Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good budget laptop that's a bit of a bargain
This is the newer updated version of the Asus X551MA-SX018H model, it features the same screen, keyboard and unit as the prior model, with the exception that the CPU is now a somewhat faster Intel Celeron N2815 1.86GHz (the older one had a 1.5GHz CPU) It's not a huge step up but the addition of bluetooth 4.0 might just appeal to some..

There is a significant...
Published 2 months ago by Mr Baz

versus
25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My views about ASUS X551CA
Though the performance is as expected, some features are missing which are standard in many laptops - like no caps lock indicator, no number lock indicator ( these are irritating when typing passwords)and only two USB ports. Also since the battery is built in I might have to take the pc to a service centre when the battery life runs out. Though I was happy about the...
Published 2 months ago by Raj


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good budget laptop that's a bit of a bargain, 12 May 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This is the newer updated version of the Asus X551MA-SX018H model, it features the same screen, keyboard and unit as the prior model, with the exception that the CPU is now a somewhat faster Intel Celeron N2815 1.86GHz (the older one had a 1.5GHz CPU) It's not a huge step up but the addition of bluetooth 4.0 might just appeal to some..

There is a significant difference in CPU performance from the Intel Core i3 3217U 1.8GHz and the Celeron N2815 1.86GHz. The i3 being over twice as fast as the Celeron. Bear that in mind depending on your needs and the price point.

The core specification is fairly straightforward with enough memory and hard drive space for most users and more than enough for day to day use

A quick fire list of pros and cons

Pros:
+ Great value one of the lowest prices on a laptop
+ 15.6" 1366x768 screen is quite good and contrasty easy to read and sharp (better than you expect for the price)
+ 4GB ram and 500GB hard drive is more than sufficient for most users needs even if you have quite a lot of media files around
+ One USB port is the faster USB 3.0
+ Built in SD Card Reader, as well as Wired Lan port and HDMI out
+ Webcam with Microphone built in (not the best webcam in low light but it's fine for this price with decent resolution)
+ Keyboard and touchpad are satisfactory, good response on the trackpad and the keys are of the enclosed type (harder for small children to rip them off!)
+ DVD/CD Burner 8x and 24x should satisfy any media playback/burning needs
+ Bluetooth 4.0 (the latest version)

Cons:
- Build is a bit cheap, clearly it has had some cost cutting in terms of quality of plastics (not unexpected) the low price does compensate for this though, it won't fall apart or anything like that, texturing looks ok, I've used worse.
- Could use a few more USB ports (only 2 but that might be enough)
- VGA port is mostly redundant these days (HDMI is used more often) Might be ok if you connect to a pc monitor
- Basic sound quality from the on-board speakers, ok for the intended market (use the headphones much better)
- No easy access to battery (it's inside the case)

Expect around 3.5 hours of battery life which is par for the course on budget laptops, you can extend things a bit by lowering the screen brightness (power management settings are easy to change for this)
Windows is updated to 8.1 which has a number of improvements including boot straight to the desktop (and at least a partial return of the start menu), I won't go in depth on this as it's down to taste. But it's a better experience than the 8.0 version.

Compared to the older version (Asus X551MA-SX018H) this is how the processors stack up performance wise

Celeron N2815 1.86GHz scored 1024 in passmark
Celeron N2815 1.5GHz scored 958 in passmark
Core i3 3217U 1.8GHz scored 2320 in passmark

The newer celeron has a slight improvement, but in day to day use you won't really notice any significant difference on the newer CPU which is a little faster (but not hugely so)

The i3 is quite a fast processor for a budget laptop (relative to the Celeron)

Passmark is a general CPU benchmark that tries to measure real world performance in a variety of tasks (3d/2d graphics, compression, encryption, text, memory and disk speed) it gives a "general" idea of the CPU and how it deals with tasks, higher scores = better performance
Compared to a desktop budget processor (Intel Celeron G1620 2.70GHz) this would score around 2600 in passmark. That means the i3 CPU is almost on a par with a budget desktop CPU, so if you need the extra processing power that's the one to go for.

Wifi locked on well with good coverage no concerns or issues to report

On-board graphics do take some memory (no matter 4GB is generous with plenty to spare) you can play some lighter less demanding games, or older titles, this isn't aimed at game players though. HD playback will work great with even HD videos playing smoothly with no judder or dropped frames (which is what matters most)

For the money, this has a number of advantages over slightly cheaper Chromebooks. Much larger capacity on the hard drive will suit people who have a good collection of media audio and video files; and you are not reliant on an internet connection for day to day tasks (Chromebooks are fine somewhat limited)

For the asking price the Asus is a bit of a bargain really, you get a straight forward, but quite decent laptop at a very good price. It will be just fine for most people's day to day use. Take care with the CPU choice the Celeron is quite good enough for normal use. If you are a more demanding user the i3 option is quite a lot faster and better suited for users doing some video or photo work or other more intensive tasks.

Recommended purchase for those looking to replace an older/broken laptop with a cost effective newer one. A solid buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value and surprisingly high quality, 8 Jun 2014
By 
Jayarfer (Stony Stratford UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus X551CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Black) - (Intel Core i3 3217U 1.8GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
Having read some mixed reviews about quality and finish I am delighted with this purchase. Firstly, I'm an IT professional but wanted a cheap and cheerful full laptop so that I can take abroad to work - a workhorse not a fashion icon. It needed to be powerful enough and have sufficient features that I could still function away from home - I run my own website design business. This machine has exceeded expectations. Firstly quality and appearance. It appears solidly build, with a keyboard that feels responsive and precise. The only downside to be honest is that there is no caps lock light. The mouse pad is a lot better than my other laptop which is an HP and again functions precisely and smoothly. The casing is a textured finish not unlike some Compaq or HP laptops. Yes, it will mark with sweaty hands, but a soft cloth cleans it down nicely.
The screen is quite shiny but lovely and clear. Fine in normal and even bright light.
Performance for an inexpensive (well relatively) laptop is very good, multi-tasking without hesitation or any obvious delays and everything loads very quickly. The startup time is very quick from a cold startup, maybe that is Windows 8. It runs quite fast too. Compared with many PC's and laptops this could be said to be a quick machine. Certainly better than others I have tried in this price bracket recently. Installing software from the built in DVD drive was very quick and startup of apps is fast too.
It's not preloaded with Windows 8.1, but Windows 8. Updating is reasonably straightforward but I wouldn't say would be easy for a complete novice. Overall Windows 8 (or 8.1) is what it is. I don't find it as off putting as many, but wouldn't say it was Microsoft's moment of glory! You can at least now setup to run in a mode that at least resembles older versions for those wishing to stay with the previous look.

I'm going to give this 5 starts as overall it does represent good value, does better than expected and was delivered very quickly into the bargain. I may revisit my allegiance to tier 1 manufacturers if this laptop continues to perform as it has set out to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exclellent VFM, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus X551CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Black) - (Intel Core i3 3217U 1.8GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
For the money, this has to be one of the best low-priced laptops around. It's been in use for two months now, and has performed flawlessly. It's quite lightweight, charges fast, runs fast, shuts down and starts up fast, and generally does everything needed. The i3 processor and memory combo is more than man enough for everyday use, while the 15.6" screen is really crisp and sharp. As far as I'm concerned, it was a brilliant buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good laptop for its money. Don't expect a world beating game-playing machine but a great machine for those day to day tasks and it is not bad for the candy crush, farm heroes game players. The only niggle for me is the keyboard, not quite as positive as I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My views about ASUS X551CA, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus X551CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Black) - (Intel Core i3 3217U 1.8GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
Though the performance is as expected, some features are missing which are standard in many laptops - like no caps lock indicator, no number lock indicator ( these are irritating when typing passwords)and only two USB ports. Also since the battery is built in I might have to take the pc to a service centre when the battery life runs out. Though I was happy about the price the non availability of some of the above features were not mentioned in the product description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laptop, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus X551CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Black) - (Intel Core i3 3217U 1.8GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
Very pleased with my purchase. I am finding it really easy to use which is good as I am a complete novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 which is much better but the laptop is very good & I'm on ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very fast ,only problem is the operating system Windows 8.
I have downloaded Windows 8.1 which is much better but the laptop is very good & I'm on my
desktop in less than a minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A basic laptop for office work only, 7 July 2014
By 
Mr. Richard The book boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Asus laptop X551MA-SX030H

What’s in the box?
------------------------
The laptop and UK mains transformer and warrantee card.

Set up.
----------
This is typically driven by Windows 8. You have to set a few parameters like time, date, password if you want one etc. It’s pretty straight forward to get going. You are also asked if you want to connect to the net and it is handy to have your router key and password handy for this.

In use.
---------
The laptop comes with Windows 8 which I have always found a pain to use on a non-touch screen laptop. Microsoft allows you to do a free upgrade to Windows 8.1 which is far more laptop friendly so worth doing.
Update problems and how to over come them.
This is where problems start. The version of Windows 8 supplied on the laptop was many months out of date so there were over 100 Windows updates to install before the upgrade to 8.1 could be done. It took about two hours to download everything but several of the updates failed and the machine reverted back. This is very frustrating but typical of Microsoft updates, some have to be set up and running before other can be loaded correctly. However, the update process does not seem to know about this. In order to get the machine up to date a second run of Windows updates was needed and this went in fine but took over two hours. After this I could update to 8.1 and it took another hour to do this.
SO this is not really Asus’s fault but an inherent problem with Windows. However, it is worth persevering as Windows 8.1 is much better on this laptop.

Tasks.
---------
I was not expecting this low power machine to run Windows 8.1 very well but I was quite surprised when I found that it does a decent job. It’s no speed freak but for web browsing, emails and office work it is fine. If you want to play games or do photo editing I would get something a bit more powerful but for general computing this is fine.

Quality.
----------
This machine is obviously built to a low price but don’t forget it is not much more than the average tablet but allows you to do much more for the money. The back is a one piece affair with not hatches to access the drive or memory, to do this you have to take the while underside off. This is cost cutting but unless you plan to upgrade this machine it is not a problem.
The screen quality is fine and the colures about right. The keyboard is not very tactile but fine for what I am going to use it for.
It has a built in DVD rewriter, one USB 2.0 legacy socket and one USB 3.0 socket. This is fine as I will only ever use the USB 3 socket for backups so don’t need more. The mouse pad is a but hit and miss but works when you get used to it.

Overall.
----------
A clear budget offering from Asus but it does surprisingly well out of the box. The update process is a pain but this is more down to Microsoft than Asus. I bought this on one of Amazon’s daily offers for under 200 delivered so it is quite a bargain if you want to do office work only. This is what I wanted it for and it works well and is much more useful and flexible than a similarly priced tablet. Recommended with a few reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Replacement laptop...what a whizz, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great Laptop. I quite like windows 8, still learning the system. This replaced a very old laptop and what a difference. It's so quick and all the data seems to be preloaded....no loading this and that. I would recommend this PC to anyone who wants a basic use laptop. Even better there was a FLASH sale as I was buying it and I got 50 off for buying in the next 20 minutes.

What is there not to like for this laptop for 199, including delivery, which was in about 2 days.

Well done Amazon!!!!

I have bought 2 other laptop products before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asus X551CA 15.6-inch Laptop (Black) - (Intel Core i3 3217U 1.8GHz Processor, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, DVDSM DL, LAN, WLAN, Webcam, Integrated Graphics, Windows 8 Home) (Personal Computers)
As a silver surfer this laptop is everything and more that I need for home use. Every programme works really fast which a a great improvement on my previous laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews