Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of third Armageddon book.
Oh why did I read this book knowing that I've got to wait a few months before the final one comes out. I have devoured it within two days on my Kindle and now can't wait until book four comes out. Just like the previous two volumes two absolutely loved it. Couldn't put it down as the battles were raging. Cant wait to find out how it all comes together.
Published 13 months ago by Jonathan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting story - shame about the proof reading.
The story is exciting enough, although reality has moved on in that many of the military assets featuring have been scrapped (like British Harriers, Jaguars, ships and regiments) and some of the belligerent nations fighting for the Soviets would today be on different sides. Nevertheless the structure of the book is fast-paced and carries the reader along...
Published 1 month ago by MalcolmW


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of third Armageddon book., 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Fight Through' (Armageddon's Song Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Oh why did I read this book knowing that I've got to wait a few months before the final one comes out. I have devoured it within two days on my Kindle and now can't wait until book four comes out. Just like the previous two volumes two absolutely loved it. Couldn't put it down as the battles were raging. Cant wait to find out how it all comes together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Armageddons Song - Fight Through, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. M. Cranny "Operator 09" (Poole Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Fight Through' (Armageddon's Song Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Andy Farman just keeps getting better ... the story line is completely plausible, enough techno detail to please the technocrats but not enough to detract from the storyline and bore readers. The characters are well rounded. Roll on Volume 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Fight Through' (Armageddon's Song Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The latest book drops you right back into the action as world war 3 rumbles on. You can see the authors style has improved as the series goes on and he carefully manages each section so you just have to keep reading as all the separate plots combine.It's good to see other Nato countries get a mention and each side faces it's own ups and downs.If you've just stumbled upon this be sure to start at the beginning of the series and it wont be too long before you're reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars military fuction from a military man, 4 Oct 2013
By 
L. P. Woodley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Fight Through' (Armageddon's Song Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
What can I say, god was I disappointed when the end came; I want more!!!!
Yes there are minor errors of technical jargon but who the hell knows every element of military hardware from not only the UK military inventory but our NATO allies as well, when add those of the former Warsaw Pact as well as the PRC.
I like the characters, and not surprisingly some of the bad guys can catch you empathising with them.
Andy, you’re doing a good job of keeping me entertained and if anyone else buys your books because of my review, I am sure they will enjoy them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Armageddons song 'Fight Through', 29 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. J. P. Devlin (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Fight Through' (Armageddon's Song Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Andy Farman's books just get better! This is the 3rd in the series and I snapped it up as soon as I saw it was out!
I've read quite a few of these type book (including the first two, 'Stand to' and 'Advance to Contact') and the story line just improves, its a very good mix of spy/soldier/global view on a WW3 that fortunately never was but this tale is all too believable (computers being hacked etc) and you definitely get the soldiers view of combat and are not spared the grim truths and mistakes in the 'fog of war'It is also refreshing to see the British forces (Army and Navy) get a good story line and not just supporting the Americans as bit part players. (I found the shameful treatment of the returning British solders from the prev book disgusting but all too believable!) The mix of the story threads is about right. The themes switch from the fighting in Europe to China to Russia to Australia to the Kremlin to the Whitehouse to London but the story line is heavy on the combat and where the action is at and this is where its at its stand-out best. There's enough 'tech' to keep the story believable but more human story to keep you reading - you REALLY want to see the story conclude in volume 4 'Crossing the Rubicon'. I can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-stop action, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Fight Through' (Armageddon's Song Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Great read from start to finish. Can't wait for next instalment. Nice to see a reference to my old regiment (1RTR). Hope someone snaps up the film rights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Exciting story - shame about the proof reading., 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Fight Through' (Armageddon's Song Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The story is exciting enough, although reality has moved on in that many of the military assets featuring have been scrapped (like British Harriers, Jaguars, ships and regiments) and some of the belligerent nations fighting for the Soviets would today be on different sides. Nevertheless the structure of the book is fast-paced and carries the reader along.

Where it lets itself down is in the non-existent proof-reading before publication. There are far too many errors in spelling, grammar and duplicated or missing words. I found that very irritating because it made me wonder every time I came across a sentence in which I had to make some mental adjustment myself if the author had paused for a tea break at that point, or incompletely deleted something that he had previously written. A decent edit would be rewarding for the reader. One or two mistakes, even in professionally published books, are understandable but this series contains far too many, which is a shame. But for that I would probably have given it another star. One thing which does come through loud and clear is the author's contempt for politicians and their attitude towards the armed services and the police, both of whom they then rely on to clear up their mess. In that I have complete sympathy.

On the whole an enjoyable read if you can live with the mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Technically very detailed, this is a good story., 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this book - It is a well thought out plot with good character development. I am not in favour of the "All politicians are useless" scripting, as it becomes too one-sided in the telling. The book however has some very real characters, who you are interested in following. Some of the detail is a little to technical, but i am happy to skip-ahead when it gets that way. Well worth a read, and more thna happy to work my way through the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Fight Through' (Armageddon's Song Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
The first 2 parts were available when I found the series. Had to wait for this part, but it was well worth the wait.

I have found all the books in the series are an excellent read and hard to put down.

Looking forward to part 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Fight Through' (Armageddon's Song Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Absolutely fantastic. I cannot praise Mr Farman's novels enough and cannot wait to see the next addition (perhaps conclusion) to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews