Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Packs a punch and small
Have been looking at something like this for a while as a travelling device. Considered FOXL but this has better sound, UE boombox but this is cheaper, and Bose Mini - best for sound and quality in my view, but double the money and triple the weight, so on those two counts it's off radar. Back to the Solemate:

+ it's small and light enough for packing in a...
Published 14 months ago by Blah de Blah de Blah

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has far exceeded my expectations... but there is a niggle that lets this down.
After several months of using this device I have decided to update this review, as there is a niggle which is getting on my nerves and this has resulted in me removing two of the 5 stars I originally gave this device.

============
Original review
============

This is a very capable speaker system, which it claims will connect to anything on...
Published 15 months ago by Doug


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Packs a punch and small, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jabra Solemate Mini Wireless Bluetooth Speaker - Black (Electronics)
Have been looking at something like this for a while as a travelling device. Considered FOXL but this has better sound, UE boombox but this is cheaper, and Bose Mini - best for sound and quality in my view, but double the money and triple the weight, so on those two counts it's off radar. Back to the Solemate:

+ it's small and light enough for packing in a suitcase (just)
+ truly funky design - hand it to the Scandies, they know a thing or two about design
+ rubbery grip all round and the grippy base
+ love the way the accessory cable winds into the base
+ best of all: audio is excellent, warm and bassy enough though don't expect a miracle, sparkly highs
+ at £60 or so a good deal compared to the market options
+ very simple controls
+ paired effortlessly with W7 laptop, Android smartphone (Note III) and Android tablet (Xperia Z)

- Jabra do a cheap but quite good waterproof carry bag for other products, I'd have appreciated some such for this little guy and would've paid the extra. As it is, no enclosed carry bag
- sound can distort for some audio feeds, even when you turn down the volume at feed source
- a truly annoying announcement every time you switch it on to let you know it's on (why?) followed by an equally annoying announcement stating it's now successfully paired. Both at full volume for god's sake and no way to switch them off in the menu.

Aside from that last point - with which you just have to live - this is a delightful bluetooth mini-speaker that packs a punch way above its weight (literally), and offers stonking value compared to the others on the market. Absolutely no regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meaty sound, 24 Oct. 2013
By 
Uncle Barbar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jabra Solemate Mini Wireless Bluetooth Speaker - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Jabra Solemate Mini Bluetooth Portable Music Speaker is black and quirkily shaped - having a "corrugated" rubber/plastic base to it to help with movement and vibration.

Sound: It really does have a BIG meaty sound to it given it's size - the tones are well rounded and punchy. I have had much tinnier sound from models of speaker many times larger than this unit.

There are two methods of getting sound to the unit. The first is...

Bluetooth: This works exceptionally well - I tried it with a number of devices (phone, tablet, mp3 player) and they were all up and running within seconds. There is a squarish button on the top of the device which allows you to turn on the Bluetooth and other functions.

Aux in Cable: This is the other way of getting sound into these speakers - just in case your device does not have Bluetooth (some of my mp3 players don't). Included is an aux-in cable for this use (which is housed on the bottom of the unit when not in use).

Volume control: This works fine in Bluetooth mode but not at all if by aux-in line. Why not? I find this a little irritating. My other unit's volume control works perfectly in both modes.

On/Off switch: This really is ridiculously small. If you don't have any nails then you'll never be able to turn it on or off! Was this switch designed by leprechauns?

Annoying trait: I really don't like the loud boom and short music intro when you switch the unit on or off. I often listen to music or talking books via my mini speakers just before I go to sleep and I don't want this huge racket suddenly waking me up - it's unnecessary and there appears to be no way I can shut it off quietly.

Recharging: This is via a usb socket to your pc or mains charging unit (not supplied). I like the fact that the unit will tell you when the battery is full (a feature I wish my "jam-pot" speaker had) . One minus point is that if you leave it on, it shouts at you demanding to be recharged in quite a loud volume, which can't be moderated. This can be an issue if you accidentally forget to switch it off and the battery runs down in the middle of the night.

Update February 2016 - I liked the little cable carry but twisting it round and pressing it onto the base seems to have had the effect of breaking the connection in the cable because it no longer works when I plug it into non-Bluetooth peripherals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A full sound in a very compact size, 22 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Jabra Solemate Mini Wireless Bluetooth Speaker - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Jabra Solemate Mini Bluetooth Portable Music Speaker is a little smaller than what I expected, underlying the fact that is very much made to be portable. It's very compact and light and will not take up much room when packed into a travel bag. It also has a very robust and solid feel to it and gives the impression it could easily withstand the rigor of regular travel.

Usability is excellent, my iPhone detected and connected to it immediately via Bluetooth, with a voice confirming the pairing. It also has a 3.5mm phono plug as well as a USB port, and includes the necessary cables, so it has good connectivity options. When fully charged it boasts an 8 hour battery life which is excellent and means you can leave music to play for long periods without having to worry about constant re-charging. When the battery does start running low it gives a voice warning prompting for a re-charge.

The most important feature of a speaker is, of course, sound quality, and in this respect the Jabra Solemate is excellent. For a speaker that's on the small side it gives a very full and wholesome sound and isn't tinny in the slightest. Even at high volumes the sound performance is very impressive and this speaker could easily be used as the main speaker for a single room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pity about the electronic voice and sound effects, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Solemate looks good. The Bluetooth pairs easily. The operation is straightforward and the functionality is great. It's very easy to use with my Android phone via Bluetooth or via the included 3.5mm cable. It's handy that the 3.5mm cable can be stowed underneath; I just wish the USB cable could be stowed there too.

The music quality is OK, though not up to what I was expecting from some of the other reviews. The volume, too, is not as high as I thought it would be. But both are quite adequate for my own needs.

The only real negative is the very loud electronic voice that tells you to pair the Bluetooth, and that tells you when to charge the battery (perhaps in the middle of the night, if you forgot to switch the device off when you finished using it!), and the very loud electronic sound when you switch it on and off. I wish there was a way to turn this off.

Update: Yes! By holding down the "minus" button when turning on the device, it's possible to disable the electronic voice and other sound prompts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jabra has done it again :), 7 May 2015
The immense experience from the Jabra Solemate is something worth more than just mere words on a screen. This is a product which is best understood from you trying it out yourself, obvious speculation would lead you to the reviews in-order to get an idea of how this operates and looks within a neutral setting. The first thing to mention about the Solemate is the incredible design of the packaging and how the product is perched perfect on a stand to give a full 360 degree view, the level of detail put into the crystal box with the seal-locking mechanism makes this product feel more premium as you feel privileged to un-box it.

Once you “unleash your Solemate” – stated on the packaging; the product is easily accessible and quick to pick up and start playing with. Below where the speaker sits are the accessories and instructions, consisting of; a sound bag (essentially a protective case), the charging cable and manual. The nice trick with this is that if you flip the speaker, underneath is the aux lead, this has been moulding specifically for the cable to fit seamlessly and is a really nice touch.

To turn the Solemate on you simply push the power button upwards and release, this will power it up. You can tell as a green LED comes on and the speaker makes a trembling sound (really nice feature), push it up again, hold for 3 seconds and the LED turns to blue indicating Bluetooth is active. This also has voice guidance so you will hear (in my case a guy with an American accent) telling you it’s now time to pair your device to the Solemate – another nice touch.

Once you are connected you then go to your music library and starting playing your tunes, it’s as simple as that. You can also play your music through the jack socket with the aux cable if you have a non-Bluetooth device. You can make and receive calls with the hands-free button on the top (you can even redial the last number by double clicking the middle button). With an 8hr playtime and just 2.5hrs charging time, you should be more than entertained throughout a party or just relaxing with music. It also has NFC capabilities, so check that out for an even quicker method of use.

Overall this a fantastic product, setting aside how much detail they put into the packaging (a lot) this really is a great speaker. The quality of sound, all the features and responsiveness between the devices make this an essential purchase for anyone looking for a top-end portable speaker. Brilliant product deserves 5 stars easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect All Round Speaker, 28 April 2015
I have been looking for a speaker that would be perfect for the summer and for use in the garden for ages and then I came across this, a few of my friends have Jabra headphones and rave about them so I thought i couldn't go wrong.

When i received the speaker it comes in nice box, and is all round protected so i can store it away when not in use. The speaker is relatively heavy for its side, but this is probably good for outside use! It is coated in thick silicone so is definitely durable, and i imagine could survive a bump or 2! The silicone has a nice smooth finish so its comfortable to hold, but a jagged finish on the bottom so is great for outside surfaces. In the bottom of the speaker there is an aux cable that is smartly coiled into the silicone so it doesnt get damaged when your not using it.

When i first turned the speaker on, it prompts you to connect to your device via bluetooth, once switched on on my iPhone it found the solemate straight away and was connected with the touch of a button. For the cost i wasn't expecting perfect audio but i was pleasantly surprised, on full volume there is no distortion and the sounds is rich and clear. So far i have only used the speaker via bluetooth but the added aux cable is handy to use with some older devices such as my iPod. There is a speaker on both sides meaning that you get all round sound.

The Jabra Solemate is also dust splashproof, what more could you want at a BBQ. On top of the speaker are volume buttons so you can easily keep your phone in the pocket and change the volume at the same time. I've been using my speaker on and off for 3 days and still have power, if you press the middle button ('speech bubble') it even tells you how much charge you have left! Once you do run out you can easily re-charge with the included Micro USB cable in a speedy 2 hours.

Overall if you are looking for the perfect speaker for the summer, whether its in the garden or on holiday, you should invest int he Jabra Solemate Mini
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good portable speaker for going out and about, 27 April 2015
This is a really good functional speaker. Its best features are its clear sound, thick rubber base and little hanging tag – these make it really good for taking out and about, it could sit on any surface, even a wet one and it wouldn't matter - you could even hang it from something.

It has a really nice weight to it, not too light that it feels cheap and not too heavy to carry. The surface finish is beautiful and you can tell they have thought about the function/form balance. It does seem to be aimed at a male audience, though I could imagine some girls buying it too – it kind of reminds me of Doc Martin boots and they have managed to remain non-gender specific.

Connection is easy – takes a few seconds and plays straight away, though they do recommend for the best sound you use the Jabra App – this means you have to open that app rather than your normal player, but it’s just to make use of the Dolby sound feature and you wouldn't really notice the difference with using your usual player app.

The sound is not omnidirectional, it seems that the mid/high range comes out the front, and the bass out the back, but this is actually good if you position the unit near a wall as all the sound is reflected at you. Though it still sounds good in an open space too.

A feature that doesn't bother me but could some is the little intro bit it does when you connect to it, you get a few seconds of a drum loop which I guess is meant to fill the silent void, then in an American accent it states ‘Solemate is connected’.

The battery life seems really good, around 5-10 hours depending upon how loud you play it, and you get a little bag to put it in so it’s protected.

All-in-all a really good speaker for the money and will be coming camping and to the beach with me a lot this summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Solemate exceeded my expectation as a mini portable speaker, 26 April 2015
I’ve wanted a decent portable speaker for awhile, especially as summer is on its way and with BBQ season, festivals and holidays around the corner, I wanted something that was light weight and small to tuck away in my suitcase and the Solemate Mini is perfect for just that.

To start, the packaging the speaker came in looks aesthetically appealing. On the back of the box, there is a little diagram annotating the features of the speaker, which is really handy. Especially as I learnt the 3.5mm cable is stored underneath the speaker. Which is great, as I hate wires flowing around everywhere. I wish the USB cable could have also been stored away underneath the speakers too, but its not the end of the world that its not.

When you turn on the speaker you will hear a robotic voice that will advice you to connect to the Bluetooth function (if you dire to) and once connected he will inform you that you connected successfully. He is quite loud, but once you have connected you won’t hear him again. He only seems to pop up whenever you turn on the speaker.

Connecting to the Bluetooth function was extremely easy; I was basically connected in seconds. If you don’t want to use the Bluetooth function, you can use the 3.5mm cable (connect it to the headphone socket on your device) or you can use the NFC to quickly connect. It is pretty handy that there is multiple ways to connect to the Solemate, as sometimes I want to listen to the music on my iPod Classic, which doesn’t have Bluetooth.

The Solemate looks really stylish, the front and back of the speak are metal speaker grilles, where all the other surfaces have a rubber finish that makes it quite durable. But that doesn’t take away from the aesthetic of the speaker.

Also, the top has three rubberized button that must be pressed firmly, you have the two volume buttons, which is really handy so you don’t have to keep going back to your device to change the volume. The centre button will perform different functions depending on what is connected but for example it will answer or end a phone call, or initiate a Bluetooth pairing.

The battery does last as long as it says on the box, which is 8 hours. Personally I think that’s enough time. You can charge it using the USB data cable (which is included) via your laptop or a USB plug adapter (which is not included).

Most importantly the sound of the Solemate is amazing, it is a lot better than I expected and it does go pretty loud. I have a medium size bedroom and the sound filled the whole room. I tried it with various genres of music and the quality doesn’t differ. The bass on the speakers is also very good for the size of it. I think its enough sound for what I’ll be using it for.

In conclusion I would defiantly recommend this speaker to anyone who is looking for something small and portable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punchy little blighter!, 19 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jabra Solemate Mini Wireless Bluetooth Speaker - Black (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When this arrived I thought it was a mistake - the packet was so small, and light that I thought it must be the wrong item - BUT that all changed when I opened the box.

This tiny active speaker system is all that it promises to be and more - because it is so small, you genuinely can take it around with you!

Firstly, both of the long sides of the system are metal speaker grilles, whereas all other surfaces are a warm rubber finish. The bottom which is chunky like the soul of a boot has a 3.5mm stereo lead built in so that you can connect from the headphone socket of your phone or mp3 player. One side has a socket for the 3.5mm cable, an on/off switch and a USB charging socket. The other side has the legend NFC emblazed on it.

The top has three rubberised button that must be pressed firmly, the outer two are volume up and down. When you press them a beep is heard through the speakers. The centre button will perform different functions depending on what is connected but for example it will answer or end a phone call, or initiate a bluetooth pairing.

As soon as you power it up (it comes partially charged) it speaks to you! A male voice suggest that you connect to it by Bluetooth, and carries on until you do, whereupon it tells you it has been paired.

All I had to do with my Nokia 920 Windows phone was touch it against the side saying "NFC" and immediately my phone came up with the invitation to "pair" over Bluetooth, I said yes and with that I had music playing.

The sound quality is deceptively good, if slightly directional (because of the size of the unit). Whilst not too loud, it would be inappropriate to criticise its quality. Even the bass is good, which from such small speaker drivers is always hard. It delivers a satisfactory volume level for any use I would put it to.

I think that I expected something 4 times the physical size but with exactly this sound quality. It has to be a plus that the system is so small, and I can thoroughly recommend it at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great (small) Booming speaker, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The speaker is small enough to fit in your palm (Unless you have very small hands), which makes it very handy. The battery life is quite good too..It comes with an aux cable cleverly hidden/tucked away in a groove underneath the speaker. It can be used with the aux cable or bluetooth - I have used both and have not noticed any difference in sound quality.

Now sound quality - the sound has a heavy bass bias to it. It is quite surprising that a speaker that small is able to produce that much bass and while it may be good for certain types of music and occasions, other occasions demand more of a subtle sound...this speaker seems to do just one style - all out bass.

Turn it on or off and your action is confirmed with a deep reverberating 'boom'..nice sound effect which gets tired after a while..

All in all, I am pleased with my purchase and have given it 4 stars - purely because of the at times overbearing bass sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews