Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars224
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2015
One of my all time favourite films. I didn't know how fat to buy this. The film deserves its cult following rightly, camp, cheesy 80's fun. Ninjas, martial arts, wizards, monsters and sword fights, this film has it all. Well worth the buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Still an out and out Carpenter classic. The treatment of the picture and audio on this new Blu Ray release from Arrow is also very crisp and clean, without overuse of edge enhancements to ruin things. Overall package highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
timeless classic from the 80s which came with a cool looking slipcover and a mini blu-ray case I loved the artwork for this Blu-ray and it was region free that's why I bought this version. I wasn't keen on the UK versions cover by Arrow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
An underrated Carpenter gem with Kurt Russell playing a likable oaf who is a truck driver who is in the midst of Chinese fantasy folklore in San Francisco. It is a very surreal and over the top film but somehow original and enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2000
This film is old but it is still great i think that it was exciting interetio9ng and full of action and adventure. I have given this film 5 stars and i think it deserves them for being such a great "old" but good film
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
Wowwwww well done with the remastering and the little longer Version....? A lot of Fun watching this again with Perfect Clear Picture and Carpenter / K.Russell working together....? Great Special Effects love it.....?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 May 2013
This madcap adventure is more fun than a box of monkeys! The movie bounces along at a cracking pace and is never ever boring. The effects maybe a little dated now but the movie has a massive sense of fun about it. Kurt Russel plays a hero on just the right side of dumb who gets reluctantly involved in an investigation into Triad gangs and the rescue of two beautiful women. The martial artists are never less than impressive during the many fight scenes. The whole thing is steeped in pantomime style Eastern mysticism and there are some really funny touches here and there. As an added bonus, you can watch this with the family too, which is quite rare these days.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
LOVE,LOVE, LOVE this film, just so pleased that Amazon has everything including this iconic film, watching it over and over again, I have introduced it to my teenage children and they also think it's a great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2002
This film had a big impact on me when I first saw it when I was 12. The feeling of being pulled down into a magical underworld was very compelling. Nowadays many films have a lot more magic in them, but they don't produce the same feeling of being in a place of magic. It's a similar sensation to the best sequences of Indiana Jones movies, but extended over a longer period.
There's a lot of extras in this two-DVD set, but the standout for me is the commentary track with John Carpenter and Kurt Russell. They have a great time talking about the film, filmmaking in general and range of other topics. Very good fun.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
I love everything about this film and this blu ray is a really decent effort. There are some really nice interviews in the extras but the real boon here is the great picture quality. Just buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.