is also left feeling that these two people could have had a long and glorious reign together to the utter delight and enchantment of the whole world if only they could have got the help and advise they so badly needed.
My only critism about the book is how the author blantly claims that Diana had an abortion on the heresay of "an Earl's daughter" since the author said that she cannot say that Diana was pregnant at the time of her death because there was no concrete evidence to support this fact then I feel that she should also have excercised this fairness of judgement regarding the abortion claim for which there is also no concrete evidence.
I would definitely recommend this book to any Diana fan...with the warning be prepared to reach the end page loving and missing her more than ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Ditsy Chick (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Diana (Kindle Edition)
I’ve just finished reading the Kindle edition of The Real Diana, and the fact that I actually got from cover to cover indicates to me that this book is not all THAT bad. It’s worth a read. However, there is so much not to like. Tone is one thing. For the first 30% of this book, the author repeats variations of ‘mentally ill’ so often that when she attempts to say anything nice about Diana it comes across as damning with faint praise. I’m glad I kept reading. At just past 50%, she outlines her connections and qualifications for writing, which might have been on the hardback book jacket, but would have made much more sense near the front of a Kindle book. The same coterie is quoted over and over ad nauseam throughout, so surely we now know who the author’s close friends are. No matter how it was actually written, this book reminded me vaguely of my grandmother, seated at a small writing desk, capturing her innermost thoughts for posterity on vellum paper with a fountain pen—it is of another time and place…and class, as the author is so quick to point out. It’s a gossipy book, which I have to say I enjoyed, taking everything I read with a grain of salt. I didn’t know Diana. She was unreal to me in life, and is more so in death, so I have no way of knowing whether anything written here is real or true, and much of this story we will never know. This is one woman’s opinion, the author’s, and she has strong views (both pro and con) about certain people which she does not hesitate to share. She does attempt to be fair to her subject in her own unique way. However, without knowing anything about anything, I can say there are some moments in this book where the author goes seriously wrong. One notable example is her description of what happened in the tunnel, which is a convoluted mess of writing that doesn’t paint a clear word picture of any event, discusses driving on the right in great detail yet may involve a proofreading error (made absolutely no sense to me), diverges into flashing lights and photos from the speed camera she already stated wasn’t working, and digresses into how this mystery must be solved to keep us all safe on the roads? This book is filled with, as comedian Arsenio Hall was fond of saying, ‘Things that make you go hmmm'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a balanced look at the life of a complex woman, 15 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Real Diana (Hardcover)
It is very refreshing to read something about Diana that does not describe her as saintly or infallible. She was human, and Lady Campbell is not afraid to describe her as such. I found this to be a fascinating, insightful look into the life of one of the most interesting people of our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infinitely superior to Morton's original 'True Story', 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Diana (Kindle Edition)
Not sure whether Lady C has it in for Diana or not, but this is compulsive reading for anyone suckered in by Diana's holier than though façade we all fell prey to. Read this, then watch Panorama and you'll see what a deceptive little minx she really was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'The Real Diana" is the best book on Diana ever published., 10 Jun 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Real Diana (Hardcover)
Among the countless books published about Diana (and I've read most of them!) this one is truly outstanding. With her insight into the British class system, and her well-placed sources, Lady Colin Campbell has written the most authoritative biography ever published. All the pieces of Diana's multi-faceted personality are explored, revealing why she behaved the way she did over the years. The picture is now crystal clear. I had expected a gossipy, unsubstantiated book, but instead, this is a scholarly work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not really one star!, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Diana (Kindle Edition)
What a mealy mouthed bitter old lady this Colin Campbell is.
'I owe Diane so much'...and then to go on and slate her in the most vicious terms...she accused Di of being status conscious!! A bit like the pot calling the kettle black!
Di was no saint, this I think we all knew but evidence of her kindness, compassion and humanity there is in abundance.
Mrs Colin Campbell, for I cannot call her a lady, I cannot and will not read another word of this badly written, nasty book...it's going straight back to amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Let's hope someone as nasty as ms. Campbell obviously ..., 27 July 2014
This review is from: The Real Diana (Kindle Edition)
Let's hope someone as nasty as ms. Campbell obviously is, writes something as unpleasant about her when she is not around to respond and defend herself. Anything anyone writes about Princess Diana can only be heresay and only out there to shock people who will believe anything. Get a life Ms Campbell and stop trying to sensationalize yourself by using someone the whole world mourned. Don't suppose many will miss you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Real Diana
The Real Diana by Lady Colin Campbell
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews