Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polanski and Stewart, what an unlikely couple ;)
I found out about the movie early this spring from CAR magazine and ever since kept sniffing it out. finally the release date came up and I decided to buy the dvd. I really did not know what to expect apart from the obvious talent of my fellow countryman Roman. the result is simply stunning. I do not regret a single minute I have spent watching it. recommend to everyone,...
Published 16 months ago by Marcin

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars why change History?
Whilst there has been a good job done in restoring picture and sound this release is very misleading and disapointing
Although the DVD mentions that it contains new material it does not state that the integrity of the original film has been altered!
The film has been cut by around 13 minutes and a newly shot sequence inserted towards the end as well as the...
Published 12 months ago by J. Di Petrillo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fascinating and revealing insight into Jackie Stewart the racing driver and the world of Grand Prix racing of the early 70s. It was much more dangerous then - for example the pits at Monaco were on the pavement at the side of the road with no barriers between the cars in the pits and the cars racing along the road. Jackie Stewart was an early champion of the campaign for greater safety in motor racing for reasons he so clearly and poignantly explains. He was an extremely accomplished driver (World Champion 3 times) and also, later in life, a shrewd business man.

Definitely a DVD for fans of Formula 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of the best racing films, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
This was the first time I have seen the movie again since it was originally released, and I was not disappointed. The film offers an amazing insight into the time when Grand Prix racing was at its peak; a time when drivers were gladiators, yet friends. Given the personalities involved in racing today, it would be unthinkable (probably impossible) to make something like this again ... Jackie Stewart was one of the greatest drivers of all time; possibly only surpassed in supreme skill by the great Jim Clark and the legendary Fangio - his smooth and meticulous driving style serves as an antithesis to the no-holds-barred Ayrton Senna. Jackie has been a life-long hero for me and continues to be an excellent role-model. All of this is clearly depicted in the film, beautifully unsophisticated and human. Highly recommended for any F1 racing fan of the 60's and 70's era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A slip and a slap (on the back) for Stewart, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this movie in a cinema in 1972, and now own DVDs of this latest release and the previous uncut version. So at least I can watch the deleted scenes when I choose to.
I enjoyed JYS's chat with Roman Polanski - it's probably as long and comprehensive as it needs to be, given that Polanski is not a motor racing identity as such.
But Sir Jackie's memory made a slight off-track excursion when he stated that François Cevert won at Watkins Glen in 1972. Cevert's only GP win was indeed at Watkins Glen, but in 1971.
However, kudos go to JYS for the Quote of the DVD: "Racing drivers were amateur gynaecologists!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 7 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary was absolutely worth watching (twice actually). It was well done and we'll thought out. I grew up in that era watched a lot of Formula one through Wide World of Sports. Monte Carlo was and is still the jewel! The commentary by Jackie Stewart was so interesting and conversation with the other drivers of that time was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FOOTAGE, BUT NOT A "MUST HAVE" FOR EVERY VINTAGE-F1 FAN., 2 May 2014
By 
Tomas Gustavsson "lyrics09" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
You've seen it and heard it before; the all-time most important saftey promotor of motorsport gives us the weekend of Monaco `71.
The Stewart couple was also taking care of the widow Nina Rindt, who lost her Lotus-driving husband Jochen the previous fall at the Monza curcuit. (You can clearly see that she's on heavy chemical treatment in the few shots she's appearing in.)
All in all a good disc, but average. The Polanski involvement is moderate, in my eyes. (But hey, it's the 70's. Every musician or actor/film-maker was highly graded formula 1 fans....)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Time Capsule Dvd giving a very authentic view of F1 in the 70's,dangerous and different times., 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
Watch this film and be transported back to F1 in very different and dangerous era, you see Sir Jackie Stewart these days wandering round the F1 paddocks being a the great ex-champion that he is,but this film shows him as the best complete driver of his day, very aware of his own mortality and those around him.........Polanski captures the "taste and atmosphere" of that era very well indeed and Jackie Stewart shows himself to be not only a quick driver but a thinking and sensitive driver...great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC BIT OF F1 HISTORY, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
A TREMENDOUS BIT OF FILM. ALWAYS BEEN A JACKIE STEWART FAN. IT SHOWS HOW MUCH F1 HAS CHANGED SINCE 1971. I ALSO ENJOYED THE NEW RECENT INTERVIEW BETWEEN STEWART AND POLANSKI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent, 26 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
A real treasure,not dramatic as a movie but totally enjoyable as a documentary, full of footage never seen before and useful information on driving style on 60s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great reflection of anotrher era, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
As a keen fan of F1, I enjoy most aspects of the sport. This documentary though was a great insight to someone who did not see this era live, as it was before my time. The candid behind scenes shots were also intriquing and show a side of what is largely anonomous these days.

Worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Weekend of a champion (DVD), 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVD, Jackie Stewart at his best and in his element talking about his passion and knowledge of motor sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Weekend Of A Champion [DVD]
Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] by Frank Simon (DVD - 2013)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews