Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Written By A Very Brave Person
This is a sad story of a young girl's abuse from a young age by a much older man. This was compounded by her family's total lack of support, and the fact that although she was the victim they laid the blame on her. She had nowhere to turn, but she was a brave and ultimately strong person and managed to get away and build a better life. I wish the very brave author well,...
Published 9 months ago by Lisa @ One Club

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
It was okay, went a bit stale at times but generally you do thing 'poor girl' sad family situation
Published 21 days ago by GP


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Written By A Very Brave Person, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Old Man (A True Story) (Kindle Edition)
This is a sad story of a young girl's abuse from a young age by a much older man. This was compounded by her family's total lack of support, and the fact that although she was the victim they laid the blame on her. She had nowhere to turn, but she was a brave and ultimately strong person and managed to get away and build a better life. I wish the very brave author well, and I hope her abuser is one day brought to justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Old Man (A True Story) by Moll French, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Old Man (A True Story) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book. It is a harrowing story of lost childhood and stolen youth. The way it has been written you can visualize the squalid grimy conditions she had to endure and feel her fear, guilt and shame. I hope life continues to be positive for her now. Definitely a must read, but you will need a box of tissues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and thought provoking, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Old Man (A True Story) (Kindle Edition)
A great read, I have not put it down since purchasing it. All the way through I was hoping for a happy ending and it makes you think, life is what you make it and it can be at times a cruel cruel world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading!, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Old Man (A True Story) (Kindle Edition)
I don't normally read this kind of book but downloaded it on recommendation and also because it was free. I can't say I 'enjoyed' it because no one can enjoy reading of the pain another human has suffered in the way Moll did, but it was a good book to read and mainly because Moll didn't inflict on the reader in minute deatil the abuse she suffered - most of it was left to the imagination with just a gentle hint of what she went through. I'm glad she managed to get her life together and can share the love with her children that she missed out on with her own parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good story, 11 Nov 2013
By 
AnneS (Elgin, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Old Man (A True Story) (Kindle Edition)
The poor girl in the story, i kept hoping things would improve for her - she really had a horrible upbringing compared to her siblings! then to be lumbered with a boyfriend like him, was just awful...................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read!, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Old Man (A True Story) (Kindle Edition)
I don't usually read these types of books but I thought I'd give it a go, glad I did! Reading about mols heartbreaking start in life and the fact she had the strength to over come it all was truely inspirational, although this book isn't written that well it's such a sincere read that it keeps you hooked to the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well written!, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Old Man (A True Story) (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put this book down, well written, an awful insight into what goes on behind closed doors and the type of filthy predators that are about grooming and letching off children. Well done for your strength to come through all this horror as you have moll! I hope this book can help others to see the light and find strength to break free. Best wishes to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 10 Jan 2014
This review is from: Dirty Old Man (A True Story) (Kindle Edition)
This was a fantastic book!the best ive read in years(and i read a lot)It is written beautifully and made me happy and sad throughout.Moll is an amazing woman to have survived all she did.x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So so sad, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Old Man (A True Story) (Kindle Edition)
these type of men are disgusting.why didn't somebody intervene.I'm so glad you got away moll hope life is good to you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dirty Old Man (A True Story) (Kindle Edition)
Gave it five stars for moll herself, what a heartache for two and a half years but now is finally content in later life except from the news of her friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dirty Old Man (A True Story)
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews