Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where to start with praise ...
It is a surprise to see no other person has reviewed this outstanding album. Seriously, where to start? It opens with the block busting title track, which is full of life, bounce and energy. It's a showcase track for Levi Stubbs' outstanding voice, counterpointed by the harmonies of the other three members of the group, proving that synergy was at work here, the whole...
Published on 8 Nov. 2009 by White Rose

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissappointing
All sounded a bit lifeless and un-inspiring.

I saw the Four Tops live back in 1973 in London and then again in 2003. Both great & engaging performances. Also I have many CDs and vinyl of the Group, all good.

Regretably the Indestructable CD will little use.
Published 11 months ago by Mr. I. C. Downs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where to start with praise ..., 8 Nov. 2009
It is a surprise to see no other person has reviewed this outstanding album. Seriously, where to start? It opens with the block busting title track, which is full of life, bounce and energy. It's a showcase track for Levi Stubbs' outstanding voice, counterpointed by the harmonies of the other three members of the group, proving that synergy was at work here, the whole being greater than the individual parts. The wonderful duet between Levi and Aretha Franklin singing of a lost love has to be heard to be believed, it is so moving and so perfect. 'The Sun Ain't Gonna Shine' is a song of lost love, of 'I can go it alone, of course I can but...' but with energy and drive and the most infectious beat imaginable. 'Loco In Acapulco' is on this album too. It's the most upbeat and lively album I own, I do believe, and I have everything the Tops have done, so that is really saying something. I play it in the car going to work if the day looks dreary or I feel a bit down. By the time I get there, the energy levels are way up and I turn off the engine with a sense of drive and a big smile. If you don't have this album, what are you waiting for? and why don't you have it already????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 16 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Indestructible (Audio CD)
Just when I think I can't get a better Four Tops album to play, I get one. Indestructible features superb songs that get into the heart as well as the mind and also features the most amazing duet between the magic men and Aretha Franklin. Like you would not believe! Outstanding lyrics, outstanding arrangements, outstanding voices. The Four Tops ARE indestructible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indestructible (Audio CD)
The PWL remix of Indestructible... Worth buying the whole album for that. The rest is quite an ablbum also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 30 Jan. 2010
By 
G 1975 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Been looking for this for a while & finally got one!
Great album... features a host of other stars including Kenny G, Phil Collins& Aretha Franklin...
A must have if you're into the 80's or the four tops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indestructible Levi Stubbs and the Tops., 8 Feb. 2014
By 
W. Blackwell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indestructible (Audio CD)
Massive fan of Levi Stubbs and his Tops, especially the 60's and 70's tunes, but was never too keen on 80's music due to the synthesizer and electronic sounds coming out through that decade towards the end mainly.
As this was made around that time, I had my doubts, but knew Levi Stubbs voice would break through all that, and boy did he prove me right!
I have never ever heard a voice like his before and it just seemed to get better with age, they are all in their 50's at the time of this album, his range is unbelievable and just soars and booms over the 80's electronic backing of these tracks. He duets perfectly with Aretha and never over powers her on one of the tracks, and with some top producers of the decade working with them, there isn't a bad song.
It's all here, slow ballads and some catchy dance tunes that really show Levi Stubbs can sing anything, even in his 50's, backed up by his Tops as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissappointing, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indestructible (Audio CD)
All sounded a bit lifeless and un-inspiring.

I saw the Four Tops live back in 1973 in London and then again in 2003. Both great & engaging performances. Also I have many CDs and vinyl of the Group, all good.

Regretably the Indestructable CD will little use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Indestructible (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Indestructible
Indestructible by The Four Tops (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews