Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Moby
Moby is a man who seems as hated as much as he is loved. Not sure why, the guy makes music for a living, he isn't out there clubbing baby seals.

Innocents is a very polished album that contains all of the usual Moby elements that make up his albums, wavery piano notes, smoky female vocalists, archive folk songs, a healthy dose of files from a folder in his...
Published 8 months ago by Brian Hamilton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It has its moments
I have a growing number of Moby albums and this is the latest addition. As an artist Moby is very creative and has produced some excellent work, of which I have really enjoyed listening too. However, on this album there are a few outstanding tracks but many seem to be like old friends dressed in different clothes. To be honest I have had to listen to this 4 or 5 times to...
Published 2 months ago by Dangerous Dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Moby, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
Moby is a man who seems as hated as much as he is loved. Not sure why, the guy makes music for a living, he isn't out there clubbing baby seals.

Innocents is a very polished album that contains all of the usual Moby elements that make up his albums, wavery piano notes, smoky female vocalists, archive folk songs, a healthy dose of files from a folder in his computer known as 'awesome sweeps and washes' and emotionally engaging and interesting electronic elements that fuse together to create music that is, at once instantly listenable whilst remaining engaging in the long term.

He is a man who seems to have carved a very successful niche that has served him well over the years, whilst some may decry that he is slipping into middle aged mediocrity others will surely ask why, if it ain't broke, why fix it.

This, then, is an album for the Moby fan and the listener who appreciates well produced and emotional music.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Approaching 50, Moby develops the mature groove of his past two albums & moves on, 30 Sep 2013
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
Moby's `Innocents' is in the same general groove as its immediate predecessors `Wait for Me' and `Destroyed', in that many of the numbers are stretched out, reflective, even ambient rather than party-danceable, though overall this collection is rather more upbeat. The arrangements are for the most part thoughtful & interesting if not exactly mould-breaking, and we are offered the distinctive-trademark Moby soundscape with top-class production values - for the first time not overseen by Moby himself, but here delegated to Mark Stent.

The vocals are the strength of this collection, featuring an impressive list of collaborators: Cold Specks aka Al Spx, Mark Lanegan, Skylar Grey, Inyang Bassey, Damien Jurado and Wayne Coyne.

Two of the standout tracks are the anthem-like `Almost Home' featuring Damien Jurado and the superb `The Perfect Life' with Wayne Coyne and a gospel choir, possibly the high point of this collection and destined surely to be a perennial stage-show favourite. There are no fillers, and even the instrumentals are good.

Some no doubt will say that Moby is treading water, that he has never trumped his 1999 breakthrough `Play' and continues to offer more of the same. This is not really true: the past three albums in particular have embraced a more mature, intimate sound (this artist after all is now 48), mood-setting music which you can actually listen to rather than dance to. It's been said that Moby "makes forlorn melody better than anyone"; `Innocents' may turn out to be a long-time favourite and one of the career highlights of this interesting and original artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Music grows, but auto rip is lacking, 5 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
On first listen, I didn't think this was the best that Moby has produced. It is definitely growing on me though - and thoroughly deserves a decent set of headphones to hear the nuances. Be aware of auto rip though - this does not include the EP "Everyone is gone", which is the "bonus" of the "deluxe edition".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good shot, 4 Oct 2013
By 
bugalug (Leicester, U.K) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
On second hearing this album is g great and a return to form for Moby though not sure it will have the lasting quality of his early work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 10 July 2014
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
As with all Moby CDs this one gets better the more you hear it. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, 7 Jun 2014
This review is from: Innocents (Audio CD)
this is a good album but not his best it's 8/10 so 4 stars to be honest i'd rate play 10/10 so 5 stars play's the best album I'm looking forward to the next album/single by richard hall a.k.a. moby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It has its moments, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
I have a growing number of Moby albums and this is the latest addition. As an artist Moby is very creative and has produced some excellent work, of which I have really enjoyed listening too. However, on this album there are a few outstanding tracks but many seem to be like old friends dressed in different clothes. To be honest I have had to listen to this 4 or 5 times to get it to grow upon me and it's not as good as Destroyed by a long way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational., 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
Everyone is entitled to their open opinion. Moby to me is probably the best artist in music. Why? This album along with his others, the music gives out a message, its art in a way. Innocents and other albums, to me, he's done the music from his heart. This is the kind of ambient music or calm music that reaches me and can easily have it for background music while working. I have never been disappointed with the music he has produced.

Songs from the Innocent album are very catchy despite little words i cannot stop pressing repeat. Bargain buy on MP3. Look forward to listening to more of this album every day and his future albums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My first vinyl for 40 years, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNOCENTS [VINYL] (Vinyl)
very impressed with sleeve and added bonus of a cd!
Unfortunately disc isn't very flat and the stylus goes up and down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: INNOCENTS (Audio CD)
I love Moby and I love this album.

It has a great many tunes which are as good as always of the great musician and composer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Innocents
Innocents by Moby
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews