Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too short
...well, not that short, but that gets my only criticism out of the way, which is that I was left wanting more.
This is a book of several parts - dietary prescription, industry insider revelations, a cancer survival triumph story and a nail-biting cycle race narrative.
As a whole, this book might not have worked - and, on first reading, I thought it took a few...
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An honest book with useful advice. Not sure about quality
If you listen to Vinnie's podcast, then you will know his No Sugar No Grains approach (which I follow also), his personality shines though his words, if only all similar books were as honest!

I just found the book, whilst informative, a bit lacking in depth or 'dirt' if I was honest, especially for anyone with already a basic level of knowledge. The print...
Published 11 months ago by Lee_D


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, can't stop reading!, 22 Aug 2013
Great book, can't stop reading! It's like Vinnie is sitting besides you and sharing his experiencies and insights about body, health, life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book by accident. A very refreshing approach to health and fitness. Highly recommend the podcast, too!
Cut the crap, folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real Page Turner, 13 Aug 2013
This review is from: Fitness Confidential (Paperback)
Wow what a book i couldn't put it down from the 1st chapter to the lagniappe so easy to read and to relate to. If you haven't bought it yet then you should!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read Vinnie's book in one sitting. I've been listening to his podcast off and on for a while, but never knew his whole story. A great autobiography about how to face and triumph over huge challenges, and equally a good source of inspiration and no nonsense advice for how to get and stay fit. Enjoyable and well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting and informative. Smart response to the fitness industry.
Guy knows his stuff, and is pretty hilarious too, in a ranty kind of way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At last! An honest man......., 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The title of my review says it all - Vinnie is someone who's got nothing to gain by plugging products or leading you to "personally recommended" nutrition brands or other resources. What he does offer is advice and experience that has been gained the hard way - through endless hours of exercising (if you're heavily into exercising) and nutrition research (if you're reading his book for maintaining or improving your health). You'll find a paradigm shift in terms of nutrition, but you won't find any magic bullets for getting you super fit overnight - fitness, as he says, doesn't come in "5 minutes a day" - BUT, he puts it all into perspective and shows you that with perseverance anyone can raise their fitness to pretty much any level they want. A very refreshing book from someone who says it how it is. And, it is absolutely hilarious in places - without giving too much away read what he has to say about the trend of people getting colon cleanses - it had me laughing out loud.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Deal, 22 July 2013
By 
S. Shorrock (Shrewsbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Where do I start. This man's done it all and is still doing it. Hands-down the best fitness book I've ever read. If you're looking for the best diet or fitness routines don't buy this book. His diet's simple. No sugar - No gain. Exercise - train heavy. The rest of the book is about the man and his life. As a PT of 25 years myself I recognised a lot of what he's seen through his years in the fitness industry. It's also one of the best cycling books I've ever read too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trust me, just read it!, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fitness Confidential (Paperback)
What a truly inspiring man Vinnie Tortorich is. This book should be read by everyone, not just those who want to lose weight, get fit or train for some physical challenge. My new mantra is "cut the crap" and I had Vinnie's voice in my head at the gym this morning, urging me on. A moving, funny and inspirational book and not a sniff of any endorsement or sponsorship anywhere - this guy really does do it for the love of it. READ IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece !, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Aristotle once said " Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work.” Simply put 'Fitness Confidential' is a masterpiece - love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read. Never know what's around the corner with Vinnie, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Boofinboots (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a roller coaster read. First you think you're getting training and eating healthy advice, then you're on a medical journey only to find yourself going through one of the toughest 48h bike races in the world! A thoroughly enjoyable, multi-layered read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews