Customer Reviews


798 Reviews
5 star:
 (609)
4 star:
 (136)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get out of that without moving
NASA has set up a chain of expeditions to Mars but very soon after landing the third one is aborted and the scientists have to leave. Unknown to them their dead companion, who is not actually dead, finds himself stranded on Mars with little hope of surviving until the next scheduled mission. Air and water are not the problem but he does not have enough food despite being...
Published 14 months ago by William J. Fox

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it.
It was fast paced and interesting to read. Lots of detail about the issues our hero confronted and how he overcame them. Deriving and implementing the solution for the rendezvous with the rescue team in the time available was too much of a stretch for me. One thing that doesn't fit with Mars data is the original problem was caused by high speed winds knocking over the...
Published 1 month ago by Nige Danton


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get out of that without moving, 5 Feb 2013
By 
William J. Fox "KillerBill" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Martian (Kindle Edition)
NASA has set up a chain of expeditions to Mars but very soon after landing the third one is aborted and the scientists have to leave. Unknown to them their dead companion, who is not actually dead, finds himself stranded on Mars with little hope of surviving until the next scheduled mission. Air and water are not the problem but he does not have enough food despite being left with the resources to accommodate six explorers.

Right from the start this is a gripping page-turner and no matter how hard Mark Watney strives to survive Mars works just as hard to kill him. All the time I was willing him to succeed only to have yet another believable crisis threatening his continued existence. In my opinion you will not find a better thriller set on Mars or elsewhere. I had not previously heard of the author and cannot remember how I ended up buying his book to read on my Ipad, but it was a good day. Highly recommended, excellent value for money, and I look forward to reading other work from Weir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick, Interesting read, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Martian (Kindle Edition)
This novel has a great premise, which is in many ways it greatest strength. Weir is great at delivering technical information in his writing style, and a great part of the text is quite technical. But it's succinct, and is never bogged down with advanced vocabulary. However, if you are not looking for a story that talks a lot about the technicalities and issues of space travel and inter-planetary exploration, this book is not for you.
The story itself is good, switching between the main characters life on mars, and the events of those back on earth adds a refreshing change of pace at key points which keeps the reader engaged. Do not expect a deeply philosophical approach to difficulties faced by a lone human on a barren world, you wont be getting it. Life alone on Mars is described by Mark Watney, a likable and quick witted botanist, who likes to keep things simple, and humorous.
All in all, this book will interest the sci-fi fan, and will appeal to the casual reader, such as myself, looking for a new and refreshing story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have waited so long for this!, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Martian (Kindle Edition)
Andy started this as an online serialised story years ago, and I have been following it on his website avidly. It's a very witty, well written novel about a man stranded on Mars after an accident causes his crew mates to leave him for dead on the planet. Mark Watney is fighting to survive from the very opening sentence and his successes and failures are thoroughly endearing.

I loved every minute of reading it and I look forward to reading it over and over again. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it., 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Martian (Kindle Edition)
It was fast paced and interesting to read. Lots of detail about the issues our hero confronted and how he overcame them. Deriving and implementing the solution for the rendezvous with the rescue team in the time available was too much of a stretch for me. One thing that doesn't fit with Mars data is the original problem was caused by high speed winds knocking over the antenna and causing him to go tumbling. The Martian atmosphere is very low density and is about 1% of Earth atmospheric pressure. Even 150 kmh wind speeds just wouldn't have the energy to do that. But nevertheless I enjoyed the book and hope the author continues to write similar material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping Sci Fi page turner, 8 Mar 2014
By 
K. Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Martian (Kindle Edition)
The Martian tells the story of a modern day Robinson Crusoe, an astronaut stranded on Mars after an accident leads to his crew hastily bailing on their mission and leaving him for dead.

The tale of his ingenuity and endeavour as he attempts to survive and find a way, anyway to survive and try to get home is a brilliant read. The pacing is great, I couldn't put it down, the characters engrossing and well written and the science all seems very believable to a layman like me.

I'd recommend this to anyone, not just Sci-Fi fans, it's as much a thriller as anything else and a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 'realistic' sci-fi, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Martian (Kindle Edition)
A hugely enjoyable book, with no green men or 'beam me up Scotty' elements, yet totally engaging and eventually unputdownable (after a slightly slow start). Very refreshing sci fi and highly recommended. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grand read., 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Martian (Kindle Edition)
Really good. Bit necessarily technical, but thoroughly enjoyable. Highly recommended. Go on.... give it a go, why don't you? Please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Martian (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book. Didn't understand a lot of the techy stuff, but loved the main character, his attitude and fight to survive. Will be looking for more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read and great value for money, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Martian (Kindle Edition)
Intelligent, engaging, amusing; a great page turner and easy to read. I'd highly recommend it, genuinely gripping and despite the technical information and dizzying mathematics it was very accessible
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books I've ever read!, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Martian (Kindle Edition)
Don't ever review anything but felt compelled to with this. Sit back and enjoy the ride. Fantastic, full of heart stopping and heart warming moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 280 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb32f7d44)

This product

The Martian
The Martian by Andy Weir
4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews