Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing conclusion lacking substance
I really enjoyed the book , good story with characters who were believable however the end was weak. the crime solved so quickly I did not notice but then key characters just faded away. I hit the end page with a shock and 're read the end convinced I had missed something but no it just lacked substance.
Published 3 months ago by Sassy13

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak Plot
To simplistic everything fitted in too neatly plot did not really build up tension. I will not buy any more books by this author
Published 3 months ago by Paul Mowat


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing conclusion lacking substance, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Indiscretion (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the book , good story with characters who were believable however the end was weak. the crime solved so quickly I did not notice but then key characters just faded away. I hit the end page with a shock and 're read the end convinced I had missed something but no it just lacked substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Story spoiled by a bad translation, 10 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Indiscretion (Kindle Edition)
Very good story, probably well written in Swedish but it was spoiled for me by a very poor English translation Too many wrong words (ass instead of arse!) and poor grammar. Even the Americans know the difference between the uses of "to" and" from" . I would not recommend this book to anybody in this translation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak Plot, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Indiscretion (Kindle Edition)
To simplistic everything fitted in too neatly plot did not really build up tension. I will not buy any more books by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the usual Nordic novel, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Indiscretion (Kindle Edition)
This book is more gentle than the usual Nordic crime thrillers, but none the worse for it. It has a good and believable storyline with some interesting characters. Some reviews have criticised the translation but I thought it was fine. It is a pity that this is the only book by this author to be translated into English, as I would love to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Indiscretion (Kindle Edition)
Great to see some middle aged characters having a life. The characters were well portrayed and true to life. A good murder but the characters were the centre piece of the book. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad sex and bad food, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Indiscretion (Kindle Edition)
Terrible translation -clunky and tone inconsistent- almost as if translator was not a native speaker.
Characters reasonably sympathetic,plot mediocre. Author seems to have food and sex hang-ups.
Don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I hugely enjoyed this engrossing read, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Indiscretion (Kindle Edition)
A Sall Indiscretion started very demurely. I did not think I would be able to finish it as it was written about Swedish people and I have difficulty with Nordic names however, I rapidly became engrossed in the story line and burbled my interpretation
of the strange names. I hugely enjoyed this engrossing read. Do read it. You will be left wishing for the story to go on and on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Indiscretion (Kindle Edition)
Nothing special but quite readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, very enjoyable, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Indiscretion (Kindle Edition)
Excellent , very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Indiscretion (Kindle Edition)
I don't like to give bad reviews, but this book was extremely dull. I gave up at 16% because I wasn't prepared to waste any more time on it. Maybe I'll try again one day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Small Indiscretion
A Small Indiscretion by Denise Rudberg
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews