Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning read
Review:

Its very easy for a lot of historical fiction to get classed as swords and sandals. Most peoples who dont read the genre have the impression thats its a bit of a dry, wordy style book with a lot of stabby stabby blood, war death maybe some sex and then the end. Firstly Swords and Sandals is so much more than that, there is humor, comradeship, tactics,...
Published 6 months ago by Parm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hannibal
This had to many coincidence which spoilt a good read but worth a read poetic license is allowed to some degree
Published 1 month ago by MR C MARSHALL


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning read, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Review:

Its very easy for a lot of historical fiction to get classed as swords and sandals. Most peoples who dont read the genre have the impression thats its a bit of a dry, wordy style book with a lot of stabby stabby blood, war death maybe some sex and then the end. Firstly Swords and Sandals is so much more than that, there is humor, comradeship, tactics, fighting skills, characters and more, so never judge a book by its label.

That said Clouds of War is not swords and sandals in my opinion, so if you read the genre or not this book is something different, something much more personal, its a history lesson, its a life lesson, its a story of love, life, grief, both personal and national and romance. Its a book filled on a very personal level, it has an energy, a pace and a deep love of history you don’t find in many books, and not many authors have the skill to carry off.

As usual with my look at a book, i’m not going to risk spoilers, or try and pull apart the plot, too much chance of spoiling the book for others. The book blurb tells you all about this stage of the story of Hanno, Quintus and Aurelia. What i will talk about is once again is Ben’s amazing writing. There are a few authors who can leave me thinking about a book for more than an hour or so after i finish the review, There are even fewer who can elicit a real emotional response. Maybe i’m a sentimental old Granddad these days, but some of the familia led plot was just heartrending. I guarantee that this book will reduce some readers to absolute tears. Where with Anthony Riches you know that at some point someone is going to get a yard of steel through the guts, its almost part of the boys own action of it. With Ben it again is no surprise to see death, but it could be murder, famine, thirst, disease or war and it might not be just a family member it could be a whole village, a legion anyone. The man is so much more brutal when it comes to mortality, but only in terms of relaying the brutality of life and war in the ancient world.

Ben probably more than any writer shows you life in the ancient world, warts and all. And none of that should put a reader off, just the opposite, you MUST buy this book. This is the culmination of years of writing lessons learned, adding all the feedback, adding every nuance and experience to his writing skill.

This truly is a must buy Highly recommended book

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third and best of a fine series!, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Clouds of War is the third in the series so if you don't want any hints as to what happened in the previous two novels, please don't read on!

The bloody field of Cannae has left the forces of Rome and Hannibal reeling, many thousands of their soldiers dead. The focus now moves to the island of Sicily. Syracuse is held by Carthaginian forces, its mighty walls and harbour protected by the war engines of Archimedes. In Clouds of War, the third novel in Ben Kane's Hannibal series set in the early 3rd century BC, Quintus, a Roman equestrian now in disguise as an ordinary legionary, is one of the many to camp outside the walls of the city. What he doesn't know is that his sister Aurelia is within the walls, a captured slave. Her rescue, though, comes at the hands of Hanno, the Carthaginian she has loved since he was himself enslaved to her own family years before. Now she and Hanno must fight to stay together while the world around them falls to pieces during this most violent and brutal of sieges, not knowing that one of the men who threatens them is her own brother.

There is much more to Clouds of War than the horrendous siege of Syracuse. We follow Quintus and his tent brothers as they fight to win the trust of their centurion, the brave Corax, while doing all they can to avenge the cruelty of Pera, a monstrous coward who is also, luckily for him, the cousin of Marcellus, the supreme Roman commander. At sea and in the streets, it's a battle for Quintus to stay alive. In the other half of the story is Aurelia, the young Roman matron whose father died at Cannae and whose husband is now lost. What Aurelia has to endure in Rome and Sicily is perhaps even more painful than what Quintus must undergo sword in hand but it is also completely different. Aurelia has no independence and quite aside from that Clouds of War harshly demonstrates how she and countless other women in war are its victims.

Clouds of War is, I think, the best of the three novels published in the series so far. I had issues with the second, but not with this. Quintus and Hannibal are much more clearly defined and distinct, as are the events that carry them along through this exciting novel. Aurelia is also much more interesting, although I would argue that what she has to suffer seems more than any one woman should have to cope with. She, more than anyone else in the novel, is damaged and I think that is clear throughout even when she tries to rebuild her life during these most traumatic of situations.

The battles and skirmishes that lead up to the siege, and then the siege scenes themselves, are thrilling while also being utterly brutal. I don't enjoy reading about the rape and slaughter of women and children and so I did take pause a little but it didn't feel gratuitously done. Quintus is an interesting character here. He has the qualities you'd expect from the hero of a Roman military novel but he has his flaws and his grip on what matters does take a hit or two, especially when there's the chance of diving into an amphora of wine. Hannibal is a slightly less interesting character in Clouds of War than he has been but I think that's mostly because this novel focuses on Quintus and his sister and I like that the book does that. The novel does leave some unanswered questions - more than one character disappears without further mention - but this is an ongoing series.

As always with Ben Kane's books, Clouds of War reflects his meticulous research into Roman and Greek warfare, history and places. It is written extremely well and with great authority. In Clouds of War, as with Kane's superb Spartacus novels, Kane also brings to the fore the humanity of these three young figures, victims of their times, and, as a result, this is a richly rewarding, compelling read and without doubt my favourite of the series. I'm grateful for the review copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hannibal up a notch again, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: Clouds of War (Hannibal 3) (Kindle Edition)
Hooray, hooray, it’s released today…

Those of you who’ve not already had it on pre-order, scurry along and buy a copy of Ben Kane’s latest opus today. Why? I’ll tell you why…

Hannibal has always been my favourite of Ben’s novels, and therefore the series my fave of his series. The first novel (Hannibal: Enemy of Rome) was a stunning delve into not only a period of Roman history that’s not often dealt with, but also into the nature of love and friendship in a time of brutal war. It was simply excellent. The second book (Fields of Blood), though not quite topping the dizzying heights of the first book, was also a fine work, delivering just what the title suggested as Carthaginians and Romans fought desperately across Italy. Book three, simply, is a bloody triumph in every way.

It must be hard (and as a man who writes myself, I can really feel this) to tell the third story in a series in which the three main characters are on opposing sides in a war and outside the war entirely and yet engineer a plot in which the three interact. I mean, it would be easy enough to do so if you didn’t mind it feeling trite, contrived, implausible and basically fairly poo. And yet for the third time in a row, Kane has done so, and this time best of all, with a looming expectation of doomed meetings swept aside and the result a truly realistic, serendipitous calamity.

The fact that the action takes place in a limited scope lends C.O.W. a tightness that some novels lack. Though it takes place over two years and the time stretches on at points, the geographical limits (all within the Island of Sicily and perhaps 3 places thereon) provides a very strong, tight situation.

Kane has clearly taken some of the most famous moments in Roman history into this novel, but more than that, he has visited their sites, lived their lives and felt the atmosphere there and this shows through in the work. It is full of life, colour, vigour and stunning realism. Whether it is military action, civilian sacrifice, base cunning, or noble honour, they are all displayed with real understanding.

Highlights for me include…

No spoiler here, I reckon. The moment you know it’s Punic Wars and Sicily (which is very early in the book) you will expect the siege of Syracuse. This is one of the most famous of all Roman military engagements, and involved some of the most outlandish and astounding actions. And you will devour the first assault hungrily.

The action in Enna is perhaps some of the most poignant and harrowing work I’ve ever read. It shows how deeply Kane can make you feel for even a passing character.

And the last section of the book? Well, I won’t go into spoiler details, but it rivals Doug Jackson’s treatment of the defence of Colchester in Hero of Rome, and that remains one of my most powerful scenes of any book. The tense, fraught excitement it builds is second only to the continual flip-flopping between hope and despair, hope and despair, hope and despair. Really it has to be read to be experienced, so that alone is a reason to buy.

The characters have grown since book 2, let alone book 1. They are more adult and react appropriately (and Kane as always pulls no damn punches when putting them in situations to elicit such a reaction). But the reappearance of at least one super S.O.B. adds villainy to the tale, and the appearance of at least one new hero adds joy.

In conclusion, Clouds of War is tight, well-written and exciting, full of colour, and realistic and even heartbreaking in places as one could imagine it might be. It is character driven and is a feast to the imagination.

I, for one, cannot wait for book 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read The Forgotten Legion Trilogy and the first book in this series, I was slightly disappointed with the second one in the Hannibal series. It was okay but nowhere near as captivating as Ben Kane's previous books. This one, however, is right back on it. Great storylines, always something going on, some real drama and tension. Some brutality as well but then that was just part of life in the era being described.

In the second novel, the book moved between stories of the 3 main characters so it felt like it was jumping around a lot; a lot of the time the drama would be built up then the chapter would end and you would have to wait 2 long chapters to find out what happens. This was obviously intended to build anticipation, but I felt it resulted in you tending to lose the momentum a bit at times. In Clouds Of War, the chapter ends and the next chapter continues the same piece of action or sub-plot and I feel the book flows a lot better and the interest is continuous.

In the two previous books I felt Hanno seemed to be the more heroic figure and the one you sided with slightly more, whereas in this book I feel it swings round so that Quintus is more of the 'hero' figure.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this. If, like me, you were a bit unsure after the second book of the series, don't worry about it as this one is excellent. A real page turner. Only disappointment now is that I see the author plans to write a couple of other books before returning to this series for the fourth instalment.. it going to be a long wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The adventure continues, 2 Sep 2014
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ben Kane’s Hannibal series has been impressive and this is the third (and I sense there will be more).

Set during Rome’s war with Carthage, our central characters are friends who sit on either side of the conflict. In the middle is Aurelia, sister to the Roman Quintus and in love with Hanno who is from Carthage.

Much of this is set on Sicily and the Roman siege of Syracuse and the conflicts and adventures of our three main characters to bring into context the backdrop of the war and the siege. These were not nice times and Ben Kane does well to give us a good perspective from both sides and allows us to have a balanced view. It’s authentic, bloody and brutal.

My favourite is the first in the series, I thought it was brilliantly delivered by the author. I enjoyed this one, but if I had an annoyance with it, it would be that Aurelia seems to have become reckless beyond belief and I found her level of stupidity a little frustrating. Having said that, Hanno and Quintus are as engaging as ever and the story is as vivid and exciting as we have come to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Punic Master Read, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ben Kane has done it again, a fantastic read throughout. it ends as well as it begins. the story made me stay up till past midnight most nights. You wont get enough of this book or Bens masterful way of writing. Its both gripping and dramatic which makes you want to know what happens next. When reading this you will experience notions of valour, honour, disloyalty and betrayal all good things when it comes to historical fiction. Its also good to note that Ben Kane trys to get historical accuracy throughout his books so while reading this epic you will also learn. The only disappointing part is that I cant continue with the story, Will have to wait till the next in the series comes out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good story line, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: Clouds of War (Hannibal 3) (Kindle Edition)
Having read the other Hannibal books , I found this one to be no exception. A really good story line, great characters . The daily life of people was interesting and graphic as were the descriptions of conflict, battle scenes. I read for entertainment and this fullfilled
my criteria. I also learned many things I did not know Historically. It would seem the research was very thorough. Having read much of Ben Kane from a Roman perspective the loyalties of this book make a divided sense of belonging to the Carthagian cause. Thats what good authors do to you. Great read !! Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hannibal: Clouds of War (Hannibal 3) (Kindle Edition)
When is the fourth novel coming out. Praise the Gods we don't have to wait too long. This series has been outstanding. Buy all of the books now... you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Those who Love Historical Novels, 25 July 2014
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ben Kane is one of the foremost author's of Roman fiction writing today. He stands comparison with the best author's writing in the genre. His writing style is free flowing, and the written words seem to glide from the pages with an ease that few of his contemporaries seem able to achieve.

There are two previous books in the series Enemy of Rome (Book 1, 2011), Hannibal: Fields of Blood (Book 2, 2013) and this, the third book in the series begins with Quintus still in the Roman army and now posted to Sicily, still trying to stem the onslaught of the Carthaginian army, led by the famous general Hannibal. Little does he know that his one time slave and friend Hanno is still alive and with Hannibal's forces, not too far away from where Quintus himself is stationed. In a previous book Hanno allowed Quintus and his father to escape an ambush, but has sworn that the next time to two meet, one of them must die, and the hand of fate seems to be drawing the pair closer and closer together.

Aurelia, Quintus's sister is now the mother of a two-year-old son, Publius, and is living with her husband Lucius in Rome. She has never really recovered from the brutal attack she suffered in Capua shortly before the birth of her son, and she becomes even more distressed to find that her mother Atia has fallen ill. She little realises that the god's are conspiring to make things even worse in the near future.

This is another exciting story from the author, and a must read for those who enjoy his work. Anyone who has read Ben Kane before will know the quality of his writing and those who have not should not leave it too long before they give one of his books a try. He has now written several novels covering different periods of Roman history, so you will have some catching up to do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazed yet again, 22 Aug 2014
This review is from: Hannibal: Clouds of War (Hannibal 3) (Kindle Edition)
fantastic trilogy by ben kane the hannibal novels are by far up there in my top 10 of historical novels bens knowledge of the romans and carthagian people is astounding im not putting any spoilers in this review thats for you all to read all I can say is you wont be disappointed eagerly anticipating the next ben kane novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews