Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Chronicles of Nick" series book 5
*** warning - contains spoilers if you haven't read book 4 "Inferno" ***

"Illusion" is aptly named as Nick deals with the ramifications of the massive cliff-hanger event that ended book 4 "Inferno". Sucked into an alternate dimension, he's not only physically different, but so are those he considers his friends. Personalities have changed dramatically,...
Published 6 months ago by Book Addict

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the trials of Nick
How much can one demon take, if it can go bad it will and poor Nick just gives it everything he has, Maybe there will be a happy ending for our hero, just not today.
Published 10 months ago by amandaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Chronicles of Nick" series book 5, 10 Oct. 2014
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Illusion: Number 5 in series (Chronicles of Nick) (Kindle Edition)
*** warning - contains spoilers if you haven't read book 4 "Inferno" ***

"Illusion" is aptly named as Nick deals with the ramifications of the massive cliff-hanger event that ended book 4 "Inferno". Sucked into an alternate dimension, he's not only physically different, but so are those he considers his friends. Personalities have changed dramatically, expected friends are now enemies and the good guys may just be bringing on Armageddon. Worst of all, Nick may still have his Malachai soul; however with no powers at all he's easy prey for the supernatural enemies that stalk him.

This continues to be an entertaining and intriguing series with some surprising twists to the plot that keeps the reader hooked. The dialogue is sharp and amusing as Nick's sarcastic or flippant responses raise a smile, whilst the action is constant as Nick faces off new enemies. SK's imagination should be labelled the 8th wonder of the world; she always manages to introduce new characters that stand out even amongst a phenomenal established cast. This book is no exception, and again a thought provoking epilogue has me wondering how one particular character will impact the story line in future books. 4½ stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good old hilarious Nick is back!, 15 May 2014
I suspect I’m one of the very few people who are enjoying this YA spin-off, but aren’t at all familiar with the original adult paranormal romance series. In all honesty, Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series doesn’t appeal to me in the least. It’s not the type of thing I normally read, having developed allergies to PNR a long time ago, but her Chronicles of Nick, now at their fifth installment no less, are a whole different thing.

Even though it’s often more Middle Grade than Young Adult, I’ve been a fan of this series from the start. Sherrilyn Kenyon has a fabulous sense of humor and her series is often laugh-out-loud funny. Nick’s self-deprecating voice, his modesty and kindness, his protectiveness toward his tiny but fierce mother are all such endearing traits. He is an easy boy to love.

Illusion picks up exactly where Inferno left off, with Nick unwillingly thrown into a different dimension. Everything is different here: Caleb is human and a geek, Nick’s mother is married to Bubba (who just happens to be a shrewd businessman), and Nick himself, as Bubba’s son and not the Malakai, is significantly shorter, whinier, and entirely powerless. Kody is gone, the history is different, and Nick is, once again, in constant danger.

Kenyon expanded the world significantly in this installment, adding a never-ending number of enemies for Nick, and I must admit if all became a bit confusing. I kept forgetting the names and all the different species, I couldn’t keep track of all Nick’s friends and enemies even though I was trying very hard to keep track.

But the end result was still the same. I was entertained by Nick’s sarcastic remarks, warmed by his love for his family and friends, I cheered quite loudly when he faced his enemies and teared up when it all became too much for him. Not bad for a mostly Middle Grade series, huh? Not bad at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot wait until the next book in this series, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I picked this book up yesterday morning having pre-ordered it as soon as I could and boy was it worth the long wait. Suffice to say book now finished as I could not put this book down. We learned more about Kody and Caleb as this book progressed but also about Nick finally realising that material things are nothing compared with loving friends and family and to leave it on such a twist, incredible writing again by Sherrilyn. All I ask is please do not make we wait too long for the next book in this series.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As expected from sherrilyn kenyon, 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again this is a wonderful read that I couldn't put down. With all in this series I find it a little slow moving compared to the adult series in some regards but on the whole a well crafted novel. I adore Nick, his character is dynamic and loveable; it's difficult to reconcile what we know in this novel with such a simple boy, who is clearly a well crafted character. I am interested to see how this series progresses from here on, and if there will be a believable link to the adult series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illusion: Number 5 in series (Chronicles of Nick) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish. Familiar characters in unfamiliar personas. Simi, simi love her.Each book leads blends well into each other so you don't loose pace, as we see the growth in Nick as well as simulation links to the dark hunter series
The nick series is almost as capitivating as the Dark Hunter series, which I love.
The wait for the next Nick book in the series is painstaking!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chronicles of Nick, 2 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seem to be getting there Nick! More adventures (with slightly more explanations and insights) with Nick and crew. As a confirmed Sherrilyn fan I generally found the more 'teen' aspect of these books slightly disconcerting after the more 'adult' range, but as I have stuck with Nick's chronicles I find them becoming more enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chronicles of Nick, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illusion: Number 5 in series (Chronicles of Nick) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent. Fifth in the series and still getting better. Nick and his friends travel to another dimension. Fight the bad guys, face challenges and pick up new demons along the way.
Always fast paced with unexpected twists, but you need to read for yourself to appreciate the setting for the next book.
Keep them coming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illusion: Number 5 in series (Chronicles of Nick) (Kindle Edition)
I can't get enough of this series. So great to see the character develop and an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another corker by sherrilyn Kenyon, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illusion: Number 5 in series (Chronicles of Nick) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all the dark/were/dream hunter books so far and chronicles of nick, I enjoyed this book due to the different dimensions it took look forward to the next Nick book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illusion: Number 5 in series (Chronicles of Nick) (Kindle Edition)
This is a brilliant read for any age. The only downside is Nicks stories are to short lol.
I'd recommend this writer to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews