Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of the 2014 boxed set.
If you are considering purchasing this boxed set, then obviously you are familiar with the album, the group's 5th, and most popular, featuring the lengthy progressive rock epic "Karn Evil 9", plus four shorter selections.

A general summary of the boxed set's contents: CD 1: the original 1973 mix. CD2: outtakes, alternate mixes & non-L.P. B-sides. CD3:A new 2014...
Published 3 months ago by Philip A.Cohen

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why no 5.1 there is NO excuse.
This would have been a 10 star review if it wasn't for the unforgivable way the record companies are treating the fans. When I pre-ordered this I not unreasonably expected the DVD to come with the 5.1 mix and it DOESN'T. There is no excuse for this. Add to this the unforgiveable absence of the now crsytal clear lyrics and it's clear just how cynically the record company...
Published 2 months ago by Peter N. Ingleby


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars music fan, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
The review by the first reviewer is incorrect. A big disappointment, this album does not contain a DVD-A with a 5.1 mix - only stereo options. Supposedly the Super Deluxe Edition contains a multi-channel audio option, but for whatever reason well beyond my belief, this Deluxe Edition does not. It has 2 CDs, and a DVD-A which has the original stereo mix, and a 2014 stereo mix. Having listened to it a couple of times, I am beginning to think that the original 2000 DVD-A does a better job. Something is missing from the Jakko Jakksyk new stereo mix. Would the 5.1 version sound better? If only I knew!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new clear dawn with Emerson, Lake & Palmer at their best, 6 Aug 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This 1973 ELP album with the original painting by H. R. Giger is one of the great covers of all time and if you really pay attention to the details in the artwork you can figure out what "Brain Salad Surgery" means in British slang terms. For me this is the best album by the Progressive (nee Classical) Rock Power Trio. The synthesizer-saturated sound that dominated "Tarkus" has been toned down considerably to great effect, which you can tell immediately with the opening organ chords of Keith Emerson's organ on "Jerusalem," the best-known Anglican hymn. "Toccata," an adaptation of the 4th Movement of Ginastera's 1st Piano Concerto features an impressive percussion movement from Carl Palmer. "Still...You Turn Me On" is Greg Lake's best composition since "Lucky Man," and you can only wish his work had not always been so overshadowed by Emerson's pyrotechnics on the keyboard. "Benny the Bouncer" is another one of those annoying little honky tonk ditties that ELP was so enamored of for some reason that passeth understanding (cf. "The Sheriff").
The highlight of the album is the "Karn Evil 9" Suite, which seems to me to be a nice synthesis of what the group had gone for in earlier albums with the "Tarkus" Suite and "The Endless Enigma," although more like the latter of that particular pair in terms of employing the forms of classical composition. The First Impression offered the line that came to sum up the group's performance, "Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends," although you find yourself wishing they had used computer magic to get rid of the fade out/fade in that we had to endure on vinyl when we flipped sides of the record. The Second Impression is arguably their finest instrumental track while the Third Impression brings the album full circle, offering a hymn for the new clear dawn. To make this album perfect all you have to do is program your CD player to skip the fourth track and you eliminate the one sound bump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I'm very sorry to say that I don't like this deluxe edition at all, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
I'm very sorry to say that I don't like this deluxe edition at all. There's no difference between the cds. not even the dvd super sonic brain salad surgery has a different sound. The lp i already bought two times since 1977. The manticore documentary video I already had since it came out years ago. So the only thing new is an instrumental version of karn evil 9 third impression and the song brain salad surgery. ELP fans don't waste your money !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!, 21 May 2001
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
WELL WHAT CAN I SAY ABOUT THIS ALBUM.MAYBE THE GREAT PIECE OF MUSIC EVER WRITTEN BUT MISUNDERSTOOD.BRAIN SALAD SURGERY IS AN EXTRAORDINARY ALBUM WITH ,IT HAS TO BE SAID SOME OF THE GREATEST KEYBOARD PLAYING EVER HEARD. YOU HAVE TO BEAR IN-MIND THAT THIS ALBUM WAS REPRODUCED (LIVE) WITH NO BACKING TAPES.THIS CONCEPTUAL PIECE MAINLY BASED AROUND KARN EVIL 9 EBBS AND FLOWS THROUGH A MAZE OF THEATRICAL AND MYSTICAL VISIONS AND YOU CAN CHOOSE YOUR OWN VIEWS TO THE MEANING OF ITS INTENT. THERE ARE ALSO SOME GREAT VOCALS OF THE ALBUM WITH THE ANGELIC VOICE OF GREG LAKE. DO ME A FAVOUR, BUY THIS ALBUM,LAY ON YOUR BED AND TURN THE LIGHTS OUT AND LET ELP TAKE YOU ON A TRUELY MAGICAL JOURNEY MSTAGGS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No 5.1 mix on the DVD-A in the 3-disc set, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
I'm not the first to point this out, but it's worth reiterating: there's no 5.1 mix on the DVD-A that comes as part of the 3-disc set
I already own the original DVD-A, released in 2001, and its thoroughly satisfactory surround mix, but I was happy to fork out for another version.

What can I say? I like surround mixes, and Brain Salad Surgery is an unequivocally great album (apart from Benny the Bouncer, obviously) so I was hugely disappointed to find that the DVD-A that comes as part of the 3-disc set only includes a couple of stereo mixes that sound like they were recorded inside a cardboard box. This is a despicable act of chicanery by Sony. I'll be damned if I'll spend 60 on the super deluxe box to buy another decrepit Manticore Special DVD, so I guess I'll forego this round of Brain Salad Surgery re-re-re-re-releases and pick up the Blu-Ray (or its successor) when that eventually hits the marketplace.

Shame on you Sony...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
I was hoping for something better here. I already own a single CD without bonus tracks of this on the Castle/Essential label. The original album mix on disc 1 of this set is dull and lifeless in comparison to my old CD. (I compared them on the hifi, on a CD walkman and in the car and the old disc sounded better in all cases). In fact, my LP sounds better than disc 1. I didn't think the sound quality of the bonus material on disc 2 or the material itself was very good either. To put this in context, I really like ELP. I bought all the LPs when they came out, all the CDs and some of the deluxe sets. (Those for the first album and Tarkus were fine).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best technorock albums, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
brings back all the memories of life when single. long tracks great vocals wonderful playing. great.greg lakes voice one of the best ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a big bunch of show-offs!, 23 Jan 2012
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
They were overloud, overblown, arrogant, played much too fast and may well have all been a bit bonkers...
What is certain is that the world will never see anything like ELP again.
You get the impression that, with this album, they took the attitude: "Sod the critics - let's throw in everything but the kitchen sink with this one..."
Then Keith Emerson said: "Hold on lads, I've just remembered - I've got a kitchen sink in the van outside. I'll go and get it..."
Wonderful wonderful stuff....and years ahead of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ELP - BSS (Deluxe Edition) SACD, 20 Nov 2008
By 
Jeff Carney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
5 Stars for Brain Salad Surgery, of course. 1 Star for this remastering on the Deluxe Edition (SACD).

The midrange on this Deluxe Edition has been jacked up with EQ and it is compressed enough so that Lake's vocals now grate a bit, but most difficult to understand is how this sound was considered appropriate for Palmer's drums. When his first beat kicks in with hi-hat in tow around 1:30 into "Jerusalem," I think some folks will probably say to themselves: "You've got to be kidding." The hi-hat was already a rough listen on the Victory but here it has been turned into a metallic pinch. I don't personally think that these EQ moves were a success. The added compression is also really annoying. The whole signal sort of "pumps" as a result. Surely some will rave about more "detail" and "clarity," but in actual A/B comparisons with the old Victory CD, I found this to be utterly "tinny" with way too much added midrange EQ. And I already found the Victory a bit too bright. I still think that despite what I suspect were less than perfect source tapes, the original Atlantic CD mastered by Barry Diament is the best digital version of this album. Some might find it a bit "dull," but in comparison to what? I don't know, I find my ears tolerate 40 minutes of that sound just fine. Adding treble to recordings during remastering seems common in the digital realm, but sometimes over the course of an entire album this added treble can really become annoying. I wonder if people would find the original Atlantic CD "dull" if they cleaned their ears out with some warm sounding vinyl for a few days?

Let us keep in mind that the Victory remastering in 1993 by Joseph Palmaccio was apparently the first time this entire album had been remastered from master tapes. This same mastering was then used by Rhino (ignore the new mastering credit inside, it's just a mistake). Castle also used this mastering after first accidentally issuing a downmix from the Rhino DVD-A. Hence, you have the Victory CD, the Rhino and "corrected" Castle editions all featuring the same mastering by Mr. Palmaccio. The Japanese releases on JVC are not worth discussion (too compressed) other than the fact that they had snazzy packaging. The album was released on CD in Germany on Ariola/Manticore, but while some of the Manticore CDs are hunted by audiophiles (especially the first album as well as Tarkus, and to a certain extent Trilogy -- all of which I agree sound excellent), I didn't find the Manticore CD of BSS to be all that great. Too much treble. Incidentally, I suspect that all of the Japanese mini lp CDs by JVC originate from the Manticore/Ariola sources anyway, if not just the CDs themselves. If you are curious about different digital versions of the ELP catalog, I recommend trying to find those for comparison. The Japanese minis were (sonically) a complete joke and offer nothing of value to the dynamics or tonality of these albums.

But back to this new SACD: The no-noise is thankfully subtle, and will likely not be evident to any but the most obsessive audiophile, but some was surely applied. Consider that the hiss level between this and the Victory are very similar and yet this is compressed and had some added midrange (things that would increase hiss), so you figure it out. I can't stand the stuff and wish there was more reverence for the breath inherent in analog tape amongst many modern mastering engineers, because the sound that occurs when perfectly natural tape hiss is removed via computer is not an improvement to my ears, in fact, it is a major downgrade ... but that's another story.

The much bigger issue at hand will simply be if one thinks the Victory mastering needed to be even brighter and have compression added. If so, you'll like this sound. I found the new release vastly inferior to the Victory, and I still prefer Barry Diament's Atlantic CD mastering for the smoothest sound (particularly on Palmer's cymbals) of them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brain Salad Shambles!!, 16 Oct 2008
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
The other reviewer here has said it all on this re-issue. It's a bit of a mess. A couple of other points. The 3rd disc is a hybrid SACD which includes the 5.1 mix of the album. This is stated as "5.1 STS" on the back of the packaging. Is this a new sound format? Nowhere except on the disc does it state SACD. The 5.1 mix is I believe taken from the DVD-A released by Rhino back in 2000. The timing on this is given as 49.47 which may be due to the fact the original DVD-A release also included "Lucky Man" in 5.1.Not sure if this version does as I don't have an SACD player. As this is a hybrid SACD, the stereo layer can be played on conventional CD players. So why include the first disc as it's the same material.

The remastering is stated as being done by Joseph Palmacio. But this information is taken directly from the last issue on Castle. This new remaster has in fact been done by Paschal Byrne. On disc 2 there are 11 tracks listed but there are in fact 12 as there is a repeat of "Brain Salad Surgery" prior to the "Excerpts" track. Do I need to go on.

This re-issue is hugely disappointing. Universal have done some really good deluxe editions in the past but this, as with "Pictures At An Exhibition" comes across as being rushed, cobbled together and the lack of attention to detail or even the obvious is deplorable. That an album as important within the 70's progressive rock canon as "Brain Salad Surgery" has been treated so poorly is actually depressing. I wonder what ELP themselves think about it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brain Salad Surgery
Brain Salad Surgery by Emerson, Lake & Palmer (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews