Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new edition that removes the niggling problems from the original game
DEUS EX: HUMAN REVOLUTION is a cyberpunk RPG set in 2027 in Detroit and Hengsha, China. You play Adam Jensen, a security specialist gunned down in a terrorist attack on his employer's labratory. His life is saved by augmentation, have limbs and other parts of his body replaced by cybernetic enhancements. As the game proceeds you have to investigate the terrorist attack...
Published 8 months ago by A. Whitehead

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It s a good story but the game play could be better
I was expecting something like the mass effect saga. The story as probably as good (did not finish it yet) but the game play is different. Closer to a splinter cell or a hitman I assume where u d better be quiet rather than to shoot whatever moves. And even this is better in a hitman.
So entertaining but not the game of the year
Published 3 months ago by olimen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new edition that removes the niggling problems from the original game, 4 Nov 2013
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
DEUS EX: HUMAN REVOLUTION is a cyberpunk RPG set in 2027 in Detroit and Hengsha, China. You play Adam Jensen, a security specialist gunned down in a terrorist attack on his employer's labratory. His life is saved by augmentation, have limbs and other parts of his body replaced by cybernetic enhancements. As the game proceeds you have to investigate the terrorist attack and deal with a number of side-missions whilst learning how to use your new powers and abilities. Released in 2011, the game attracted considerable critical acclaim for it's open-ended gameplay (you can deal with situations via stealth, combat, hacking or a mixture of the three) but also some criticism for a series of unavoidable boss fights which forced you into lethal gunfights.

The Director's Cut is a re-release of the original game with a number of new features. The most notable is a set of Wii U-exclusive features which make excellent use of that console's touch-screen controller, allowing players to hack computers and refer to their map, quest log or inventory without switching out of the main view. I haven't seen these features in operation, but other reviews indicate they are well-implemented.

Of more interest to PC and other console players are the upgrades to the actual gameplay. The most notable of these is that The Missing Link DLC - which takes place about two-thirds through the original game - has been integrated into the main narrative. There are good and bad points to this. First, if you haven't played The Missing Link before it adds about 4-5 hours of gameplay set on a remote base in the middle of the ocean. It adds new environments and enemy types and, like the main game, a series of situations to resolve through combat, hacking, stealth or a combination of all three. There's also some tough moral choices. The DLC integrates into the main storyline quite well, with Jensen's continuing investigation into the attack on Sarif Industries informing the expansion. Unfortunately, the expansion's biggest weakness remains: it removes all of your augments and upgrades, forcing you back into the state you were at the start of the game. This makes the first half of the DLC a chore as you rebuild your skill set back up to something useful. The Director's Cut really should have eliminated this tiresome mechanic (originally necessary because it was played separately from the main game) and allowed you to continue with your existing inventory and skill set. Still, once it kicks into gear it's a very worthy expansion to the game.

The second notable change is to the boss battles. Much-criticised in the original game, The Director's Cut reworks them so each boss can now also be defeated by stealth or hacking as well as direct combat. Unfortunately, defeating the third boss, Jaron Namir, requires hacking skills. Depending on a choice made earlier in the game, your augments may be completely offline during this battle, making hacking impossible and forcing you to defeat him in direct combat. Fortunately, as this battle comes shortly after The Missing Link, in which you can acquire a powerful missile launcher which can take Namir down in just a couple of hits, the developers have a way around it.

Eidos Montreal also claim to have upgraded the game's graphics. To be frank, this claim seems dubious. The textures seem identical, the lighting and shadows appear to be the same and the character models are still the mixed bag they were in 2011. The console versions may indeed look better, but the PC version appears to be identical to the original release.

Finally, the game adds a 'Game+' mode in which your augment loadout continues into a new game. This is a nice touch if you plan to replay at the hardest difficulty level (which is notably more punishing), but given you can max out 90% of your augments in a single playthrough, it will leave you as an almost unbeatable tank during the replay.

Deus Ex: Human Revolution - The Director's Cut improves on the original game, but it's more of a series of minor upgrades than a major transformation of the whole game. If you've already completed the game (iffy boss fights and all) and The Missing Link, it's questionable if there is enough here to make it worthwhile, especially on console where you have to re-buy the entire game. Wii U users will likely enjoy it tremendously as a rare and much-needed example of what their console can do. PC players, however, will find that the Director's Cut is an extremely cheap upgrade on Steam if they already own the original game and The Missing Link, in which case it's a no-brainer.

For new players who have never experienced the game before, the improvements remove the original game's most annoying niggles and leave it as a cyberpunk RPG masterpiece it aspired to be. If you haven't played the game before, the Director's Cut (*****) is a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
When I used to play my 360 back in 2011, I remember buying this game on release, hating it initially, I decided to play it again and now it's one of my favourite games of all time next to Dark Souls, GTA Vice City and Half Life 2, the game is brilliant. I built my PC back in 2012 and have been meaning to play some old favourites on the 360 and my god is this game beautiful at 1080p Maxed out at 60 FPS. I urge you to buy it and also urge you to put thought in it, this game expects you to think outside the box, which is the reason why I hated it initially back on my first playthough. The directors cut also has the Missing Link (a very good expansion) but merges it in with the base game giving it a seamless feel. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game made better, 17 Feb 2014
By 
E. Mika - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
You should get this for the addons alone, if you missed them.

Most likely this will be cheaper than getting them for the base game on Steam (and this copy goes straight to Steam if you want to).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Game with Tonnes of replayability., 27 Jan 2014
By 
Robert Craig - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The Director's Cut merges together both Deus Ex: Human Revolution and the Missing Link DLC (Downloadable Content) in an almost seamless fashion.

Excellent storyline with bonus commentary that will keep you entertained for hours on end and shows some real insight into the making of the game as you progress through it and makes it a whole lot more enjoyable. I have currently played 265 hours on it and just finished my third play-through (maximum difficulty, Pacifist and Factory Zero achievements) Somehow missed the Foxiest of Hounds (Set off no alarms) so will be playing it through from the beginning again!

Links straight into steam to save your save games to the cloud and upload screenshots as well as updates and achievements.

The only downside is (which I found to be a real annoyance but didn't really warrant loosing a star) was you can only have 99 active save games. To preserve any others you have to copy them out of the steam folder and save them elsewhere, Which in the end I gave up with and spent a good half hour deleting any saves I didn't absolutely need.The most logical way round this I suppose is to just do a save game at the start of each "level/mission" and use F5 to quick save through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
After reading previous reviews I decided to buy Deus Ex and can honestly say that I’m not disappointed. This game has good graphics along with a story line that kept you interested. You can also play in different modes from a stealth approach or all guns blazing. There are also various upgrades for the central character who is quite likable. So if you want to while away a few hours…buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect, 7 Jan 2014
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I played Deus Ex HR to death after buying it so was eager to try the Directors Cut.

Essentially what you get so far as extra/altered gameplay is revised boss missions, the Tong son rescue (I already had this with my original version) and the "Missing Link" DLC integrated into the game.

There are some other minor changes, such as having two energy bars by default rather than one, which makes invisibility and stealth an easier option if you want a non-lethal or minimum lethal play through.

So far as the boss missions are concerned, I have to say the changes didn't seem that effective. So far as the first boss is concerned, at that point in the game you probably don't have the hacking skill or spare unlocking devices to operate the security console in the added area. In any event, the antagonist just spams you with grenades (a la Call Of Duty) so there's not really much to be gained by avoiding the direct battle.

Second boss I never got into the hidden area as by the time I'd tried hacking or unlocking the door, she was pummelling me so once again it was two blasts on the Typhoon to take care of business.

Third boss, by that stage you've got more unlocking devices than you need and I was able to activate the "indirect" method. However I still had to finish him off with a bullet to the head.

So far as the "Missing Link" is concerned, ho hum. Not a bad mission with a particularly challenging moral choice towards the end. The big problem as has been noted is that you start off stripped of your weapons and most of your nano-upgrades making anything other than a lethal approach fairly impractical. You do get access to your weapons after a period of time but smaller inventory means you are forced to leave some of them behind (and AFAIK you can't reclaim them after leaving that point). So the chances are you lose the Laser Rifle or Grenade Launcher you were saving for Boss 3. Just to clarify though at the end of the level you do get your non-weapon items back and all your Praxis points, but the mission itself requires careful resource management against some pretty tough enemies.

The Missing Link story also seems grafted not entirely smoothly into the original plot. Lots of reveals and other things hinted at, but when you're back in the main game no reference to it. The Singapore and Panchea missions should have been re-written or re-structured to reflect the changed storyline - the last levels were always a bit out on a limb with no access to side missions or shops (other than the Panchea Limb Clinic) and this could have addressed the balance.

So overall, not bad. Having played a lethal game I'm looking to play through again using stealth, but not sure how that will fit with the DLC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (PC DVD), 12 Dec 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I tend not to play games with killing, this game though allows the player to use stealth, which I always find fun, also there are dialogue options to resolve problems with certain characters!
I prefer games with open world, and although every part of the game isn't open at once, the maps in down time are pretty expansive and open, also, when there's an objective map like a building you've been flown to, upon reaching the end, you can still choose to travel back to the beginning!
There are gun runners in the game in each area, also there are weapons and ammo in certain locations that you can sell to the runners in order to buy stuff like Praxis kits from Limb clinics, or energy bars to enable enhancements to work longer! If selling guns though, just remember, they don't stack, having one type of weapon in your inventory, upon picking up another all you get is the bullets within that weapon, if you're willing to do the leg work, you can sell individual guns and make more money!
The game crashes every time I play, however it also saves automatically, as well as there being a choice of hard save of quick save! I personally choose a hard save for beginning a new area, and quick save just before an action, like hacking a pc, or moving from behind cover! When I first started playing, the game movement was jerky, upon turning off shadows it stopped, weird thing is, it's the detail of shadows that stopped not the in game shadows, and I can't see any difference!
I hope this was at least part helpful to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It s a good story but the game play could be better, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I was expecting something like the mass effect saga. The story as probably as good (did not finish it yet) but the game play is different. Closer to a splinter cell or a hitman I assume where u d better be quiet rather than to shoot whatever moves. And even this is better in a hitman.
So entertaining but not the game of the year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (PC DVD) game, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The game play is ok but I thought the quality of the sound is weak especialy with the gun fire, worth buying at this low price 6
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (PC DVD)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews