Customer Reviews


223 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what an album
after one listen i thought ,yes a good kings of leon album , i then put it on in my van and listened to it on the way to work and on the way home ,by the 3rd time i realised what a fantastic album it is with some good tracks and some pure classics , the base line on "family tree " is amazing . i would recommend any person buying this album will be totally hooked...
Published 9 months ago by Ray

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mechanical Formula
Mechanical Bull is the sixth studio album from Kings of Leon.

It's been about ten years since the Followill's showed up here in the UK. I distinctly remember the freshness and vitality of 'Red Morning Light' and 'Molly's Chambers' from their debut Youth And Young Manhood performed so authentically on Later with Jools Holland.

Bassist Jared (the one...
Published 11 months ago by Adam Finn


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album, 27 Sep 2013
By 
J. Charles (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
KOL have done it again. Another 13 fantastic songs. They never seem to put a foot wrong. Last Mile Home must be one of the best 'bonus' tracks ever. What an album, what a group! It doesn't get much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Return, 25 Sep 2013
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
The album has really grown on me after a few listens, probably the best they have done since because of the times. Personal faves are Family Tree, Temple and Always the same. Quite a bit of variation in styles with the tracks, I do miss the rawness of the early tracks but lyrically there is much more here than those early tracks. Bands stay the same, they're criticised, they change things up, the get the same. I'd like to see caleb getting back to being a little more experimental, but overall, a decent return from KOL, and they're still certainly well and above some of the other "bands" out there...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Item as advertised., 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
Speedy delivery and item as advertised. It was for a present and I've not had any feed back yet, so assuming all's well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pop pop pop, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Frank Bozic Jr. (brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
They are ongoing becaming pop and pop and pop!! it is! Nothing new, the same vocals, the same guitar, bass and drum!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its OK, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
Well its OK but only time will tell and more plays will tell if it is up to previous standards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
A very good cd have played and played it. well worth adding to your collection. Kings of Leon are so good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the comeback story of a life time.., 24 Sep 2013
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
What a brilliant comeback by the Kings, kind of the same vibe as Come Around Sundown but with a slightly more rocky feel to each song. Beautiful war, comeback story & wait for me are defiantly the stand out tracks but every track is good in its own way, welcome back KOL. Quality album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A reall disappouintment!!, 24 Sep 2013
By 
J. G. Rhys "john40025" (britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
Really looking forward to this album.i found it dull and boring most of the tracks sounded the same whith a few exceptions.this will go straight to the charity shop hoping some one else will find it to there taste.there will be people out there who do like and good for them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring and Dull!!!!!!! ONE BIG YAWN!!!!!!, 27 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
I borrowed this album the other day to give a listen to and i find the Kings of Leon are one of the most uninspiring and dullest Rock Bands that have ever graced the music industry.
They are very good as a unit but everything they do all sounds the same and there is never a real killer riff to spark anything off and get you going.
Bands like Nirvana,AC/DC,Oasis etc and even some of the older bands in rock all have that killer track but i am afraid with the Kings of Leon it is all going but with no substance whatsoever.
I mean Kasabian if i can give an example have released 4 albums but on every one of them there are at least 2 or 3 killer tracks unlike Kings of Leon.
I think if i saw them Live i would be Bored to Death and looking for the EXIT even if they do sell out stadiums as they are no way or nowhere near the same league as Led Zeppelin, U2 or Queen.
I find Mechanical Bull as an album ONE BIG YAWN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still isn't quite right., 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
For me the album is an improvement on Come Around Sundown but that isn't saying much.
Once again they have some nice bass lines that are washed over by this 'Stadium Rock' sound that has been toned down for this album but still irritatingly there.
Instead of sounding like KOL they sound like KOL singing U2 songs... which isn't a good thing.
They seem to have lost their edge and rawness that made them fill stadiums in the first place so they didn't really need to turn into U2.
I went to see them live before Only By The Night was released and the crowd seemed electric and everyone sang to each song that was played. I then went to see them after Only By The Night was released and you could notice the difference in the atmosphere because majority of the crowd only sang 'Sex On Fire' or 'Use Somebody' and that made me think differently about them.
They clearly have it in them to make proper KOL sounding music but they have lost their way at the moment so i am hoping they find it sooner than later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 23 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews