Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional debut novel.
This is a combined murder-mystery/political thriller/historical novel all rolled together in a page-turning romp through the streets of Elizabethan London.
John Lovat, the very likeable hero and detective in this story, was born on the wrong side of the sheets, much to his detriment. His father was titled, his mother a maid, and his half-brother, Robert, got the...
Published 3 months ago by Jenny Lloyd author of Leap the...

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good a Little slow at times
Published 3 days ago by michael ellis


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional debut novel., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Murderous Affair (Kindle Edition)
This is a combined murder-mystery/political thriller/historical novel all rolled together in a page-turning romp through the streets of Elizabethan London.
John Lovat, the very likeable hero and detective in this story, was born on the wrong side of the sheets, much to his detriment. His father was titled, his mother a maid, and his half-brother, Robert, got the fortune and the title when their father died. In Robert’s domain, his illegitimate half-brother’s status is below his servants in the pecking order. Following the murder of a guest at his brother’s house, John is called upon to use his detective skills to solve the murder. John is drawn into a web of political intrigue and treachery.
Not many writers would be so bold as to combine so many genres in one story but Johathan Digby achieves this with aplomb. Mystery, suspense, humour, romance, and fabulous historical detail; this novel has them all. That this is the author’s debut novel makes his achievement all the more remarkable. The quality and quantity of historical detail woven seamlessly into the story is exceptional. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A read that is hard to put down., 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Murderous Affair (Kindle Edition)
This descriptions and narrative in this book enables the reader to imagine a rich picture of life in the Tudor period of history whilst exploring and solving a murderous affair. The continuous action keeps the reader on their toes and there are periods of fast moving action making the book impossible to put down. This book would suit crime readers adding a new dimension of the historical theme. I sincerely recommend this book as a good read over a weekend ; make sure you have sandwiches made as you will not be able to put it down! a great first novel- thank you Jonathan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murderously intense, 14 Oct 2013
This review is from: A Murderous Affair (Kindle Edition)
I'm not usually a fan of historical literature. This book has changed my mind! Rapidly paced, it immerses you in Elizabethan London completely. Clearly a massive amount of research has been undertaken as the detail is amazing. Highly recommend this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good story, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: A Murderous Affair (Kindle Edition)
i read alot of historical and crime fiction and this ranks with the best. i couldn't tell whodunit, will you? so glad it ends with the promise of more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great murder mystery, 15 Oct 2013
This review is from: A Murderous Affair (Kindle Edition)
A big fan of crime fiction and the twists and turns in this murder mystery kept me interested the whole way through the novel. The inclusion of characters like Walsingham gave it a firm rooting within the Elizabethan period and the twist at the end made for a very unexpected yet exciting ending. I believe this is the author's first novel and I think it was a job well done. Enjoyed reading A Murderous Affair very much and would recommend as a weekend read for the cold wintery months ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A marvellous novel from an exciting author, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Murderous Affair (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish. Set in Elizabethan London, it tells the story of John Lovat, a young man who is rudely awakened from his drunken slumber one morning to assist with investigating the murder of a foreigner in London.

As the story progresses, the story surrounding the dead man becomes murkier. Lovat's own brother is implicated and Lovat himself must fight to stay alive as he is drawn ever deeper into the criminal world of Elizabethan England. He must use all his wits and the few true friends he has to stay one step ahead of those who intend him harm. Can he stay safe, or will he too become just another casualty in this complicated affair?

I thought the story was gripping and exciting, with plenty of twists and turns and some wonderful, memorable characters. The author has clearly meticulously researched the history of Elizabethan times and this is apparent in the colourful, real and vivid descriptions he gives. They drew me, as the reader, into the world of Elizabethan London and it became alive to me.

Jonathan Digby is an author to watch out for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Murderous Affair (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The settings, the characters and the intrigues of the court of Elizabeth I made for a great tale and a book I could not put down. I do hope Jonathan Digby carries on this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read. a real page turner, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Murderous Affair (Kindle Edition)
From beginning to end a genuine page turner. The world of Elizabethan England is beautifully crafted and the reader is transported back in time to witness murder and intrigue encompassing all levels of society both here and abroad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classi mystery, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Murderous Affair (Kindle Edition)
A great mystery tale evocative of the age. It keeps moving at a pace and has several twists in the telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast paced well set detective rampage through Elizabeth England, 8 Nov 2013
By 
R. Clayton (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Murderous Affair (Kindle Edition)
What an absolute gem of a book! From the characters both real and imaged, through the exciting and dangerous ladies, the use of old English words, the double dealing plot all set against the wonderfully described backdrop of Elizabeth London! A rip roaring yarn, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Murderous Affair
A Murderous Affair by Jonathan Digby
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews