Customer Reviews


300 Reviews
5 star:
 (201)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable story
An enjoyable story about a couple on their first cruise. Stuck on a table with the most irritating of companions and a husband who is rapidly succumbing to sea sickness, Angie, who loves her husband dearly but feels she ended up with second best, is horrified to be miss the boat quite literally on an island stop, and get stranded with the one person she had hoped never to...
Published 11 months ago by Highlander

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Harpy Ahoy!
This story revolved around two former best friends thrown together after accidentally missing the boat back to their cruise ship. There are several mishaps along the way and also a confrontation about what had destroyed their friendship.

I thought the story was well written, although I thoroughly disliked the main character who seemed to be stuck in...
Published 2 months ago by BirdieTracy


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable story, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come the Boys (short story) (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable story about a couple on their first cruise. Stuck on a table with the most irritating of companions and a husband who is rapidly succumbing to sea sickness, Angie, who loves her husband dearly but feels she ended up with second best, is horrified to be miss the boat quite literally on an island stop, and get stranded with the one person she had hoped never to clap eyes on again. Plenty of humour, and a bit of a moral here. Good holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading, 24 May 2014
By 
Angie T.D. (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come the Boys (short story) (Kindle Edition)
I read this inbetween my usual chillers and thrillers and it was refreshingly good.Very different to my usual reads but very enjoyable, I really can see this as a one off tv drama I think it would be fab with the right casting, and it was a very entertaining relaxing read, I really enjoyed it,I don't do spoilers but I would recommend this if you want to get lost in an adventure with great character descriptions and a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 24 May 2014
By 
Kathryn (Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come the Boys (short story) (Kindle Edition)
Love Millys books and her style of writing, this book is a little gem, won't give any spoilers but would recommend for an afternoons read.
Also loved the first chapters on the new book too, looking forward to reading that as well x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come the Boys (short story) (Kindle Edition)
What can I say, amazing, often wonder if this happens, would love the storyline to be longer, will read more of Milly Johnsons books..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come the Boys (short story) (Kindle Edition)
Another page turner from Milly, ended to soon though unless it's been left open for another book!!!!! June can't come quick enough for her next book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Past and Present Collide!, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come the Boys (short story) (Kindle Edition)
Angie Silverton and her husband of 10 years Gil, embark on a cruise around the Mediterranean to celebrate Gil's fortieth birthday. Unfortunately Gil does suffer queasiness on the ship and generally feels unwell. When the ship sails into Malaga, Gil persuades Angie to go and explore Malaga on her own. Mistakenly due to a misunderstanding on timings, Angie misses the boat and she watches it sail away without her. She if forced to stay on in Malaga until she can catch up with the ship and she finds one other passenger is in similar circumstances to her. Who else but her bestfriend of 20 years ago who stole the love of her life , Zander Goldman away from her leaving her completely devastated and broken hearted, actions which still leave her suffering to the present day. For twenty years she has loved and carried a torch for Zander and so meeting someone who betrayed her is the last thing she expects and wants. However she finds all is not well with her friend and she quickly discovers she may have had a lucky escape all those years ago as the man she loved was seemingly not the kind of man worth loving.

This is the first time i have read Milly Johnson and I have to say I really enjoyed this novella. Cruises are not my thing for the simple reason I would probably suffer like Gil and also probably want to sleep all the time due to the motion of the ship. :) Many of the things touched upon this book I could actually relate to very well. I was glad that Angie has her best friend back in the end who has had awful luck with love and marriage and at the same time I was glad that Angie was no longer looking at her first love through rose tinted glasses. Twenty years of loving a myth and it all crumbles/shatters in one talk with her best friend. Finally she sees what a wonderful man Gil is!

Excellent Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A relaxing way to pass an afternoon on holiday, 6 Nov. 2014
By 
Ian (Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come the Boys (short story) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this. It was easy to read, easy to follow, and easy to understand. An ideal book to take on holiday and read in an afternoon when everybody else was sleeping a siesta.

For anybody who has ever missed a plane, train, or a boat, or fallen out with good friends and then not made up with them, and cannot really understand why you never did, this is worth reading. This is also a story about at last having some time to yourself after having done everything that was expected of you for years and years, rewarding yourself and and being able to enjoy it.

It is a fun tale of a woman who goes on a cruise in the Med and looks back on her life asking the all too common question of "how different things could have been if only......?". The ending was pretty obvious (from early on in the book) but there were parts in it that I could relate to, the stess of travel, meeting new people, basic and simple misunderstandings, being in the unknown and having to depend on others to achieve something.

I did enjoy this book. A lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good boys/bad boys, 27 July 2014
By 
Owl "Ollie" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come the Boys (short story) (Kindle Edition)
This was a nice short story with characters you could take too. It was easy to follow and would make a weekend read or a train trip more interesting. I would have liked it to have a follow up to see what happened next to these people. I felt you just got to know them then the story was finished but with loose ends. A follow up would be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This boy loved it, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come the Boys (short story) (Kindle Edition)
I really liked this novella, a short and witty travelogue that doesn't have to involve cloying emotion or heavy conflict to make it enjoyable. I think you have to understand northern English sense of humour to really get the comic stance but if not it still works as a humorous and enjoyable read.

The minor characters may have been stereotypes, but that's why they work and let's be honest these people really do exist around us, if you look hard enough, you will find them.

There was some lovely phrases like 'Angie gulped down a throatful of emotion' that worked really well as did the convincing dialogue.

I know these books are aimed at the female market but as a bloke I'm sure I'll dip my metaphorical toe in another of Milly Johnson's books in the future. Who knows if more men read this we really can say, 'here come the boys'.oy loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice story, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Here Come the Boys (short story) (Kindle Edition)
Nice poolside read that is not too taxing, I liked it. I enjoy Milly Johnsons style of writing,its light and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Here Come the Boys (short story)
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews