Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glory days
The contrast to the sterile world of F1 nowadays is so stark as to seem like a different sport and not just a different time when you watch this film.
It is as frightening as it is exhilarating to see the pits open and spectators feet away from the track, it's easy to forget this was a lethal sport during this period and it's principally Sir Jackie Stewart who's to...
Published 9 months ago by Paul Etherington

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars why change History?
Whilst there has been a good job done in restoring picture and sound this release is very misleading and disapointing
Although the DVD mentions that it contains new material it does not state that the integrity of the original film has been altered!
The film has been cut by around 13 minutes and a newly shot sequence inserted towards the end as well as the...
Published 4 months ago by J. Di Petrillo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glory days, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
The contrast to the sterile world of F1 nowadays is so stark as to seem like a different sport and not just a different time when you watch this film.
It is as frightening as it is exhilarating to see the pits open and spectators feet away from the track, it's easy to forget this was a lethal sport during this period and it's principally Sir Jackie Stewart who's to thank for rectifying that.
The degree of access available to the general public is incredible, let alone that granted to the filmmaker.
The insight into the world of an F1 driver is wonderful, particularly at the time of the film a 2 time world champion.
The dedication, preparation and professionalism leaves you in no doubt as to the reason for the success of Jackie Stewart, the openness and camaraderie displayed by the other teams and drivers is yet another (sad) reminder that F1 nowadays is principally a technical exercise for the benefit of advertising with some trickle-down development to road cars.
My only gripe is that the film isn't longer, at 90 minutes it's not short but i could watch for hours cars of this period being driven in anger on a circuit that's really not fit for a fun run let alone a motor race.
Enjoyable, entertaining, frightening and enlightening, a pleasure to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polanski and Stewart, what an unlikely couple ;), 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
I found out about the movie early this spring from CAR magazine and ever since kept sniffing it out. finally the release date came up and I decided to buy the dvd. I really did not know what to expect apart from the obvious talent of my fellow countryman Roman. the result is simply stunning. I do not regret a single minute I have spent watching it. recommend to everyone, you do not have to be an F1 fan. not at all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saw the movie in the theatre, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
I loved it so much that I bought the DVD for my son. Great movie! Especially the scene where Jackie Stewart describes how to drive the circuit over breakfast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable!, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
Any genuine F1 fan - certainly, one who is not a jingoist nationalist like so many of them in the post-Schumacher era - should buy this DVD. Much like the Senna film, it's a fundamental success because of its frank, cool authenticity. And a bleak reminder of just what it took to get into one of these racing cars and put it on the limit - and the cost of failing to keep it on the track!
In fact, anyone interested in motor-racing history or motor-racing in general cannot fail to find this a fascinating insight, completely undimmed by time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fascinating and revealing insight into Jackie Stewart the racing driver and the world of Grand Prix racing of the early 70s. It was much more dangerous then - for example the pits at Monaco were on the pavement at the side of the road with no barriers between the cars in the pits and the cars racing along the road. Jackie Stewart was an early champion of the campaign for greater safety in motor racing for reasons he so clearly and poignantly explains. He was an extremely accomplished driver (World Champion 3 times) and also, later in life, a shrewd business man.

Definitely a DVD for fans of Formula 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars why change History?, 11 April 2014
By 
J. Di Petrillo (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst there has been a good job done in restoring picture and sound this release is very misleading and disapointing
Although the DVD mentions that it contains new material it does not state that the integrity of the original film has been altered!
The film has been cut by around 13 minutes and a newly shot sequence inserted towards the end as well as the original end changed which had a freeze frame of Jackie Stewart.
The newly shot material is off interest but why has it not been offered as aditional material. No excuse in these days of DVD and bluray. Other motoring films of similar vintage have been released and have not been messed about with, so why do this to this classic film!
There is a real danger here of interfearing with History! The film was made that way for all its merits and faults so why alter it.
I had been waiting for this film for a long time previously owning a rather rough 16mm print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BUT WHY THE CUTS ?, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
A tremendous film, with especially high quality picture and sound, I also like the occasional subtitles and the naming of drivers like Siffert and Rodriguez.
Two things however stop this being, for me, a '5 Star' DVD.
First, there are some cuts from the original. I wonder why, and who authorised them ? For example, the original contains more from the 'prize giving' scene, and two scenes in which Jackie's sex life in the days before a Grand Prix is discussed !!
Second, I was hoping for a more interesting contribution from Jackie and Polanski as they looked back at the times and the film, for example a full commentary would have been wonderful. Also, were there really no deleted scenes, especially featuring drivers like Graham Hill (always hilarious and interesting) and Francois Cevert talking ?
That said, this is still a great DVD, a must for GP history fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating look at Formula 1 in 1971, 28 Jan 2014
By 
James Pernikoff (Marietta, Georgia USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
I had never known that such a well-known figure as Roman Polanski had ever done a documentary film about Formula 1, and his coverage of Jackie Stewart's 1971 Monaco GP is great stuff. Monaco was still in its classic configuration back then (with the original tunnel and no swimming pool) and the cars were relatively unsophisticated compared to what came later. The entire weekend is covered in quite a bit of detail. And what makes the presentation better is a current-day reunion of Polanski and Stewart in the same suite in the Hotel de Paris, many years after the original production, in which the pair reminisce about how much F1 has changed since 1971. This film is a must for all serious fans of F1, especially those who, like me, were around in 1971.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still one of the best racing films, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
This was the first time I have seen the movie again since it was originally released, and I was not disappointed. The film offers an amazing insight into the time when Grand Prix racing was at its peak; a time when drivers were gladiators, yet friends. Given the personalities involved in racing today, it would be unthinkable (probably impossible) to make something like this again ... Jackie Stewart was one of the greatest drivers of all time; possibly only surpassed in supreme skill by the great Jim Clark and the legendary Fangio - his smooth and meticulous driving style serves as an antithesis to the no-holds-barred Ayrton Senna. Jackie has been a life-long hero for me and continues to be an excellent role-model. All of this is clearly depicted in the film, beautifully unsophisticated and human. Highly recommended for any F1 racing fan of the 60's and 70's era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant insight into the career of a great racing driver, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] (DVD)
Love this DVD. A real insight into a 1970's F1 weekend. F1 as much as I love it is rather clinical now but this shows the 70's in all it's glory. A great watch for any f1 fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Weekend Of A Champion [DVD]
Weekend Of A Champion [DVD] by Frank Simon (DVD - 2013)
6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews