Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique world with great stealth touches and combat refinement
Dishonored is an excellent stealth game with a steampunk style, a story of political intrigue, great gameplay mechanics and clear influences from other games that it builds upon. It presents its world in a unique visual style that brings its characters and locations to life.

You play the role of Corvo, the Empress's bodyguard. After her assassination you are...
Published 8 months ago by Frederick Barnstaple

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's alright but nothing amazing
This review will probably be unpopular with the fans but that's alright. We all have different opinions and I'm only adding mine here for people still unsure about the game. They may or may not like it and might fall into the same boat as me here. Let me get started with the actual gameplay first:

It's amazing. The combat (i.e swordplay) is solid and very...
Published 9 months ago by GloryStrength


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique world with great stealth touches and combat refinement, 29 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Dishonored is an excellent stealth game with a steampunk style, a story of political intrigue, great gameplay mechanics and clear influences from other games that it builds upon. It presents its world in a unique visual style that brings its characters and locations to life.

You play the role of Corvo, the Empress's bodyguard. After her assassination you are framed for her murder and must escape prison, seek allies and start the fight back against the plotters who have seized power.

The first-person sneaking and exploration has some similarities to the Thief series, while the range of weapons, tactics and found items feels somewhat like Bioshock. However, Dishonored always has new ideas to explore.

You come across runes that can level up your powers, allowing you to teleport, possess enemies or have them devoured by a swarm of rats. You also pick up bone charms that provide useful enhancements. Because of your powers of stealth and attack, combined with areas that have multiple routes, there are many ways to approach a mission. Combat is good and feels physical, such as blocking sword blows or attacking someone with a knife. Because a lot of your attacks are close range and through the character's eyes, taking out a target can be quite brutal. The game doesn't shy away from showing the bloody effects.

At the same time the story deals with themes of revenge, political manoeuvrings, inequality and revolution as you explore the decaying sprawl of the city of Dunwall.

Dishonored has a wonderful and unique art style influenced by Viktor Antonov who designed City 17 in Half-Life 2. It's a mix of imposing futurist architecture and 19th-century Britain, an industrial powerhouse running on whale oil and huge machines.

The effect is a bit like a 3D oil painting with soft strokes of varied colour as well as detailed shadows and bright areas highlighted. The artists have done a great job creating detailed environments such as the ragged coastline, confined streets, a palace, dark fortress, a huge bridge, the slums, prison and sewers.

The sound design is well crafted with effects for your assassinations, the noises of guards moving about their patrols and the general hum of city life. Characters are brought to life with well-done voice acting and conversations that never become dull.

There are only a few negative points to the experience. Sometimes enemy perception is a little too keen, so you can be spotted even when you think you are behind cover. The branching storyline and moral choices mean that sometimes other story elements and achievements are locked later in the game, meaning another play-through to get a different ending.

With the GOTY edition you get all of the DLC released for the game. With the Dunwall City Trials you are placed in a series of scenarios to test your puzzle, movement, stealth and combat skills in parts of a floating city.

The Knife of Dunwall and The Brigmore Witches see you play as the Empress's assassin, Daud, with a new story arc as well as abilities and tactics in combat, such as summoning an assassin to help. New areas include a whale slaughterhouse, the Legal District, Coldridge Prison and the Brigmore Estate.

The Void Walker's Arsenal comprises four pre-order item packs that provide you with bone charms and money, as well as in-game books and statues.

Overall Dishonored is a brilliant title with hours of engrossing gameplay, allowing you numerous play styles and brings together the solid main story with some excellent extra content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dishonored:Game of The Year no kidding, 14 Oct 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i bought Dishonored: game of the year edition because i heard so many good things about this game but never actually played it and getting bundled with all dlc with it is a steal.

After playing it constantly and finishing it i was satisfied with the game completely, the choice in gameplay was brilliant with a huge variety of ways to play adding tons of replaybility to the game.

The dlc is also really good the void walkers aresnal makes the game so much easier and the bonus money really helps new players to the game. the knife of dunwall and brigmore witches are also very good playing as the Assassin Daud was a cool experince and adds a new perspective to the dishonored world. Finally the dunwall city trials are decent and challenging and can help further develop skills with your magic, weapons and stealth skills.

If you have yet to play dishonored now is the perfect chance the full game and dlc together is definitely worth the price and with tons of replaybility you will be coming back for more. This is one of the game of the year games that definitely earned its goty title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
"Ridiculously good" according to the 13 year old player of this game, on a par with Skyrim and Assassins Creed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun! Must buy for any Gamer, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I don't normally like games that ask the player to be stealth I normally mess it up and have to blast my way throw the hordes of enemies that came to check out the notice, this game allows the player to choice if they want to go full stealth or guns blazing or even a mixture of the two the game wont punish you for your choices the story will still develop and depending on the way you play you will get different endings to each section.

The game of the year edition includes the DLC these add content that will enhance the play time of the game and enhances the love of the game, Dauds story is just as long as the main game, adding so much to the already amazing game making you will bad for your previous opinions.

I would recommend this game to everyone, I still play through now again even so long after my purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's alright but nothing amazing, 16 Dec 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This review will probably be unpopular with the fans but that's alright. We all have different opinions and I'm only adding mine here for people still unsure about the game. They may or may not like it and might fall into the same boat as me here. Let me get started with the actual gameplay first:

It's amazing. The combat (i.e swordplay) is solid and very enjoyable. The supernatural abilities are all fun to use and you have numerous ways to complete any objective which adds to replay value and also allows you to play the game the way you want to. Whether you want to use stealth, go in guns-a-blazing, blink past crowds of enemies, hack enemy machines and use them against them or just see how many limits this sandbox game has, it's all there and the game supports all play-styles.

So what's the problem? Why have I rated the game three stars overall?

The answer to that question is simple. Despite supporting all play-styles the game doesn't do a good job at actually perfecting them all. I saw one reviewer (for the regular game) complain about how the game lacks many non-lethal options and he's right. Your non-lethal equipment consists of sleeping darts (and your carrying capacity for these is 10 and only if you upgrade) and that's it. Every other equipment piece you carry is for a lethal playthrough. There's no flash bomb, no blackjack (for quick non-lethal takedowns) and no gas equipment despite the game being set in an industrial city with electricity. Your only options for non-lethal takedowns are the sleeping darts and the ability to choke enemies to sleep. That's it and it gets boring.

"But the magical abilities allow for so much more."

Only possession and blink are viable in a non-lethal or stealth playthrough and they actually help you get through any level quick and easy. Stealth becomes pathetically easy with these abilities mastered as blink will allow you to travel meters (and onto rooftops) and possession will allow you to possess any human or animal. If you're caught that's exactly what you can do. Either possess whoever spotted you on simply blink to a shadow a few meters away and everyone will loose sight of you. The other abilities (Wind Blast, Devouring Swarm and Bend Time) are clearly for lethal playthroughs. The game gives you more carry capacity for regular darts (about 30 when upgraded) which kill than it does for sleeping darts.

As a result I found a non-lethal playthrough incredibly limiting (other than how you choose to progress through non-linear levels but it's all the same regardless), repetitive and easy.

It's like Thief in the stealth area but dumbed down.

"But lethal play-throughs are awesome then right?"

The mechanics certainly are but the enemy AI is clearly designed with stealth play-throughs in mind. Enemies are incredibly stupid. Literally. In one occasion I was on the top of a platform which was covered in shadows, shooting all the guards walking by. Despite being only a few meters high, the guards didn't spot me, they didn't even run for help when they saw their friends being gunned down and each guard in the group kept investigating each body that fell until only one was left. This was all because I was covered in shadow. In another game like Deus Ex: Human Revolution, the guards would eventually investigate where the sound of a gunshot is coming from and they would remain on alert forever after discovering a dead body (although HR also suffered from poor AI although it wasn't this bad).

Speaking of platforms; get to the highest building and you can one shot kill any enemy instantly with a headshot from the crossbow. Being on a building high up, inaccessible to enemies, this is pretty much god-mode and the enemy sights only go so far so they'll never see you even if you start throwing stuff off of the building.

The result is that we have a game that supports all play-styles but doesn't perfect them. Deus Ex: Human Revolution had flaws but it perfected both lethal and non-lethal playthroughs. If I went into a mission shooting everyone then it would turn into a straight out gun fight like it was from an FPS game. In Dishonored, this isn't the case as enemies quickly transit from fighting mode to patrol mode and the encounters are set up so that you can kill an entire group of enemies only meters away from their allies and then use stealth to get past them (it's as if the enemies in this game are deaf asides from a few occasions).

In other words. The encounters are set up for stealth. The enemy placements are too convenient there and it means that in a lethal playthrough it feels fragmented when you kill one group of enemies and go to the next who are ignorant to the fact that their comrades are dead (despite an announcer in the district saying that "someone is running around killing people, be on high alert" to the guards).

For me this left a sour taste in my mouth.

What I think the game does perfect though are these elements:

Atmosphere.
Artstyle.
Player choice and consequences.

The atmosphere is phenomenal and every area is unique in its design. The artstyle is unique and your choices do have consequences and the numerous solutions to quests means that you can kill everyone in a mission (who would otherwise help you get through in a constructive story-driven way) and still beat it. Every mission also has its own side quests and tons of optional areas to explore. The body count you leave behind also influences the world. Killing people ruins the city, increases the number of guards in missions, leads to the plague spreading more (therefore increasing the number of weepers in the world who are plague victims and kinda work like zombies in that they chase after you and try to infect you, only they puke on you instead of biting you) as well as influencing the ending. Lesser body count leads to less guards, less weepers and a different outcome. There's also the middle ground. The only negative here is that the game keeps reminding you about the consequences and keeps forcing them in your face as if C&C are revolutionary and has never been done before.

I thought the story was good even if it was cliche and built on tropes. Although I didn't see the point of making Corvo silent especially when there were many aspects of him pre-defined. You even get a few dialogue options from time to time (although they're simply there to add to the immersion). It felt silly in my opinion to have such a silent protagonist then. Thankfully Arkane didn't do the same with Duad (the protagonist of the DLC missions). The result is that I felt nothing towards Corvo. There was no depth to him. Duad was better though although he was clearly built on Garrett from the Thief series, Duad has a gravelly voice just like him and is cynical of the world as well as seemingly being callous. In the end I thought Duad was the better protagonist and he's simply the DLC character.

I'd say Dishonored is lost in a void with Thief at the far end and Deus Ex at the other. Unfortunately, in my opinion, it's unable to achieve the perfection of either series. It's good as a rent in my opinion.

BUT...

But Dishonored is truly something other game developers should look at for a game that doesn't give a "game over" or "no you can't kill this person" when you play in a different fashion. It's game where no matter what you do, you can still complete a mission. Bethesda should take notes here. This game was infinitely better than anything they've ever produced. Hopefully Arkane continue to be uninfluenced by them because they are truly a great developer and their RPG classic, Arx Fatalis (PC), was truly a gem.

That's all. Feel free to comment, agree, disagree, rage, praise, criticize or do whatever below in the comment section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun! Highly reccomended, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I really like this game, I have found it entertaining in the many ways you can go through a level, which also gives it a level of replay-ability. I had no issues with any of the discs, everything came as I thought it would, as in no scratches or damage to the discs, booklet or case. I would happily reccomend this game to any one that is looking for a good single player game to pass the time, which it has certainly done for me as I am on my third playthrough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazon did great the game is good, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Amazon delivered brilliantly and on time as always, the game is really good however it is rather short and not up to the usual Bethesda standard but it is a great game all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I have already spoken more about Dishonoured than anyone want's to hear, so when I found Bethesda had created an extended edition where the player controls the slick and stylish assassin Daud, I was rather jubilant. The actual added content adds a dozen new levels, (even if two are set in the same locations as the original game) which let us see even more of Dunwall, give us a few interesting new characters, the best being the fleshing out of Daud and his Whalers, and even play up to parts referenced in the game but never glimpsed. A few trial missions are also added, mainly time trials and combat, but there is also an interesting stealth section as well. All in all a good purchase that improves upon an already good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is fantastic I would recommend it to any gaming fan,
Plays very smoothly, controls are all great and no lag or bull s***
Also each area is an open map, like each area is a mini sand box so thats cool
Loads of collectibles if Youre into that stuff
Storey is solid and gripping,
DLC is all cool, if you like be a goodie you pay the DLC as the antagonist so you can let your evil flow a
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
10/10 they delivered in every way and the game is great. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking to buy any games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dishonored: Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360)
£17.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews