Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A re-watched classic!!!
My brother, and I, first saw Big trouble..., when we were about 8 years old. We were just about to go on holiday and my father rented this video, immediate addoration!!! I mean it sounds silly now that I'm older, but my brother and I still have a copy each, it's true! Of course the subject matter is a must for all John Carpenter fans, (i.e. horror, sorcery, Kurt...
Published on 7 May 2002 by T Waits

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a UK version! German packaging beware!
Be aware that despite the front cover this is actually a German import with a German sleeve. The back of the cover which isn't shown on the product page is fully German!! The disc does default to UK English but there was no clear mention this was not a UK version. Misleading to say the least. The product description at the top should clearly state it's a German import...
Published 13 months ago by James


‹ Previous | 17 8 913 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Classic film, 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolute classic! I have been looking out for this film on Blu-ray for a while now as my DVD copy is scratched and worn. Great film and very fast delivery. Very pleased indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its all in the reflexes., 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a cult classic made by the great john carpentar "yes i said great" with good reason,this film follows the adventures of jack burton a lorry driver and gambler who wins a bet with his friend but his friend has to go get the money but first needs to pick up his fiancee from the airport and then thats when things go bad,its full of magic,monsters,ghosts,martial arts and some of the funniest dialogue and set pieces there is just one thing wrong with this film................they should of made a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Trouble In Little China [1986] [DVD] Kurt Russell, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This arrived in good time and packaged well. I saw this when i was younger and wanted to see it again. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Crazy, Bizarre, Magical, Over the Top, Comedy ride of a movie, 3 Jun. 2012
Bizarre does not even come close when trying to describe the greatness and failings of Big Trouble in Little China.

Kurt Russell as the hapless would be hero all American trucker really shines here.
I am struggling as to where to start for my review. It's just a full on blast of a movie that does not take itself at all seriously. It's as if director John Carpenter is telling his audience you're either in or out, because boy will this movie divide people's opinions.

It certaintly did when it was released as it quickly bombed at the box office. However it has gone on to acclaim cult status. And you can see why, the fighting scenes are simply magnificent and the black humour which runs throughout the movie is wonderful. Kim Cattral looks hot with a capital H and what really else is there to say? It's all played for fun, fun and more fun.

One thing I will say is that it's the only movie which felt like a 30 minute cartoon but was actually triple that time. So that's a huge plus in it's favour.

The more times you watch BTILC the better it gets, it is quite simply an amazing film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This will make you smile, 23 Feb. 2012
Always a good film to watch when you need a good chuckle. The storyline and rather poor acting make it quite funny. Really enjoy this film each time I watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, LOVE it., 5 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Take it for what it is, and you'll really enjoy this film. One of John Carpenter's finest. I first fell in love with this movie when I was a kid, only to rediscover it again as an adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest movies of all time, 24 April 2011
By 
G "G" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
An epic, classic movie that has it all. Totally preposterous but simultaneously awesome. Just don't be uptight and it's brilliant! Enjoy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly brilliant blend of genres, 27 Feb. 2011
By 
A. J. Bennett "electro freak" (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Big Trouble in Little China has to be one of my most loved movies, never has there been or never will there be a film like it, the blend of action, fantasy, comedy, romance, martial arts makes this film truly unique. Kurt Russel is simply brillant as the quick thinking (''it's all in the reflexes'') American Truck driver who stumbles into a world of Chinese Methology. This film did poorly upon initial release however has built an incredible cult following, ignore critic reviews failing to understand the point of the film. This is simply a fun movie that truly stands as one of John Carpenter's best films. Don't even get me started on the soundtrack, we could be here all night. If you can track it down, just buy it, one of the best Synth soundtracks ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Trouble to Order!, 18 Jan. 2011
By 
M. Hevingham "Mark Hevingham" (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I will start by saying I love this movie. If you don't then there is not much point reading on.

Having ben a fan of Carpenter since the 70s when I saw Dark Star, I enjoyed all his movies up to the early/mid 90s (OK Ghost of Mars is trash) but there are a few that hold a special place if affection in his works and this is one of them.

The disc is presented in what looks like a new transfer and is the best I have ever seen it. (The Thing is also a must for smashing picture quality) The extras are somewhat light and mostly carried over from the DVD (and in fact laser disc for the commentary) but they are welcome andit the film we are interested in. Colours look natural and there is no visible edge enhancement. The 1080p transfer does little to show the age of the film which is very watchable without any visual pop but who would expect that in a 25 year old film?

Best news is that although Fox USA used to regioncode BDs this one is All Regions /Region free! With no UK release date tha I can see this is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Trouble!, 13 Nov. 2010
By 
Why leave a review? It's Big Trouble in Little China....."sorry, just thrilled to be alive!".

It's a 1986 film...it looks a bit dated because it is. It's a cracking film that you're probably buying for nostalgic reasons not to show the kids.

Where's the play button gone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 913 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Trouble In Little China Steelbook [Blu-ray]
Big Trouble In Little China Steelbook [Blu-ray] by John Carpenter (Blu-ray - 2013)
Used & New from: £39.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews