Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stealthtastic
So far I have played for about 3hrs.. The prologue and chapter one. I believe the're 8 chapters in total.. So this game isn't exactly short by any means.. I love all the customization for the HUD and difficulty. I currently have indication prompts, cross-hair and threat notification switched off for more immersion and am playing on Master base difficulty with "No...
Published 16 months ago by VirulentPip

versus
22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thief is back!
A little and personal overview of "Thief", the 2014 reboot of this legendary franchise, available for XBOX (ONE - 360), PC, PLAYSTATION (3 - 4)

Pros
+ The art direction is good and faithful to the previous chapters
+ You can choose your own style (be ghost and leave no traces, knock out your enemies with the blackjack, etc.)
+ The bow and the...
Published 16 months ago by Nick


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thief is back!, 6 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A little and personal overview of "Thief", the 2014 reboot of this legendary franchise, available for XBOX (ONE - 360), PC, PLAYSTATION (3 - 4)

Pros
+ The art direction is good and faithful to the previous chapters
+ You can choose your own style (be ghost and leave no traces, knock out your enemies with the blackjack, etc.)
+ The bow and the various arrows are back!
+ There is a customizable difficulty level with various options (you can't knock out a guard, you can't use lethal arrows, etc.)
+ The overall "flow" of the various movements that Garrett can do is good (the running, the crawling, etc. feels natural)
+ The new "dash" movement can be a real "life saver"!
+ The first person perspective is good (you can see garrett's feet, arms, etc.)

Cons
- The story is just ok
- The NPC are not interesting
- Garrett himself have a lot of charisma but almost none backstory
- I think the PC version is not very well optimized (mainly lag and audio problems during the final cutscenes...)
- The final boss is a total joke
- You cannot cling or jump wherever you like, limiting your overall freedom
- The collectibles are nice but not very interesting
- The levels are not that big
- Your "house" is pretty much useless
- You can't pinpoint locations on the minimap
- The puzzles are relatively easy
- There is no innovation in the gameplay or in the graphics

In conclusion, "Thief" is just an okay game with a couple of interesting game mechanichs, but no real innovations like the original game...
To me, for this kind of games, a total freedom with the movements is extremely important but here is "limited", since you can only jump or cling when the game let you do that... but as an overall experience it is okay!
My advice is to pick it up for 15£ and if you enjoyed it, try "Dishonored" as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stealthtastic, 28 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
So far I have played for about 3hrs.. The prologue and chapter one. I believe the're 8 chapters in total.. So this game isn't exactly short by any means.. I love all the customization for the HUD and difficulty. I currently have indication prompts, cross-hair and threat notification switched off for more immersion and am playing on Master base difficulty with "No kills or knockouts" and "No focus". I generally don't leave reviews for games, but this one has been slated so much.. If you love stealth this is the perfect game for you, if you don't, why did you even get a stealth game and complain about how stealthy it is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taffer's delight, 1 Aug. 2014
By 
Sophy's Mum (Buckinghamshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have played all the previous Thief games many times over. I just love crawling around in the shadows and creeping over the rooftops of the city getting that 'kerching' when I acquire loot. This game is very like Assassin's Creed in looks. I love Garrett's leather bound look, although it is a shame the person voicing it isn't the same. This comes with the extra Bank Heist mission, from Steam to add to the fun. There have been a few bugs whilst playing, but Googling the problems came up with fixes. You can play each mission again if you've failed to reach all the goals, and play at different skill levels. I must admit to finding this quite addictive. If you like stealth games you will love this. Make sure your rig is up to the task, and update your graphics card drivers to get best results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is one of those games you could play for weeks let alone hours. Engrossing story line, great playabilty and in keeping with previous Thief games. This is a must and well worth the money. I highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is alright and the graphics are really good but I think that they could have got a ..., 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
It is alright and the graphics are really good but I think that they could have got a better storyline that wasn't so dark and I am stuck I cant come down from this tunnel and could have been improved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent, rather than perfect, 15 Sept. 2014
By 
Mike Watkinson (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The original was ground-breaking. For its time, the graphics were pretty hot, the gameplay was... Well, Thief invented the sneak 'em up. Thief II was another deserved 5* game. Not as original as the original; how could it be; it nevertheless enlarged & improved the world and the gameplay. There was a longer interval before Thief III arrived. It wasn't as good as its predecessors; albeit enjoyable, if buggy. Ten years on & we finally get Thief IV...

It's a decent addition to the pantheon, but there are, for me, plenty of niggles with it. I'm a PC player; the console-friendly gameplay is all too obvious at times. One particular irritation is the lack of customisation that's available in controls. The minimap is too small to be useful except for orientation. The full map? There's no key for that, you have to keep going into the journal to access it; it's a real nuisance. Until, many hours in, you are familiar with the areas of the city you are traversing, you will be consulting it constantly.

Chapter 4 - all too much of the gameplay in it is console-orientated, alien to what Thief has always been about. Rushed & linear, as is an equally annoying part of Chapter 6. The Thief series has always allowed you to take your time or to make choices, or both. To suddenly remove both is jarring. Neither case is helped by the fact that the developers have, at random points, switched off manual saves (always, in the "blind rush" segments), leaving you wholly reliant on their checkpoint saves & having to re-do the same things several times till you figure out exactly what they expect you to do. Not fun.

Then there's the birds & dogs. Even when you've taken down all of the guards, they will "alert", causing you to fail the stealth achievement in chapters & missions, even though there's no-one left to alert. Not well thought out. Finally, the voice-acting is just that little below what it was. Garret, in particular, often has a nasal "gangster" twang to his voice that wasn't there before & doesn't sit well with what he has been before. A minor niggle, yes, but there are too many minor niggles...

Having said that, The City is still, very much, The City. The game is still very much entertaining. Thief IV is not quite, not quite, at the same level as I & II, not quite a 5* game. It remains intriguing & challenging. So much so, that I'm playing it again to try to find all of the stuff that I missed first time because I was concentrating on playing & enjoying the game, rather than on being a completionist! It's better than III. For all that, though, it's decent; not perfect...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars However the quality of the game itself definitely requires research before purchase - it's not terrible, it's just not that good, 12 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Product arrived well exactly as described. However the quality of the game itself definitely requires research before purchase - it's not terrible, it's just not that good either
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Game, and for this price you can't go ..., 5 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Brilliant Game, and for this price you can't go wrong! It is very linear but the graphics are intense! and the game play is really nice and smooth with exciting missions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as great as it should have been., 1 Mar. 2014
By 
Tom Brown "tommybear" (gloucester, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Its a bit of a mixed bag for me this game, it reminds me more of Deadly shadows than the original Dark project with its smaller areas and loading screens but if you can learn to live with that its really very good. The combat is good but really a Thief game shouldn't be about that and I think the developers have tried to hard to make it an action/stealth game instead of just a stealth game. Veterans of the originals will want to play on the harder difficulty setting to try to balance this. On the positive side the new Garret works better than I thought he would (not quite the girly stick insect I was fearing) and the graphics are great, if your determined to remain undetected though the levels then gameplay is much the same as the previous games in the series. Most areas have multiple routes and the available side quests really flesh out the game.

After playing through the game I can only say I'm bitterly disappointed, my initial thoughts on the game have now turned to frustration as the game continually forces you to take a pre-determined path. The original games always allowed many approaches and access points, and even when the level design forced you down a single route it never felt so contrived. Lazy game design after all they did a better job in 1999, buy the originals and try to look past the dated graphics its much more rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Game with Super Graphics and Immersive Gameplay, 2 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I Pre-ordered this game on Steam because I had played all 3 previous games in the Thief franchise and thoroughly enjoyed each of them. Like many people I was a little apprehensive as to whether Eidos would manage to create the same feeling within the game that Thief fans know and love since there had been such a long 10 year gap between this game and the previous release (Thief: Deadly Shadows) in 2004. However, in my opinion at least they have succeeded, creating yet another excellent Thief experience which gives the player enormous satisfaction, especially when you manage to complete an entire chapter without being detected! Many of the characters and areas of the city in the game are the same as in previous Thief games which is good as it still makes you feel you are playing an actual Thief game, e.g. Stonemarket, The Clock Tower, South Quarter etc.

Contrary to some of the other reviews I have read about the game being unstable and regularly crashing, in my experience at least (about 12 hours so far) the game has been running perfectly smooth and hasn't crashed on me once. Yes, there are one or two small bugs in the game, particularly with the sound but honestly they aren't that noticeable and I'm sure Eidos will already be working on fixes for them.

The game is most similar to the 3rd Thief game in that it is partially open-world and when not completing the main story line, the player can explore 'The City' and undertake side-quests for various people. The story-line is very immersive and well written and some of the chapters are really rather spooky, in fact it's as good a horror game, if not better than many which actually claim to be horror genre games.

Overall, I would Highly Recommend getting this game, particularly for fans of RPG/Horror/Stealth based games and I would say it is essential for anyone who has enjoyed playing the previous 3 Thief games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thief (PC DVD)
Thief (PC DVD) by Square Enix (Windows Vista)
£5.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews