Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of the 2014 boxed set.
If you are considering purchasing this boxed set, then obviously you are familiar with the album, the group's 5th, and most popular, featuring the lengthy progressive rock epic "Karn Evil 9", plus four shorter selections.

A general summary of the boxed set's contents: CD 1: the original 1973 mix. CD2: outtakes, alternate mixes & non-L.P. B-sides. CD3:A new 2014...
Published 13 months ago by Philip A.Cohen

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No 5.1 mix on this one, poor.
Hi.
This is my first review ever. I promised myself I will never write a review at all. But I had to. I'm very disappointed with this version. I bought it only for 5.1 mix of the album. DVD contains only high resolution stereo mix by Jakszyk. To get a surround mix you have to buy a limited edition for £58. What a politics? ELP and Tarkus contain 5.1 mix (by Wilson)...
Published 13 months ago by PT Cwikla


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why was 5.1 mix removed from this set?, 5 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
TARKUS deluxe 5.1 - ELP deluxe 5.1 - Brain SS deluxe NO 5.1 - WHY? Makes no sense.
Preordered this especially for the 5.1 as documented by sites associated with amazon. See superdeluxeedition.com - As I write, they are saying both BSS sets include the 5.1 mix and link you directly to BSS purchase on amazon. Something not right here, deeply disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Epic Fail, 20 Jun. 2014
By 
R. Fleischer "RonToon" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to this release, especially the new mixes by JJ. But the 5.1 mix was left off of this release even though it was advertised as such. It is still featured in the box set but it's very uneven and Karn Evil 9 (3rd Impression) is nearly unlistenable with the overblown bass that drowns out everything else. The new stereo mix, while sounding much cleaner than anything digital that came before it. is a bit of a mess with missing instruments (Jerusalem) and a very dry start to Tocatta which come off as mistakes, rather than artistic choices, to any fan familiar with this album. Finally, the replica litho of the famous Giger album cover is a poor reproduction. Very disappointed. Too bad Steven Wilson stopped working on ELP releases.

The bate and switch and poor remastering really killed this one for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No 5.1 Mix = Cancelled Order, 19 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
Just piling on here and making no bones about it: my chief interest in this release was for the new 5.1 surround mix which this was originally advertised as having (just as Tarkus and the self-titled debut album had previously). I cancelled my order after discovering the 5.1 mix would only be on the expensive super-deluxe set, which I considered (since it was well after many orders had been placed for this version) to be a blatant cash-grab.

My negative rating does NOT reflect the quality of the content that WAS included (as I have yet to hear it) - only the decision to leave off the 5.1 mix. It is offered in the (likely naive) hope that ratings/reviews like this may lead the decision-makers to reverse themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!, 21 May 2001
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
WELL WHAT CAN I SAY ABOUT THIS ALBUM.MAYBE THE GREAT PIECE OF MUSIC EVER WRITTEN BUT MISUNDERSTOOD.BRAIN SALAD SURGERY IS AN EXTRAORDINARY ALBUM WITH ,IT HAS TO BE SAID SOME OF THE GREATEST KEYBOARD PLAYING EVER HEARD. YOU HAVE TO BEAR IN-MIND THAT THIS ALBUM WAS REPRODUCED (LIVE) WITH NO BACKING TAPES.THIS CONCEPTUAL PIECE MAINLY BASED AROUND KARN EVIL 9 EBBS AND FLOWS THROUGH A MAZE OF THEATRICAL AND MYSTICAL VISIONS AND YOU CAN CHOOSE YOUR OWN VIEWS TO THE MEANING OF ITS INTENT. THERE ARE ALSO SOME GREAT VOCALS OF THE ALBUM WITH THE ANGELIC VOICE OF GREG LAKE. DO ME A FAVOUR, BUY THIS ALBUM,LAY ON YOUR BED AND TURN THE LIGHTS OUT AND LET ELP TAKE YOU ON A TRUELY MAGICAL JOURNEY MSTAGGS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Music - 5 Stars; Packaging - 0 Stars, 20 Oct. 2008
By 
Paul Silas (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
As other reviewers have pointed out, the music on Brain Salad Surgery makes the album a "must own" for any serious classic rock lover. However, Sanctuary Records should be ashamed of itself for the hatchet job it has foisted upon this "Deluxe Edition". In addition to the numerous spelling errors and inconsistencies, the SACD disc - perhaps the only reason any ELP fan will be buying this re-issue - was jammed tightly into the cardboard pocket that also housed the booklet. It was with great difficulty that I was able to remove it without damaging it. Embarrassing. Listeners who are new to Brain Salad Surgery would be better off with one of the (numerous) previous editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No 5.1 mix on the DVD-A in the 3-disc set, 22 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
I'm not the first to point this out, but it's worth reiterating: there's no 5.1 mix on the DVD-A that comes as part of the 3-disc set
I already own the original DVD-A, released in 2001, and its thoroughly satisfactory surround mix, but I was happy to fork out for another version.

What can I say? I like surround mixes, and Brain Salad Surgery is an unequivocally great album (apart from Benny the Bouncer, obviously) so I was hugely disappointed to find that the DVD-A that comes as part of the 3-disc set only includes a couple of stereo mixes that sound like they were recorded inside a cardboard box. This is a despicable act of chicanery by Sony. I'll be damned if I'll spend £60 on the super deluxe box to buy another decrepit Manticore Special DVD, so I guess I'll forego this round of Brain Salad Surgery re-re-re-re-releases and pick up the Blu-Ray (or its successor) when that eventually hits the marketplace.

Shame on you Sony...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
I was hoping for something better here. I already own a single CD without bonus tracks of this on the Castle/Essential label. The original album mix on disc 1 of this set is dull and lifeless in comparison to my old CD. (I compared them on the hifi, on a CD walkman and in the car and the old disc sounded better in all cases). In fact, my LP sounds better than disc 1. I didn't think the sound quality of the bonus material on disc 2 or the material itself was very good either. To put this in context, I really like ELP. I bought all the LPs when they came out, all the CDs and some of the deluxe sets. (Those for the first album and Tarkus were fine).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a big bunch of show-offs!, 23 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
They were overloud, overblown, arrogant, played much too fast and may well have all been a bit bonkers...
What is certain is that the world will never see anything like ELP again.
You get the impression that, with this album, they took the attitude: "Sod the critics - let's throw in everything but the kitchen sink with this one..."
Then Keith Emerson said: "Hold on lads, I've just remembered - I've got a kitchen sink in the van outside. I'll go and get it..."
Wonderful wonderful stuff....and years ahead of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brain Salad Shambles!!, 16 Oct. 2008
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
The other reviewer here has said it all on this re-issue. It's a bit of a mess. A couple of other points. The 3rd disc is a hybrid SACD which includes the 5.1 mix of the album. This is stated as "5.1 STS" on the back of the packaging. Is this a new sound format? Nowhere except on the disc does it state SACD. The 5.1 mix is I believe taken from the DVD-A released by Rhino back in 2000. The timing on this is given as 49.47 which may be due to the fact the original DVD-A release also included "Lucky Man" in 5.1.Not sure if this version does as I don't have an SACD player. As this is a hybrid SACD, the stereo layer can be played on conventional CD players. So why include the first disc as it's the same material.

The remastering is stated as being done by Joseph Palmacio. But this information is taken directly from the last issue on Castle. This new remaster has in fact been done by Paschal Byrne. On disc 2 there are 11 tracks listed but there are in fact 12 as there is a repeat of "Brain Salad Surgery" prior to the "Excerpts" track. Do I need to go on.

This re-issue is hugely disappointing. Universal have done some really good deluxe editions in the past but this, as with "Pictures At An Exhibition" comes across as being rushed, cobbled together and the lack of attention to detail or even the obvious is deplorable. That an album as important within the 70's progressive rock canon as "Brain Salad Surgery" has been treated so poorly is actually depressing. I wonder what ELP themselves think about it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The high spot - a delight which ELP would never match again, 24 Oct. 2011
By 
Stephen Reid "Stephen" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brain Salad Surgery (Audio CD)
For me, this was the high spot of the ELP phenomenon.

Karn Evil 9 is a major tour de force, split over two sides of the original vinyl, enabling the second side to start with the now famous lyrics "Welcome back my friends, to the show that never ends ..." It is a composition that brings out the best in all three musicians, most especially Emerson, whose virtuoso keyboards have never sounded better or more complicated. Apart from the rather cliched computer voice at the end, this is a flawless composition and shows that rock music at its best can be serious music too.

It's worth getting this record on CD to avoid the artificial break that the limitations of the vinyl imposed.

'Toccata' sees the group in its strongest territory: classic / rock crossover. Greg Lake's voice soars on 'Jerusalem', the familiar hymn that is a mainstay of 'Last Night of the Proms." His balladeering on "Still, you turn me on" is superb and this song became a regular in their live performances.

OK ... this was prog rock in its pomp and some people will scoff decades later. They shouldn't. There are pitifully few bands around today with the sheer technique to play music at this level of complexity and excellence. And even fewer with the audacity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brain Salad Surgery
Brain Salad Surgery by Emerson, Lake & Palmer (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews