Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheshire stalwarts
We have every edition of this guide published over the last 20 years, and in that time have also reported on hundreds of pubs. We have hardly ever been let down by any pub listed as a main entry, and in the very small number of cases where we have, this has usually been due to a change of management. Our reason for not giving it a full five stars it that we agree that...
Published 12 months ago by Brian Marsden

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not like it used to be
I have bought the Good Pub Guide for decades - but may not buy the 2014 edition, and not because Messrs Aird and Stapley think thousands of pubs deserve to close. I have to confess a vested interest here, as I run my own pub review website and use the GPG for reference (not plagiarism I can assure you). Over the past few years I have referred to it less often because the...
Published 12 months ago by Paulk


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impartial, 30 Aug 2013
Paid entries cannot give a true reflection of the pubs reviewed. Get the Camra guide instead which doesn't require the pubs listed to be paid. Authors have no idea of what's happening in the trade they are writing about. The cheap publicity stunt where they wished many pubs to close (4000) proves this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not an independent guide, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Geoffrey Pierson (Churt, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
On page 24 it states that "Those pubs featured with Main Entries do pay a fee ...". This tells us all we need to know.

Having previously purchased the Good Pub Guide every year, I no longer do so because it is not impartial.

The CAMRA Good Beer Guide is a better alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars He who pays the piper..., 30 Aug 2013
Just how impartial and "independent" can a review be when the business being reviewed has paid the reviewer for the review in the first place.

Better off reading the CAMRA guide.

As for their "editorial" comments on the UK pub trade... not very helpful and shows no understanding whatsoever for the struggle many publicans have to undergo to make a living, let alone re-invest in their pubs, especially the 80% of tied tenants who earn less than 15k a year from their pubs

Spend your money on buying a few pints in your local...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Guide, 30 Aug 2013
Having read the recent comments that have recently been written I thought I would stand up for this excellent guide which has been around for many years. I am happy to state my name and not hide behind silly names!

The Good Pub Guide is easy to understand and gives straight-forward information which is vital if you are travelling anywhere especially when you have children or pets.

I understand the comments about the cost of entries, however, you have to pay a subscription for the Camra Guide so isn't that just the same thing although I suppose it's easier just to overlook that!! Sadly the cost of everything in life is rising and I'm sure that the Good Pub Guide would love not to have to charge people but from what I understand it is only to cover costs so that the guide can continue and not buy a pub a place.

Anyway, I'm happy to say I have my copy for 2014 and will continue to be a strong supporter!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid like the plague, 29 Aug 2013
By 
This guide relies on the recommended pubs paying for inclusion. So no matter how good a pub is it will not be included unless they pay.
This is hardly how I want to receive recommendations, especially when I am expected to pay for what amounts to nothing more than a book of paid for adverts.
On that basis they should give it away.
There are far better guides and the ones CAMRA publish do not charge for inclusion so they have a degree of being included purely on merit.Camra's Good Beer Guide 2014
That this latest version also has an anti pub and publican editorial is truly remarkable.
Any publication that purports to be about a particular sector that so wholeheartedly rubbishes the very people it relies on must have seriously lost its way.
That it is so out of touch and ignorant of the issues facing this industry is obvious.
These include the economic crisis, supermarket pricing, smoking ban and last but by no means least the massive damage wrought by the property owning, not brewers in most cases, companies that now own most pubs. High rents and excessive overcharging of the products, most licensees are tied into buying all stock through these debt laden Pubcos, often paying nearly double what they could in a free market. This means many have no chance at all and are simply run down with an almost annual change of licensee.
That or sold to supermarkets for development.
CAMRA state that the current rate of closure is 26 a week. The editors of this "guide" have managed to "forecast" this up to 58 without explaining how they come to their conclusion.
Sensationalist headlines to attempt to get free publicity.
Having used it in the past many of the recommended pubs did not live up to expectations.
Avoid this totally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pictures, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is a lac of pictures in this book of the pubs ,spoiling a good book.
I would not have purchased this had i known
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars To beer guides what The Sun is to newspapers, 15 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. M. Goodson (Cambridge United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Pub Guide 2014 (Kindle Edition)
The gob-smackingly complacent intro to the effect that only bad pubs go out of business, and deserve to do, so sets the scene. The fact that a pub may have been successful and a lynch-pin of the community for 200 years but bad management for a couple of years gets it culled forever doesn't seem to occur to the authors. One should also bear in mind that pubs have to pay to be in the guide and hence get a sycophantic review focussed predominately on their food and how "smart" they are. If you love pubs don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing purchase, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Downs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have serious concerns about the impartiality of the entries and the apparently random nature of the pubs gaining or not gaining entry to the guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Anti-pub, anti beer, pro poncy gastro joint twonkology, 1 Sep 2013
If you want nice place place for Giles and Tabitha to enjoy a braised lamb shank with redcurrant jus then this is the book for you. Their vision of a pub is essentially a mid-priced restaurant with horse brasses on the wall.

The Good Pub Guide may tolerate beer in pubs if they also sell Cold Pressed Ox-Tongue, Caramelised Onions, Watercress & Cashel Blue starter and Olive & Rosemary Gnocchi, Globe Artichokes, Tomato & Sweet Pepper Coulis (34.95).

Don't forget that the Good Pub Guide charges for inclusion, so it can't be regarded as an objective guide to anything apart from which pubs are prepared to stump up their money to attract a clientele of snobs and poseurs.

This is a guide to pretension written by people who really don't like pubs, don't drink beer and would rather not have to meet the working class if possible. They actually say that more pubs need to shut and that those that are left should be more akin to European bistros.

In reality its exactly this type of petty middle-class snobbery that has destroyed pubs. Buy it if you like, but its title is way off the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Pub Guide 2014
The Good Pub Guide 2014 by Fiona Stapley
6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews