Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best fresh faced comedy so far this century
Some Girls starts well with one of the best theme tunes in a long time and then continues in show casing brilliant acting, script, storyline and comedic timing Tony Hancock would have been proud of. This is the wonderful comedy of how ridiculous normal life is at times. It takes a real sharp look at the truth behind being a teenage girl 21st century style. This is the...
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Desperately wants to be The Inbetweeners. . .but isn't.
The headline says it all; Some Girls is your basic Inbetweeners rip - off. Except it is only about one percent as funny.
Typical of most things written by Bernadette Davis (who brought us the awful The Wilsons) most of the jokes fall short of the mark, and her characters range from likeable (Saz) to irritating (Holly).
Ultimately, Some Girls isn't THAT bad, but...
Published 1 day ago by Richard Marriott


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best fresh faced comedy so far this century, 26 Oct 2013
This review is from: Some Girls [DVD] (DVD)
Some Girls starts well with one of the best theme tunes in a long time and then continues in show casing brilliant acting, script, storyline and comedic timing Tony Hancock would have been proud of. This is the wonderful comedy of how ridiculous normal life is at times. It takes a real sharp look at the truth behind being a teenage girl 21st century style. This is the tale of four girls surviving school, bitchy blondes, over sexed boys and families less than perfect. Having been a teenage girl and the mother of one I instantly recognised a lot of the characters and their situations. The boys love it too, this is not just for the girls. At last something honestly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Do you want one of my mum's tablets? They're really calming."..., 13 Feb 2014
By 
D'mo (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Girls [DVD] (DVD)
I don't usually make much time for tv shows, let alone new comedy. My comedy heroes belong to a different era - Rising Damp, Porridge, Citizen Smith, Fawlty Towers - or belong to specific moments in my life, like Spaced. I think it might be a generational thing, as almost every new sitcom (from this side of the pond at least) is in my grouchy eyes as funny as anesthetic-free dental surgery; I've been a stupid teenaged lad once already, so all the stupid, sweary, sexually-inept, drunken, vomity antics of lads don't entertain me. I've lived that sitcom and I don't need the reruns. Modern comedy was something of a dead end to me. Then four teenaged girls came along, and gave me hope for the future.

Viva Bennett is a not-so-average schoolgirl from a London estate, trying to get through the usual pitfalls of grades and boys. Her support in life comes from her best friends; the aggressive and sweary Holli, the sarcastic and tightly-wound Saz, and the dim-but-nice Amber. Viva's home life is far from easy, least of all because her father has taken her cranky PE teacher in as his girlfriend, and dropped the bombshell they're expecting a baby. The other girls have their own issues; Amber has a possesive, sex-mad boyfriend she can't bring herself to dump, Holli is more or less bringing up her brothers and sisters by herself, and Saz is chafing under her strict Sikh upbringing. Together though, they might just make it through their teens without getting kicked out of school, going mental or getting pregnant.

Yes, Some Girls does sound like a pretty standard sitcom. It really isn't though. Sure, it has a sprinkling of crass, vulgar humour, a lot of swearing, and some questionable examples are occasionally set, but they are all part of a teenaged life that is completely real and recognisable. It rarely strays into complete caricature, unlike a lot of other "youth" comedies, and it's not obsessed with bodily functions (probably because the characters are female, and less likely to get into truly stupid scrapes). It also has a lot of heart to it; there's a very genuine warmth in the writing, and this in turn makes the whole thing a lot more real. Sitcoms tend to be by nature pretty throwaway things, there for a half hour of entertainment and not much more, but the knowing portrayal of friendship makes this series stand head and shoulders above many, many other series in the same vein. Another strong point comes from the four principles. While all of them perform with considerable skill and verve, Alice Feldgate's Amber is one of the most adorably thick characters to ever grace the small screen, and Natasha Jonas's Holli is absolutely wonderful when she flies into a rage about, well, pretty much anything.

Sure, this is a truly bias review. I fell in love with this series after one episode. Because of the theme, it draws a lot of comparisons to The Inbetweeners, but I'm yet to fall in love with that show in the slightest. For some reason, Some Girls just works (perhaps because it is a lot more grounded and believable). It shows restraint where it should, and behind the lipgloss and school uniforms, manages to show a funny side to teenage life from a perspective that is often missing from these kinds of sitcoms: a female one. This one series about some funny girls is for me now the reason I pay the Licence Fee. Not a bad job, Aunty Beeb. Here's to a couple more series of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious...., 28 April 2014
By 
Mrs. S. J. Brooks "Fenderstrat1" (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Girls [DVD] (DVD)
for anyone who has seen second series and loved it, this is equally hilarious. Some of the characters I can relate to when I think of my school days. Were we really that dense.....?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Girls [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series, it so funny, wacky and is basically the female version of the imbetweeners, would recommend to anyone who wants a laugh at something a bit rude
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some girls, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Girls [DVD] (DVD)
very funny and great value for money, one of my daughters favourite programmes of all time. Thankyou very much. Julie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Girls, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Girls [DVD] (DVD)
O.M.G funny can't wait to buy season 2/3[not made yet!]like them all,told all mates about this.Good acting though out,more eps would be nice?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Girls so funny, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Girls [DVD] (DVD)
well what can i say a mad series with comic genius all the way through it you will laugh that much you will cry -you have been warned ​
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Girls [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this when it was on TV so just had to buy the series. Cracks me up every time i watch it (especially Amber & Holli) :) x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Girls [DVD] (DVD)
Absolute genius show! If you haven't seen it yet, buy it now! Totally not the kind of show I'd usually watch and like, but the brilliant script and acting make this one a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Some Girls [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched the second series on TV we bought the first series on DVD for our daughter for Xmas. Like female Inbetweeners these girls are trying to cope with love and life. Very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Some Girls [DVD]
Some Girls [DVD] by Adelayo Adedayo (DVD - 2013)
£6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews