Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brutal
I hadn't heard much lamb of god before this, only a few tracks, but i did have a good idea of what to expect. The guitars are heavy, the vocals are low and brutal and drums are technical and sit well with the guitars and bass. There are moments of speed that will have you headbanging around your room, and there are moments of slow plodding heaviness. The only trouble...
Published on 27 Aug 2004 by A. Chapman

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD is Region 1
Disappointed that nowhere in the product description says the DVD is Region 1. If I knew the DVD part was R1 I wouldn't have bought it!!
Published 7 months ago by Mountainking


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brutal, 27 Aug 2004
By 
A. Chapman "gutteral69" (St. ives, Cambs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: As The Palaces Burn (Audio CD)
I hadn't heard much lamb of god before this, only a few tracks, but i did have a good idea of what to expect. The guitars are heavy, the vocals are low and brutal and drums are technical and sit well with the guitars and bass. There are moments of speed that will have you headbanging around your room, and there are moments of slow plodding heaviness. The only trouble with this album is there are no really distintive songs on it, as an album it's brilliant, but as far as individual songs go there arn't any classic tracks on there.
I would recommend this album to anyone who likes brutal metal and is looking for somthing a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal Metal(core?), 15 Jun 2005
This review is from: As the Palaces Burn (Audio CD)
I've got to say first and foremost that, at this moment, Lamb of God are one of my personal favourites. I just love their brutal brand of near-metalcore that combines an extremely aggressive and unique sound with a quite-out-of-place catchiness. You just have to listen to the first four tracks of ATPB to see what they bring to the table - it's fast, it's furious, and it's f***ing awesome.
I'm so enthused after seeing this band at Download 2005. I already loved their stuff (ATPB is far superior to the more polished Ashes of the Wake, in my opinion) and kinda expected that they wouldn't be able to live up to my high expectations. How wrong I was. They're absolutely awesome, both live and on record. The singer is an absolute monster and the music is just plain brutal (yet accessible).
I can't recommend this album highly enough, but I should point out that it probably won't be for everyone. But if you like, say, bands akin to "alive or just breathing" Killswitch and even The Haunted, then you might like LoG. Otherwise, maybe not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Mar 2010
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: As The Palaces Burn (Audio CD)
As The Palaces Burn is Lamb of God's second full length studio album. The album is hugely important to the Lamb of God story, spawning crowd favorites `Ruin,' `Vigil,' and the title track. From start to finish there are no weak tracks and every Lamb of God member puts in a top notch performance.
This is the album were the Lamb of God sound is properly established, where the lyrical style is properly established and where Randy's Vocals sound right for the first time on this release, with his trademark half Death Growl half metalcore bark making up the majority of the vocal contributions to this album. With Devon Townsend in the Engineer's and Producer's chairs The Lamb of God sound was finally captured on an album. The production is a huge step up from their debut but is still a little raw and noisy by modern standards.
The album contains a lot of excellent songs with `11th Hour,' `Purified,' and `In Defense of Our Good Name,' standing out in particular. Guest guitar contributions from Chris Poland on `Purified,' are welcome and don't feel out of place whatsoever.
The only downside with the album is that the material is very difficult to become familiar with, and while you will enjoy and be impressed by the technical and heavy music its not the kind of thing you'll have stuck in your head after your first listen.
If you like Lamb of God then you simply have to get As The Palaces Burn, it's a Grower but be persistent, its worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars F**k Yeah! ! !, 27 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: As The Palaces Burn (Audio CD)
This is my favourite Lamb of God album not a weak song every song is moshable vocals are bearable, the guitar riffs and the drums are crazy with awesomeness. I love In Defense Of Our Good Name, every song is killer. Deffinetely worth checking out if your into bands like Devildriver, Slayer etc although there is a lack of solos but the awesome riffs and drums make up for that. Doesn't matter what genre it is as that debate is for kids if you angry heavy moshable music then this is a great recommendation. Lamb Of God Rock As The Palace Burns! ! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality, re-defining a classic work., 14 Dec 2013
This review is from: As The Palaces Burn (10th Anniversary) (Audio CD)
When it was first announced that LoG would be remastering As Palaces... I was slightly sceptical, one of my favourite albums but I liked the dark smudginess of the recording. It added a heavier, sinister tone to the record. Once I heard the remastered version of Vigil, my interest quickly peaked. My favourite track off the record and it sounded so much clearer.

Yes, some of the old scratchiness is gone, which is what gave the original it's rough, underground style but now you can really distinguish the different instruments and notes. The opening riff for Devil In God's Country just sounds so much crisper now for example, showing off the guitar work and drumming of the band. Randy's vocals seem clearer and Chris Adler is a big winner from this now you can really distinguish his drumming from the bass/distortion.

You get what you expect from this, a classic album remastered to 2013 quality, a recommended purchase for any casual Lamb of God fans and a definite for any hardcore fans or if you do not own the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lamb Of God As The Palaces Burn, 15 Nov 2007
This review is from: As The Palaces Burn (Audio CD)
Lamb of God 's New American Gospel debut featured a caustic yet lucid version of post-Pantera death metal, surprisingly effective songwriting, massive amounts of confidence for a brand new band, and, to be honest, a really annoying drum sound (rather like tightly skinned tin cans). Even though the latter point is certainly subject to opinion, at least the other two positive attributes can be partly explained by the group having already cut an earlier album while still going by the rather unsavory name of Burn the Priest. Which about catches everyone up to discuss the band's second effort as Lamb of God, 2003's equally impressive As the Palaces Burn. First off, gone is that out-of-whack percussive curiosity (thanks, boys!), but the band's knack for conjuring tasty riffs out of death metal's tired and weathered carcass remains intact, and it's pleasantly refreshing to discover something memorable and compelling about virtually every song. Among these, the excellent tandem of "Ruin" and the title track offer a powerful opening salvo, and additional highlights such as "11th Hour," "Boot Scraper," and the absolutely monstrous "Vigil" continually insert dark, distinctive melody lines within the heaviest of riffs. Further progress can be heard in vocalist Randy Blythe's performance, as he continues to shed his latent Anselmo-isms to strike a far more individual presence behind the mike. And still, for all of these positives, one can't help but feel in the end that there's still a wealth of untapped talent just beneath the surface here. If Lamb of God can maintain their momentum and actually figure it out, they may well find themselves at the top of America's heavy metal stack one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 27 Dec 2006
This review is from: As the Palaces Burn (Audio CD)
An excellent album, i'm never bored of it. Lamb Of God are my favourite band and have been for quite a while. I deprived myself of buying all the albums they've made so far right off the bat because i was worried i'd get bored (like a i did with buying 9 albums from the band that's pretty much dead to me now -i cringe at the name- cradle of filth).

I was excited when this came because it was coming over from America and every night when i got home i would throw a fit when it wasn't there. I still haven't got Ashes Of The Wake, the first real album i got from LOG was Sacrament after buying Killadelphia (these guys sound excellent live) because i knew that Sacracment wasn't going to sound like the Lamb Of God i discovered after hearing one song in a nightclub. I heard previews of Sacrament and was suprised to find the differene between that and their old stuff. So when i seen Sacrament i still bought it and it's still good but this album, aswell as Ashes, is head, shoulders, knees and even toes above it.

It's when i listened to each song individually on my computer (i love doing that) that i really got into it. Favourites include Ruin, a metal masterpiece in its own right, the amazing title track, For Your Malice and Vigil. Actually all of them are my favourites when i think about it because they're all great!

Definitly worth buying for any fan of this amazing band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AS THE PALACES BURN= CRAZY, 8 Oct 2007
This review is from: As The Palaces Burn (Audio CD)
ATPB is just such an amazing album, not LOG's best but a great album none the less. It gets better after a few listens, and you'll love it so much that it might not even leave your cd player. This is one of LOG's heavier albums as their are more solid riffs. I find with this album the gain on the amps is deeper than the other albums, there are also more chords than quick note playing which you will find alot in their other albums. This album is solid and amazing but it cant touch albums like sacrament and ashes of the wake but its certainly an album you need in your collection to actual be a metal fan. Songs like Ruin, as the palaces burn and 11th hour are heavy and pulvarise you but great songs like For your malice and Vigil are different but they will be your favourite because of that. Dont be a fool buy ATPB it's a great album that deserves nothing less
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of 2003's most essential metal albums..., 18 Oct 2003
This review is from: As the Palaces Burn (Audio CD)
I must admit before the release of this album I didn't have a clue Lamb of God existed and I'm kicking myself for it because they f***in SLAY!!!
ATPB takes the best bits of thrash metal, hardcore & metal and mixes them up in one big slab of pure american metal! They're like a rougher, more daring Pantera.
Standouts are 'Ruin', 'Vigil', 'A Devil In God's Country' and the amazing title track 'As The Palaces Burn'.
If you don't have this album get it NOW!... and if you get the chance to see them live - DO! They're fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable!!!, 21 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: As the Palaces Burn (Audio CD)
I saw Lamb of God supporting Slayer last year in London. To say that they blew Slayer away would be an understatement! They had a dynamic and tightness rarely seen in "Metal" bands these days and i could only live in hope that it would transfer well to CD.
As the Palaces Burn is awesome! Everything that made LoG brilliant live is there on one little CD.
Get it or miss out on the best thing to happen to metal in years!
5 stars isn't really enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

As The Palaces Burn (10th Anniversary)
As The Palaces Burn (10th Anniversary) by Lamb of God (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews