Customer Reviews


200 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant album (in my opinion)
This album has had very mixed reviews, so I was bracing myself for a big disappointment. However, and this is only my opinion, I absolutely love it. I can't find any fault. Musical taste is very personal, so I can't advise anyone to go out and buy it, but I'm so glad I did.
Published 14 months ago by christensen54

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay
I don't think this is as good as his first or should i say i like more of the songs on his first album , like broken , lightening bolt , two fingers , but i do like his type of music , but if you're a big big fan of his you might like everything he sings anyway no problem with that
Published 12 months ago by peter c


‹ Previous | 113 14 1520 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to my collection!, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
One of my best CD's. Some great upbeat music, but his voice combined on the more easy listening songs is great music! I never heard of Jake Bugg until seeing him on "American Idol" introduced by Keith Urban. I am a big fan and would recommend this CD. I am looking forward to what he does next! Awsome!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dylan goes Electric & heads out of Nottingham!, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
I loved the first album & the way it created a perfect potion of Hank Williams & the La's boiled up & left to simmer all night in the back of beyond.

So its always going to be difficult to cut through the all pervasive hype that greeted that album & resist the temptation to play safe with the follow up.

But this second album does exactly that cuts through all that hype like a hot knife through butter.

Beautifully angular cathartic & vulnerable right from the off he is basically saying i am doing this my way & dismantles your comfort zone both melodically & lyrically.

Impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jake Bugg, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
Not as good as his first album. I'm not giving up on it I'm hoping it will get better with a lot more play time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A shadow of the first CD Jake Bugg ., 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (MP3 Download)
As happens quite often the first music produced by an individual or group is exceptional then they go downhill . The greats of the past had a high consistency of issuing good music. Jake Bugg is very talented as he has shown on his first CD , what he needs is help composing good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (MP3 Download)
Great music , like jake bugg a lot, different to what I usually listen too , very happy man , briilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bit more chirpy!, 26 Jan. 2014
By 
C. Phillips (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
If like me you found the first album a bit disappointing and a little depressing I would give this a go. In my opinion still too many slow ones( I prefer his upbeat stuff) but much happier vibe. Good album and already listened to it more than the first. :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shangri La, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
bought as a gift for Christmas for my friend she said she likes it but prefers his first Album which she counld not stop praising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jake Bugg, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
This is an amazing album he is such a talented singer. One not to be missed if you get the opportunity to see him live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Jake Bugg!, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for my husband and we have been 'fighting' over it ever since.
A great album by such a young man - love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JAKE BUGG OLDER FAN, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shangri La (Audio CD)
I was not sure about buying the second album as I could not make out the words of the first track to be aired, but having now played it all I am so pleased with it, ticks all the boxes for me I wished I had bought it earlier it's great!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 1520 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shangri La
Shangri La by Jake Bugg (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews