Customer Reviews


260 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what an album
after one listen i thought ,yes a good kings of leon album , i then put it on in my van and listened to it on the way to work and on the way home ,by the 3rd time i realised what a fantastic album it is with some good tracks and some pure classics , the base line on "family tree " is amazing . i would recommend any person buying this album will be totally hooked...
Published 14 months ago by Ray

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mechanical Formula
Mechanical Bull is the sixth studio album from Kings of Leon.

It's been about ten years since the Followill's showed up here in the UK. I distinctly remember the freshness and vitality of 'Red Morning Light' and 'Molly's Chambers' from their debut Youth And Young Manhood performed so authentically on Later with Jools Holland.

Bassist Jared (the one...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mechanical Formula, 23 Sept. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mechanical Bull [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
Mechanical Bull is the sixth studio album from Kings of Leon.

It's been about ten years since the Followill's showed up here in the UK. I distinctly remember the freshness and vitality of 'Red Morning Light' and 'Molly's Chambers' from their debut Youth And Young Manhood performed so authentically on Later with Jools Holland.

Bassist Jared (the one who had a pigeon drop one in his mouth during a show in St Louis) seems to think that the music of this album is some of their most complex yet but also has a youthful zest comparable to their first two albums. Of course, he would say that. Because enough has already been made of how the band have detoured down the stadium rock back route at the expense of musical originality.

On first listens, Mechanical Bull is perhaps a better description of albums four and five - and stands as one of the more intriguing of their more recent work. But ultimately it remains more in line with a low-risk formula that has haunted the band since the success of 'Sex on Fire'. It's a step in the right direction and the aptly titled 'Comeback Story' shines a glimmer of hope that the band are rediscovering their original delight ('Family Tree' will get the crowds chanting too), but there are too many ineffective tracks in the middle that leave it still short from what they should be achieving.

So much better than Come Around Sundown but I am beginning to think we may have already seen their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what an album, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
after one listen i thought ,yes a good kings of leon album , i then put it on in my van and listened to it on the way to work and on the way home ,by the 3rd time i realised what a fantastic album it is with some good tracks and some pure classics , the base line on "family tree " is amazing . i would recommend any person buying this album will be totally hooked as i was by the 3rd listen . Enjoy .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars!, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
LOVE this album. Nothing much else to say, just a great album with some songs going back to their roots, sounding more like their first album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mechanical Bull - Kings of Leon, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
By the fifth album, It would be conceivable to believe that Kings of Leon might be getting tired, not so. The first half of the album seems to hark back to their earlier albums, whereas the second half of the album seems to be closer to that of the previous two. I would recommend the bonus edition for the three bonus tracks as they really do add to it. It looks like the lads from Talihina Sky have plenty more steam left in the engine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
Not their best - seems rushed, but one killer track in "Temple", (which sounds almost like a Hold Steady tribute) and when put on repeat on the stereo in my already fast car seems to make it go even faster. One terrible song, the title of which eludes me right now, but it has the magnificently awful line "I walked a mile in your shoes...now I'm a mile away...and I've got your shoes". A craven attempt at profundity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a listen., 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
Well worth a listen. The more you listen, it grows and grows on you. Less chart, more rock, country and hillbilly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't disappoint, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
The Kings of Leon have crafted one of the most distinctive and recognisable rock sounds of today. All fans of the band will enjoy this album as it continues in the vain of previous work. It's not an outstanding album and not as good as previous releases but still a worthy addition to your music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mechanical bull, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
I am a huge fan of KOL and love this album. Its a real sing along album and one to turn up loud in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated!, 21 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
Bought this expecting to only like a few tracks and was very pleasantly surprised to discover just how good the whole album is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mechanical Bull (Audio CD)
Love this album always had it playing when I first got it, which reminds me I haven't listened to it for a while, time to put it back on again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews