Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Burying the past, onto a darker future., 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burials (Audio CD)
A great return to form for my favourite band. Their last release "Crash Love" was something of a misstep in my opinion, taking on this new fashionista radio rock sound with elements from Davey and Jades side project Blaqk Audio. This latest release casts that aside for this deliciously dark and brooding new wave/ melodic punk sound that fits very comfortably with AFI. Davey's "shouts" make a return on a few tracks, the lyrics are bitter and resentful, the music is loud and in your face. Probably their strongest release track for track since Sing the Sorrow.

Nice work lads. More of this please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kinda disappointed, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burials (Audio CD)
As an AFI fan. Of course I would buy their new record. This is a very varied record but the main overlying theme is that of a depressing one. I didn;t really get the "zing" that I did with Crashlove. You can sense that Davey and the guys went through some serious stuff because it definitely reflects in the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So glad I bought it!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The more I listen to this album the more songs I love! The digital booklet is OK, it could have been laid out better but overall it's good. Fantastic album, fantastic band :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars AFI as they should be, 27 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burials (Audio CD)
Ok so if you like AFI you will like this, although there is a bit of a repetitiveness about the tracks and so far not one has stood out to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars realised how much i missed this band, 9 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Burials (Audio CD)
A band for whom change was woven into their very fabric. From almost hardcore beginnings into pop punk then gothic punk all the way to the electro pop punk of `Sing the Sorrow' and sadly for me this is where I stopped listening but to be honest I thought they had stopped playing. So when I found Burials at my local HMV I decided I had to give it a go all the while I was wondering just what style they were onto these days, because the way they were changing it wouldn't have surprised me to hear free form jazz when I played the cd. To be honest I was a bit shocked to find that they were only onto gothic rock, which was a perhaps too obvious move after `The Art of Drowning' and `Sing the Sorrow'.

None of that really matters because when all is said and done this is a really good album which blossoms in front of your eyes and reminds you just how good a band AFI are and you end up kicking yourself for letting them slip below your radar for so long.

If there are any problems with Burials it is that it feels a bit over polished, there is a distinct lack of rough edges, which perhaps lessens its emotional punch.

Check out `I Hope you Suffer', `Heart Stops' and `Greater than 84'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slick, Dark, but lacking something., 2 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Burials (Audio CD)
So I'm going to review this because the other reviews are atrocious.

With burials AFI have produced an album which has a very similar tone to sing the sorrow while at the same time having a much more mature, polished, and in some respects electronic sound. This is both good and bad. We all know AFI can write songs, so there's no problem there. the sweeping melodies and rousing emotive choruses are plentiful.

So if this album has a flaw it's that, while they have played all the strong cards they were holding during the sing the sorrow era, this record lacks something they had then, something difficult to put ones finger on, energy, urgency, I can't quite figure it out. In order to produce a brooding, darker, more gothic and atmospheric sound, some of the tracks do lack the urgency that was so ceaselessly self-reinforcing throughout that aforementioned record. Burials also has flawless and slinky production values which take the edge off somewhat. On top of this, the record is scattered with noticeably light sounding tracks. It is perhaps these that detract from the whole.

But in many ways those production values and electronic additions have added to the sound, and were probably recquiresd in order for the band to move forward. They aspire to a big sound, and these additions are what it takes to get it. (think Frank Delgado from the Deftones). One certainty is that this is a vast improvement on the mostly forgettable post-offspring college rock of Crash Love. A while the tone of Burials is similar to STS, I would argue the songwriting and production bring it closer to decemberunderground, it has the same pop sensibility in terms of song structure and dynamic. But pleasingly, it is a darker record.

So, all the darkly epic AFI stuff is here, it sounds lush and big, and in general holds together pretty well. It doesn't batter the door down the way STS did, but it presses almost all of the right buttons. It gets four stars, but its a stong four stars, because no-one does this stuff as well as they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burials (Audio CD)
sounds great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Underated, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burials (Audio CD)
I think the problem with this band is they seem to play a few different genres, so alienating a few fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burials (Audio CD)
This album came second in awesome in 2013 only to the Pacific Rim soundtrack which is entirely music to punch things in the face to while in a giant robot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great comeback, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burials (Audio CD)
A great comeback.I miss the agressivity of decemberunderground,Sing the sorrow,the art of DROWING..... but songs like I HOPE YOU SUFFER,GREATER THAN 84,THE CONDUCTOR.....save this situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burials
Burials by A.F.I. (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews