Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars63
3.9 out of 5 stars
Platform: PC|Edition: Day-One Edition|Change
Price:£10.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2014
A little and personal overview of "Thief", the 2014 reboot of this legendary franchise, available for XBOX (ONE - 360), PC, PLAYSTATION (3 - 4)

Pros
+ The art direction is good and faithful to the previous chapters
+ You can choose your own style (be ghost and leave no traces, knock out your enemies with the blackjack, etc.)
+ The bow and the various arrows are back!
+ There is a customizable difficulty level with various options (you can't knock out a guard, you can't use lethal arrows, etc.)
+ The overall "flow" of the various movements that Garrett can do is good (the running, the crawling, etc. feels natural)
+ The new "dash" movement can be a real "life saver"!
+ The first person perspective is good (you can see garrett's feet, arms, etc.)

Cons
- The story is just ok
- The NPC are not interesting
- Garrett himself have a lot of charisma but almost none backstory
- I think the PC version is not very well optimized (mainly lag and audio problems during the final cutscenes...)
- The final boss is a total joke
- You cannot cling or jump wherever you like, limiting your overall freedom
- The collectibles are nice but not very interesting
- The levels are not that big
- Your "house" is pretty much useless
- You can't pinpoint locations on the minimap
- The puzzles are relatively easy
- There is no innovation in the gameplay or in the graphics

In conclusion, "Thief" is just an okay game with a couple of interesting game mechanichs, but no real innovations like the original game...
To me, for this kind of games, a total freedom with the movements is extremely important but here is "limited", since you can only jump or cling when the game let you do that... but as an overall experience it is okay!
My advice is to pick it up for 15£ and if you enjoyed it, try "Dishonored" as well!
22 comments|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
So far I have played for about 3hrs.. The prologue and chapter one. I believe the're 8 chapters in total.. So this game isn't exactly short by any means.. I love all the customization for the HUD and difficulty. I currently have indication prompts, cross-hair and threat notification switched off for more immersion and am playing on Master base difficulty with "No kills or knockouts" and "No focus". I generally don't leave reviews for games, but this one has been slated so much.. If you love stealth this is the perfect game for you, if you don't, why did you even get a stealth game and complain about how stealthy it is?
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
Disappointing. I loved Thief III and expected the same mesmerizing story with this, but the plot feels hollow and the game is buggy.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
This is exactly what i wanted, I played the other versions of this game and i loved if. The only downside why i gave 4 stars. we gamers have to go pretty much thru hell gateway >Steam to play most games, these days! I hate Steam as much as Window Live trying to control everything and spy on gamers!!! So i just wish we will have more choice to avoid these sharks corporations in the future ; at least to some capacity, when a game is released, perhaps??! Arghhh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 September 2014
The original was ground-breaking. For its time, the graphics were pretty hot, the gameplay was... Well, Thief invented the sneak 'em up. Thief II was another deserved 5* game. Not as original as the original; how could it be; it nevertheless enlarged & improved the world and the gameplay. There was a longer interval before Thief III arrived. It wasn't as good as its predecessors; albeit enjoyable, if buggy. Ten years on & we finally get Thief IV...

It's a decent addition to the pantheon, but there are, for me, plenty of niggles with it. I'm a PC player; the console-friendly gameplay is all too obvious at times. One particular irritation is the lack of customisation that's available in controls. The minimap is too small to be useful except for orientation. The full map? There's no key for that, you have to keep going into the journal to access it; it's a real nuisance. Until, many hours in, you are familiar with the areas of the city you are traversing, you will be consulting it constantly.

Chapter 4 - all too much of the gameplay in it is console-orientated, alien to what Thief has always been about. Rushed & linear, as is an equally annoying part of Chapter 6. The Thief series has always allowed you to take your time or to make choices, or both. To suddenly remove both is jarring. Neither case is helped by the fact that the developers have, at random points, switched off manual saves (always, in the "blind rush" segments), leaving you wholly reliant on their checkpoint saves & having to re-do the same things several times till you figure out exactly what they expect you to do. Not fun.

Then there's the birds & dogs. Even when you've taken down all of the guards, they will "alert", causing you to fail the stealth achievement in chapters & missions, even though there's no-one left to alert. Not well thought out. Finally, the voice-acting is just that little below what it was. Garret, in particular, often has a nasal "gangster" twang to his voice that wasn't there before & doesn't sit well with what he has been before. A minor niggle, yes, but there are too many minor niggles...

Having said that, The City is still, very much, The City. The game is still very much entertaining. Thief IV is not quite, not quite, at the same level as I & II, not quite a 5* game. It remains intriguing & challenging. So much so, that I'm playing it again to try to find all of the stuff that I missed first time because I was concentrating on playing & enjoying the game, rather than on being a completionist! It's better than III. For all that, though, it's decent; not perfect...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 March 2014
Played on: Windows 7 64bit.
Copy protection: Steam (Internet connection required).

Having played & enjoyed all three of the previous Thief games, it's nice to finally have Garrett back after all this time & sneaking around the City landmarks once again to fill our pockets with loot. Using the accustomed style of the Thief series, first person stealth 'em up, this reboot relies on Thief: Deadly Shadows City exploration & loading screen mechanics. One big change to the series is that Garrett's voice actor from the past three games, Stephen Russell(Skyrim), is replaced with a younger Romano Orzari (Assassin's Creed 2) due to the role requiring more physical abilities, never the less he does a credible job with a reminiscent youthful Garrett voice. Despite a few issues with the game, i'm happy enough to be able to overlook most of them, as i'm having such a really great time in this new entry into the series.

Play styles:
Ghost: Leave no trace that you were ever there.
Opportunist: Use the environment to your advantage.
Predator: Kill'em all!

Strength's:
+ Built on Thief's unique premise & returning anti-hero Master Thief Garrett (personality intact).
+ Decent mix of 8 chapter main story & side quests roaming the City.
+ Stealing loot never gets old, especially with hidden treasures & mini games to crack safes etc..
+ Garrett's physical interactions with the environment offers more realism & physical presence.
+ Challenging range of AI to overcome (guard patrols, birds & dogs sensitive to movement).
+ Easy to navigate UI, newspapers & notes to read etc.. offering clues & cementing the current predicament of the time period.
+ Customizable difficulty options to suit every player (don't like the focus feature ? turn it off).
+ Choice of play styles, lethal or non-lethal, Ghost - Opportunist - Predator.
+ Good graphics, sound & voice acting.
+ New abilities like swoop are excellent additions, as are the additional tools & upgrades you can buy to suit your play style.
+ Good level design that keeps you thinking/searching how to get into places, along with tools to help you access areas in different ways or bypass traps etc...
+ Humorous writing & dialogue to eavesdrop upon.
+ Strong language/mature content adds well to the dark, Gothic, seedy underground theme.

Weaknesses:
- At release the game had huge slowdowns with Windows 64bit (was fixed in a game update since).
- Some audio, visual anomalies & guards sometimes walk into objects or get stuck out of patrol route etc...
- Story has it's up's & down's in quality, but doesn't deter from the overall experience.
- Occasional linear level design i.e forced to use rope arrows or chalk marked climbing blocks in specific places.
- Play style achievements initially feel awkward in a Thief game.
- A couple of meh boss fights, but are better implemented than Deus Ex:HE, one can be skipped by using stealth & the 2nd is pretty easy anyway.
- Strong language/mature content may upset some.

In conclusion, "nostalgia goggles off" Thief 4 is a solid return of the series keeping it's core elements intact as possible, however, it is marred by some game play/story elements & technical issues that sour the enjoyment. Which we can only hope the developers take note of & improve upon in future. If you enjoyed Thief: Deadly Shadows, Hitman 47, Dishonored, Deus Ex or Splinter Cell games that give you choices to approach objectives, then this may tickle your fancy. 4.5/5 Highly recommended.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Having got some way through the game, which needs a high spec pc to play, I am now stuck in the Clock Tower. When I try to leave for the next mission, the loading screen comes up, but then dumps me back in the tower again! The game is unplayable until this is fixed. There is some stuff on the net saying change your PC date to 8th April, and while it worked for me last night in a different part of the game, I am now truly stuck. Really disapponited and frustrated.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
Product arrived well exactly as described. However the quality of the game itself definitely requires research before purchase - it's not terrible, it's just not that good either
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Eventually gave up on this.
It became so repetitive and annoying. Navigating your way around the city is just infuriating... and how can they manage to make a fantasy city so ugly and lacklustre. Too many loading screens.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This new Eidos Thief 4 game for the PC is now called simply `Thief', and I have to say my initial Steam version of `Thief' (Thief 4 that is) recreated the first three Thief games brilliantly: the video inter-link sequences were jerky if they ran at all, and the game could be relied on to crash every 10 minutes. However, other than a nasty moment where the game crashed every time I tried to `continue' after dying (cured by updating my AMD graphics drivers I think), the bugs haven't prevented me from enjoying the game. So I now save far more regularly. With Thief 4 it seems you need a pretty hi-spec gaming PC to run it smoothly, which was the same with Thief 3 when it was first released, and my older 2.8GHz Intel Quad Core2 + Radeon 6870 1Gb graphics + 12Gb 1600MHz DDR3 RAM 64-bit Windows 7 gaming PC isn't quite up to it even with detail reduced (GameDebate rated my CPU/Graphics combo 70% of that required to run the Thief 4 game - Eidos just say the minimum is 'a high-performance dual/quad core CPU with AMD Radeon 4800 series/Nvidia GTS 25 graphics' with a 'quad i7 and GTX 660' recommended). But I still find the games playable at lower detail settings and no doubt patches will improve matters until Eidos lose interest - there's been two 100Mb Steam updates already, and I've only had the odd crash since the last update. Gameplay and visuals are fairly similar to Thief 3: Deadly Shadows, my fave because of video quality and the ultra-spooky trip to The Cradle, plus I liked sucking up to the Pagans and the Hammerites to get them on my side. Like Thief 3, this Thief game definitely moves up a notch as you get into it, although the storyline isn't as well developed as in Thief 3: The Deadly Shadows.

This game appears to follow on directly from 'The Deadly Shadows', although it's clearly set in the future as little Erin isn't so little anymore. Mind you Garret has aged well, and I soon got used to his new younger voice (the glyphs have obviously been good to him). One disappointment with Thief 4 was that Stephen Russell who voiced Garrett in the previous Thief games was replaced (sadly his build was considered unsuitable for the full performance capture techniques used to produce this new Thief game, and apparently nobody liked the thought of dubbing). But new Garret's voice has grown on me, and he even sounds a bit posh, as all the other denizens of the City are now not averse to swearing and other earthy behaviour. As well as the visibility light gem and a standard Health bar, Garret now has an upgradable 'Focus' bar as well that helps him sense traps and loot when selected. Finding out how to obtain Garret's tools like the wire cutters & razors can be trickier than stealing the Star of Auldale in 'The Bank Heist', but in fact I enjoyed playing the game without them as it's possible but a lot harder, having no shortcuts to avoid guards or traps (it limits your loot haul though). Game difficulty is highly adjustable which helps the games replay value - I've played Thief at all difficulties for 130 hours so far, and you can replay levels or major side-missions for extra coin during the campaign. Plus Garrets first person view of The City is well implemented and you can save your progress anytime provided you aren't actually under attack.

Movement controls in Thief 4 aren't great as usual, but as always I set 'walk' to left mouse and 'attack' to right mouse, and was soon running into walls like a pro (my Xbox WiFi Gamepad is supported but I prefer mousing). Set to medium difficulty the gameplay is relatively hard as you have little chance of surviving a guard attack and the guards can really shift, so if there's no nearby hidey hole you won't last long if spotted. Once they see you, guards even seem to get a night-vision goggles upgrade. However if you do get spotted, you are clearly a rubbish Thief and deserve what happens next. With a few combat upgrades though you can take out the odd guard in a melee. In Thief 4 all the classic gloomy creepy Thief locations are present, and typically they are far more creepy when no-one appears to be around. Lock picking is pretty similar to Thief 3 but with digital LEDs lighting up rather than steampunk cogs rotating. Gameplay and design is very faithful to the old Thief universe of Medieval Victorian steampunk. I don't want to say anything too much about the unfolding storyline, it's better left to the player to discover it, suffice it to say there's trouble from the City Watch guards, corrupt officials, and there's the gloom. There's quite a few side missions and there's clues lying about for safe combos and the like, although accessing the documents you have just picked up isn't as easy as it should be. The maps are pretty linear and awkward to traverse, so you do often end up running up and down the same streets, but at least the City looks gorgeous as you trot past. Garret must be generous to a fault though, as despite his mastery as a Thief his pad still looks pretty spartan.

OK since `Thief 3: The Deadly Shadows' games like Supreme Commander 1&2, StarCraft II, Bioshock/Bioshock Inifinity, TombRaider and Dishonored have captured my heart, but even I'm getting slightly pig-sick of my more recent Call of Duty games with their photocopied campaign stories, so it's great to see the maestro Garret back in action, and any company making the effort to revive Thief has to be applauded in my book, so 5*. If you are new to the Thief series I'd start with Thief 3 and then play Thief 4, as Deadly Shadow's a great game with interesting visuals and it's very cheap. Although there's nothing essential in the Thief 3 game's storyline that's required to understand or enjoy Thief 4, Thief 4 does back reference the previous games. You could say Thief pays homage to these older games, or that it nicks their best levels (either works for me). My 17 year old gaming son's not particularly a stealth steampunk fan, he's more a Bioshock, Eve On-Line and Assassins Creed gamer (and what lights your fire can be very personal), but he also enjoyed playing all four Steam Thief games as he likes retro gaming and haunted cathedrals. Although this Thief 4 game runs smoothly for him at max res, the games interlink videos still stutter on his new Sabertooth X79 4.5GHz i7 gaming monolith. Thief is rated age 16+, and once you've played through Chapter 5: The Forsaken (Moira's Asylum) alone late at night, you'll know why it got that rating.

This Thief 4 DVD case has 3 x DVDs for the full 24Gb game install, although you'll still need to register and run the game via Steam on-line and download updates. Our 'fulfilled by Amazon.co.uk' Thief came from 'Clearance Game Deals' and the DVD case sleeve was printed in every language except English, so I guess we got the European version, which included 'A Banki Melo'.. ('The Bank Heist' side mission). My DVD installed game is identical to my son's Thief game we purchased & downloaded directly from Steam.

The Thief series of stealth games consists of Thief: The Dark Project (1998), Thief II: The Metal Age (2000), Thief III: The Deadly Shadows (2004) and now this Thief (2014). An expanded version of Thief: The Dark Project, entitled 'Thief Gold' featured three extra fanbase levels, although I prefer the tighter scripted original. I'm a real `Thief' game series fan and still play all the older three games regularly - and the latest versions of 'Thief I Gold' & 'Thief II Metal Age' on Steam have the NewDark engine patches applied and now run perfectly on my Intel quad core Windows 7 64-bit gaming PC. These NewDark updates are also freely available on the internet for those with older Thief 1 & 2 game install disks. The team from Looking Glass Studios who produced the pioneering stealth game 'Thief: The Dark Project' in 1998 included Doug Church who subsequently worked on Thief II, Thief Deadly Shadows, Deus Ex, Tomb Raider Legend & Portal 2, and Ken Levine who went on to co-found Irrational Games and design the BioShock/Bioshock Infinite games. If you like the Thief series and Bioshock Inifinite also check out the excellent game 'Dishonored' on STEAM, a relatively short game that mixes stealth, Steampunk and combat all integrated into a superb storyline with a satisfying ending that Thief 4's Garret can only dream of.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)