Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punchy little blighter!
When this arrived I thought it was a mistake - the packet was so small, and light that I thought it must be the wrong item - BUT that all changed when I opened the box.

This tiny active speaker system is all that it promises to be and more - because it is so small, you genuinely can take it around with you!

Firstly, both of the long sides of the...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Stephen Redman

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars meh.
I had a Jawbone for several years, but after dropping it (a lot) the bluetooth finally gave out so I started shopping for a new one. I was given this one to try out, and though I hate to look a gift horse in the mouth - I don't love this speaker. The design is kind of clunky, although it does have an audio cable nested in the bottom which is pretty clever. It's just not...
Published 7 months ago by Claire Jordan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punchy little blighter!, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jabra Solemate Mini Bluetooth Portable Music Speaker with NFC - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When this arrived I thought it was a mistake - the packet was so small, and light that I thought it must be the wrong item - BUT that all changed when I opened the box.

This tiny active speaker system is all that it promises to be and more - because it is so small, you genuinely can take it around with you!

Firstly, both of the long sides of the system are metal speaker grilles, whereas all other surfaces are a warm rubber finish. The bottom which is chunky like the soul of a boot has a 3.5mm stereo lead built in so that you can connect from the headphone socket of your phone or mp3 player. One side has a socket for the 3.5mm cable, an on/off switch and a USB charging socket. The other side has the legend NFC emblazed on it.

The top has three rubberised button that must be pressed firmly, the outer two are volume up and down. When you press them a beep is heard through the speakers. The centre button will perform different functions depending on what is connected but for example it will answer or end a phone call, or initiate a bluetooth pairing.

As soon as you power it up (it comes partially charged) it speaks to you! A male voice suggest that you connect to it by Bluetooth, and carries on until you do, whereupon it tells you it has been paired.

All I had to do with my Nokia 920 Windows phone was touch it against the side saying "NFC" and immediately my phone came up with the invitation to "pair" over Bluetooth, I said yes and with that I had music playing.

The sound quality is deceptively good, if slightly directional (because of the size of the unit). Whilst not too loud, it would be inappropriate to criticise its quality. Even the bass is good, which from such small speaker drivers is always hard. It delivers a satisfactory volume level for any use I would put it to.

I think that I expected something 4 times the physical size but with exactly this sound quality. It has to be a plus that the system is so small, and I can thoroughly recommend it at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Packs a punch and small, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabra Solemate Mini Bluetooth Portable Music Speaker with NFC - Black (Electronics)
Have been looking at something like this for a while as a travelling device. Considered FOXL but this has better sound, UE boombox but this is cheaper, and Bose Mini - best for sound and quality in my view, but double the money and triple the weight, so on those two counts it's off radar. Back to the Solemate:

+ it's small and light enough for packing in a suitcase (just)
+ truly funky design - hand it to the Scandies, they know a thing or two about design
+ rubbery grip all round and the grippy base
+ love the way the accessory cable winds into the base
+ best of all: audio is excellent, warm and bassy enough though don't expect a miracle, sparkly highs
+ at 60 or so a good deal compared to the market options
+ very simple controls
+ paired effortlessly with W7 laptop, Android smartphone (Note III) and Android tablet (Xperia Z)

- Jabra do a cheap but quite good waterproof carry bag for other products, I'd have appreciated some such for this little guy and would've paid the extra. As it is, no enclosed carry bag
- sound can distort for some audio feeds, even when you turn down the volume at feed source
- a truly annoying announcement every time you switch it on to let you know it's on (why?) followed by an equally annoying announcement stating it's now successfully paired. Both at full volume for god's sake and no way to switch them off in the menu.

Aside from that last point - with which you just have to live - this is a delightful bluetooth mini-speaker that packs a punch way above its weight (literally), and offers stonking value compared to the others on the market. Absolutely no regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A full sound in a very compact size, 22 Oct 2013
This review is from: Jabra Solemate Mini Bluetooth Portable Music Speaker with NFC - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Jabra Solemate Mini Bluetooth Portable Music Speaker is a little smaller than what I expected, underlying the fact that is very much made to be portable. It's very compact and light and will not take up much room when packed into a travel bag. It also has a very robust and solid feel to it and gives the impression it could easily withstand the rigor of regular travel.

Usability is excellent, my iPhone detected and connected to it immediately via Bluetooth, with a voice confirming the pairing. It also has a 3.5mm phono plug as well as a USB port, and includes the necessary cables, so it has good connectivity options. When fully charged it boasts an 8 hour battery life which is excellent and means you can leave music to play for long periods without having to worry about constant re-charging. When the battery does start running low it gives a voice warning prompting for a re-charge.

The most important feature of a speaker is, of course, sound quality, and in this respect the Jabra Solemate is excellent. For a speaker that's on the small side it gives a very full and wholesome sound and isn't tinny in the slightest. Even at high volumes the sound performance is very impressive and this speaker could easily be used as the main speaker for a single room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great (small) Booming speaker, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The speaker is small enough to fit in your palm (Unless you have very small hands), which makes it very handy. The battery life is quite good too..It comes with an aux cable cleverly hidden/tucked away in a groove underneath the speaker. It can be used with the aux cable or bluetooth - I have used both and have not noticed any difference in sound quality.

Now sound quality - the sound has a heavy bass bias to it. It is quite surprising that a speaker that small is able to produce that much bass and while it may be good for certain types of music and occasions, other occasions demand more of a subtle sound...this speaker seems to do just one style - all out bass.

Turn it on or off and your action is confirmed with a deep reverberating 'boom'..nice sound effect which gets tired after a while..

All in all, I am pleased with my purchase and have given it 4 stars - purely because of the at times overbearing bass sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy one, 24 Feb 2014
By 
David Andrew (Sleaford, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
incredibly good for the price, best thing i've ever purchased. if you need a portable speaker then get this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My benchmark portable bluetooth speaker., 18 Dec 2013
This review is from: Jabra Solemate Mini Bluetooth Portable Music Speaker with NFC - Black (Electronics)
To be completely boring and make this review as simple as possible for you... This speaker set my benchmark for portable audio devices this year, For some reason, It is just better than all the rest. Considering it's size, it's well made and barely has any weight to it at all which is great to start with as it wont feel like an effort to take around with you. Whats really nice is the communications element which they have incorporated into it. Clicking the top middle button once will tell you the battery life or if connected to a smart phone will redial the last person you called if pressed twice. Hold down the middle button to pair with devices or use the NFC to quickly connect. Lastly, the sound which is beyond amazing for the size of speaker this is. Bass doesn't sound muffled and the Hi's not too powerful.

This speaker gets my HIGHEST recommendation.

For a full unboxing & overview of this product, please check out my youtube channel video link below which you can copy and paste.

Link: http://youtu.be/mvX_uO7B3kE

I hope this has been informative.

Laurence
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice if space is a consideration, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Kevin O'Keefe (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jabra Solemate Mini Bluetooth Portable Music Speaker with NFC - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There is a lot to like about this mini-speaker.

Looks/build: It is solidly put together and has a nice 'chunky' look and feel. Other than the speaker grill the unit is covered in a matt rubberised material that's not only attractive but should repel most stains/splashes and so on.

Ease of Use: extremely straight-forward. Paired with ease to my iPhone (and you can use the speaker as a speaker phone i.e. it will handle incoming calls in the same manner as smartphone enabled earphones etc.) For my purposes however I simply want it as a speaker for my netbook and iPod and for those (non-bluetooth) purposes you simply use the supplied 3.5ml jack which handily - and securely - is stowed in the 'footprint' base of the unit.

Sound: surprisingly good - and given that this unit is small and only packs in two speakers and no subwoofer - it is actually very impressive. Naturally the mid and high end ranges fair better than the bass but there is still an acceptable level there. I tried it with a range of music and it managed admirably with a variety of genres (and surprisingly even heavy rock didn't sound feeble). With speakers this size there will inevitably have to be compromises made with sound reproduction but in terms of sound-to-size ratio I would say that this is the best sounding small speaker I have heard so far.

Niggles: something that is an annoyance is that if you are using this speaker via the 3.5ml jack you cannot (for reasons that elude me) use the integrated volume buttons and are required to use your PC/iPod volume controls. At first I thought I had a faulty unit but as I later discovered via the Jabra product website - as the supplied instructions are minimal - this is by design for some reason (why I have no idea as I have a similar bluetooth speaker which could handle both controls simultaneously).

In conclusion, the volume control gripe aside, this is a fantastic little speaker that packs quite a punch for its diminutive size. For me the main application will be when I go away for a few days and packing-space is a premium. It will be replacing my existing speaker a (BoomBotix BB2 Ultra which is another great speaker for its size but the Jabra is simply better on all fronts). The only question that remains is if space is not such a consideration for you then it may be as well to consider the larger - and presumably better sounding - Jabra SOLEMATE which, bar a penny, is currently exactly the same RRP.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate portable speakers, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's no one better than this. Great sound and awesome base for its size. Can only recommend to purchase yours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing little speaker, 25 May 2014
By 
D. R. McLean (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jabra Solemate Mini Bluetooth Portable Music Speaker with NFC - Black (Electronics)
This is one of the best purchases I've made in ages. I tried out a number of Bluetooth speakers in a shop, including several that were priced well above this. For the money, the Jabra Solemate provided the best sound quality by far: not remotely tinny and far superior to a Jawbone model which cost 50 more.

From the spare, acoustic sound of the likes of Sharon Van Etten to the post-rock guitar fuzz of Mogwai, this little box can handle it all very impressively indeed.

It connected to my devices without any hassle and it was absolutely perfect for taking on holiday as it is so compact. I now use it at work every day and I'm delighted with it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabra Solemate Mini Bluetooth Portable Music Speaker with NFC - Black (Electronics)
I was on holiday and used a friends Solemate and loved it. I went for the smaller one (only for space reasosn). A great device, fantastic sound from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews