Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent, not perfect
The original was ground-breaking. For its time, the graphics were pretty hot, the gameplay was... Well, Thief invented the sneak 'em up. Thief II was another deserved 5* game. Not as original as the original; how could it be; it nevertheless enlarged & improved the world and the gameplay. There was a longer interval before Thief III arrived. It wasn't as good as its...
Published 5 days ago by Mr M.R.Watkinson

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thief is back!
A little and personal overview of "Thief", the 2014 reboot of this legendary franchise, available for XBOX (ONE - 360), PC, PLAYSTATION (3 - 4)

Pros
+ The art direction is good and faithful to the previous chapters
+ You can choose your own style (be ghost and leave no traces, knock out your enemies with the blackjack, etc.)
+ The bow and the...
Published 6 months ago by Nick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thief is back!, 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A little and personal overview of "Thief", the 2014 reboot of this legendary franchise, available for XBOX (ONE - 360), PC, PLAYSTATION (3 - 4)

Pros
+ The art direction is good and faithful to the previous chapters
+ You can choose your own style (be ghost and leave no traces, knock out your enemies with the blackjack, etc.)
+ The bow and the various arrows are back!
+ There is a customizable difficulty level with various options (you can't knock out a guard, you can't use lethal arrows, etc.)
+ The overall "flow" of the various movements that Garrett can do is good (the running, the crawling, etc. feels natural)
+ The new "dash" movement can be a real "life saver"!
+ The first person perspective is good (you can see garrett's feet, arms, etc.)

Cons
- The story is just ok
- The NPC are not interesting
- Garrett himself have a lot of charisma but almost none backstory
- I think the PC version is not very well optimized (mainly lag and audio problems during the final cutscenes...)
- The final boss is a total joke
- You cannot cling or jump wherever you like, limiting your overall freedom
- The collectibles are nice but not very interesting
- The levels are not that big
- Your "house" is pretty much useless
- You can't pinpoint locations on the minimap
- The puzzles are relatively easy
- There is no innovation in the gameplay or in the graphics

In conclusion, "Thief" is just an okay game with a couple of interesting game mechanichs, but no real innovations like the original game...
To me, for this kind of games, a total freedom with the movements is extremely important but here is "limited", since you can only jump or cling when the game let you do that... but as an overall experience it is okay!
My advice is to pick it up for 15£ and if you enjoyed it, try "Dishonored" as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent, not perfect, 15 Sep 2014
By 
Mr M.R.Watkinson (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The original was ground-breaking. For its time, the graphics were pretty hot, the gameplay was... Well, Thief invented the sneak 'em up. Thief II was another deserved 5* game. Not as original as the original; how could it be; it nevertheless enlarged & improved the world and the gameplay. There was a longer interval before Thief III arrived. It wasn't as good as its predecessors; albeit enjoyable, if buggy. Ten years on & we finally get Thief IV...

It's a decent addition to the pantheon, but there are, for me, plenty of niggles with it. I'm a PC player; its console nature is all too obvious at times. One particular irritation is the lack of customisation that's available in controls. The minimap is too small to be useful except for orientation. The full map? There's no key for that, you have to keep going into the journal to access it; it's a real nuisance. Until, many hours in, you are familiar with the areas of the city you are traversing, you will be consulting it constantly.

Chapter 4 - all too much of the gameplay in it is console-orientated, alien to what Thief has always been about. Rushed & linear, as is an equally annoying part of Chapter 6. Thief has always allowed you to take your time or to make choices, or both. To suddenly remove both is jarring. Neither case is helped by the fact that the developers, in their finite wisdom, decide at random points to switch off manual saves (always, in the "blind rush" segments), leaving you wholly reliant on their checkpoint saves & having to re-do the same things several times till you figure out exactly what they expect you to do. Not fun. And Garret? The voice-acting is just that little below what it was across the board. Garret, in particular, often has a nasal "gangster" twang to his voice that wasn't there before & doesn't sit well with what he has been before. A minor niggle, yes, but there are too many minor niggles...

Having said that, The City is still, very much, The City. The game is still very much entertaining. Thief IV is not quite, not quite, at the same level as I & II, not quite a 5* game. It remains intriguing & challenging, and it's better than III. For all that, though, it's decent; not perfect...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Taffer's delight, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Sophy's Mum (Buckinghamshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have played all the previous Thief games many times over. I just love crawling around in the shadows and creeping over the rooftops of the city getting that 'kerching' when I acquire loot. This game is very like Assassin's Creed in looks. I love Garrett's leather bound look, although it is a shame the person voicing it isn't the same. This comes with the extra Bank Heist mission, from Steam to add to the fun. There have been a few bugs whilst playing, but Googling the problems came up with fixes. You can play each mission again if you've failed to reach all the goals, and play at different skill levels. I must admit to finding this quite addictive. If you like stealth games you will love this. Make sure your rig is up to the task, and update your graphics card drivers to get best results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stealthtastic, 28 Feb 2014
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
So far I have played for about 3hrs.. The prologue and chapter one. I believe the're 8 chapters in total.. So this game isn't exactly short by any means.. I love all the customization for the HUD and difficulty. I currently have indication prompts, cross-hair and threat notification switched off for more immersion and am playing on Master base difficulty with "No kills or knockouts" and "No focus". I generally don't leave reviews for games, but this one has been slated so much.. If you love stealth this is the perfect game for you, if you don't, why did you even get a stealth game and complain about how stealthy it is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stealing Your Attention., 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I got this as a pressie for my bro he loved it and from what i seen of it i thought i looked quite good. Graphics are impressive on a high end pc, the story is pretty good although it is a little linear compared to the old thief games. Overall i would rate this 7/8 out of 10 it is a good exploration game and you learn from mistakes while playing, so you can try a level quite a few different ways even though the levels are not all that big. Try and rent it first and give it a go you might just like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New Thief is amazing! This hardcore Thief fan has been proved wrong!, 17 Jun 2014
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I disrespected this game since the day it was announced and now I am deeply ashamed of myself!
I only brought it because it was on sale and I wanted to see the "car crash" for myself!

The graphics :) Are so good its almost painful to look at in 1080p!
Also the interaction animations are the best I have ever seen and make the game very immerse.

The gameplay ;) Captures the feel of the original game well and also adds some nice abilities, It's also nice to play something that isn't all shooting and killing or (otherwise pwning people).

The audio :s Is ok... (The original games sound design was indescribably awesome so it can never compare).
Some of the voice acting here is not the best and it can be quite hammy in places.

Not "Thief The Dark Project" :( It really is not like original thief but... It does feel more like it than any other game since Deadly Shadows. In fact it's allot like Deadly Shadows and I would say that it's more akin to a sequel and evolution of that game rather than the original thief game(s).

Missing elements :o There are a few things missing from the game that were also missing in Deadly Shadows such as the humour (probably just rats... Rats would be a bit 'o meat) and the supernatural element(s) (Zombies, Burricks, Apparitions, Haunts, Flying Sentient Water/Fire/Air Elementals, Crayman, Giant Incests, Tree Beasts, Pagan Ape Men) that were rife in the first game and seem to have lessened with each game thereafter. Also as far as I can tell they have also removed the usage of the word Taffer... The Taffers!

If you like this game (and want to hear the word Taffer) I recommend checking out the original Thief games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly as good as original, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I bought this game with not particularly high hopes having read other reviews but was pleasantly surprised, it has good atmosphere and well implemented stealth mechanics, just kind of hoped there would be the zombies in it from the original Thief! All round excellent game and plenty of game time - it took me around 2 weeks to finish so great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I played 2 hours and lost interest, might get back into it at a later stage. Was expecting more of an open city considering this is 2014 and not 1997. I guess that's what you have to cut for top end graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Eventually gave up on this.
It became so repetitive and annoying. Navigating your way around the city is just infuriating... and how can they manage to make a fantasy city so ugly and lacklustre. Too many loading screens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good but not as great as it should have been., 1 Mar 2014
By 
Tom Brown "tommybear" (gloucester, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thief (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Its a bit of a mixed bag for me this game, it reminds me more of Deadly shadows than the original Dark project with its smaller areas and loading screens but if you can learn to live with that its really very good. The combat is good but really a Thief game shouldn't be about that and I think the developers have tried to hard to make it an action/stealth game instead of just a stealth game. Veterans of the originals will want to play on the harder difficulty setting to try to balance this. On the positive side the new Garret works better than I thought he would (not quite the girly stick insect I was fearing) and the graphics are great, if your determined to remain undetected though the levels then gameplay is much the same as the previous games in the series. Most areas have multiple routes and the available side quests really flesh out the game.

After playing through the game I can only say I'm bitterly disappointed, my initial thoughts on the game have now turned to frustration as the game continually forces you to take a pre-determined path. The original games always allowed many approaches and access points, and even when the level design forced you down a single route it never felt so contrived. Lazy game design after all they did a better job in 1999, buy the originals and try to look past the dated graphics its much more rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thief (PC DVD)
Thief (PC DVD) by Square Enix (Windows Vista)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews