Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2008
This book is fantastic! As a parent I have found it invaluable as it is extremely easy to read and full of practical hints and tips to try at home about wide ranging issues. I also use it in a professional capacity in my work advising parents and teenagers in school. At such an affordable price it represents exceptional value for money. I thoroughly recommend this book to parents and also to professionals that work with children, young people and ther families.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2007
This book is essential reading for anyone with a teenager. It is very easy to read since each chapter uses a variety of techniques including a question and answer section, flashbacks (making you think back to how it felt when you were a teenager), ten top tips on how to ... (eg communicate with young people), lists of ways to spot things (eg teenagers with low self-esteem)

But the issues it raises (a teenager's world, feel-good factor, the role of the family, self-organisation, money, bullying, sex, drugs and alcohol, hobbies and pastimes, all my friends are allowed to...) are crucial to a young person's development. The book concludes by asking you to think about how you want to be remembered. It makes me think too about how you must make the most of the pleasure that your teenagers can bring you. Read it!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2005
This is a godsend to any parent of teenagers. Just when you feel you are about to blow - sit down with Whatever! and a cup of coffee. You instantly feel you are not alone. The book offers practical and useful ways to deal with so many common problems. With help like this i hope to come out the other side still friends with my kids!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2005
This book is essential reading for anyone with a teenager. It is very easy to read since each chapter uses a variety of techniques including a question and answer section, flashbacks (making you think back to how it felt when you were a teenager), ten top tips on how to ... (eg communicate with young people), lists of ways to spot things (eg teenagers with low self-esteem)
But the issues it raises (a teenager's world. Feel-good factor, the role of the family, self-organisation, money, bullying, sex, drugs and alcohol, hobbies and pastimes, all my friends are allowed to...) are crucial to a young person's development. The book concludes by asking you to think about how you want to be remembered. It makes me think too about how you must make the most of the pleasure that your teenagers can bring you. Read it!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2007
The authors of this immensely helpful book are Gill Hines, who has thirty years’ experience of working with children, and Alison Baverstock, who is a mother of four. Children’s author Jacqueline Wilson contributes a useful foreword. The book provides a wealth of useful strategies for parenting.

There are chapters on being a parent, being a teenager, self-esteem, communication (‘talk, don’t tell’), the role of the family, peer pressure, bullying, self-organisation, money, clothes, sex, drugs, drink and hobbies. Each chapter has a sensible discussion of the issue, followed by commonly asked questions and suggested answers.

On the important matter of sex, the authors observe that Denmark has the earliest introduction to sex education, and the lowest rate of teenage pregnancy. Doubtless, the other positive aspects of the Scandinavian social model are important too.

The authors’ key ideas are that parents should encourage teenagers to have a positive attitude towards themselves, and parents should try to remember how it was for them at that age. They also emphasise that parenting takes time and that it is a top priority.

Families need to renegotiate boundaries for the teenage years and they have to encourage young people to take the initiative and to take responsibility for their actions. This is best done by the parents setting good examples.

The authors recommend that parents should gradually stop doing things for teenagers, especially for boys, to ensure that they develop the skills they need for independence. The authors note, a little sadly, that all these efforts to improve relations with teenagers lead, as they should, to separation and independence.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2011
I attended Gill Hines' workshop at my son's school and bought the book straight afterwards. It is brilliant -makes you think about your own behaviour as well as that of your children, and how best to 'cope' with the teenage years. Buy it - you won't regret it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2005
For sensible and clearly set-out advice, there simply is not a better book aimed at parents of teenagers. But what I liked most about it was that it doesn't just TELL you what to do - it encourages you to think through why a particular situation has arisen, and to choose good solutions which will work for you and your teenager. Alison Baverstock and Gill Hines do a great job of helping parents decipher what a teenager may be thinking when behaving in a particular way. It is utterly reassuring - anything your teenager is doing is not your fault, but there are things you CAN do to help. Confident and happy teenagers are the very likely result of this book.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
As a parent of a teenage boy and a nearly teen girl, I attended a parenting workshop series a couple of years ago run by Gill Hines, after a recommendation by a parent friend I admire. Gill's way of managing a diverse group of parents with problems ranging from virtually none (ones trying to pre-empt problems) to the indescribably awful (self-harm, violence) was impressive and I felt I learned a lot of practical techniques as well as having the reassurance that I was not alone in my anxiety.

I purchased the book shortly afterwards and referred to it often. I have just been re-reading it , and again realised how full of sound help and advice it is. You can either read it from front to back or dip into the sections that are applicable to your concerns at the time. Looking back, now that my son is 17 and my daughter 14, I can see that my efforts to put into practice many of the suggestions, particularly about how you speak/communicate with your child/children, when my natural instinct might have been to shout and nag, have really paid off (have to confess have not always been successful!).

Of course, just buying or reading the book doesn't make you the perfect parent nor will you escape times of great worry about your teenagers, but I have found it an excellent practical resource, and makes me question my own motives and habits. Humour and common-sense abound, but not to the extent that problems are trivialised. I like the sections, so it is not overwhelming and the lists are really helpful. The examples and quotations from other parents and teenagers are pertinent and stick in the mind, and I have found myself remembering them in times of doubt. Would definitely recommend it as a voice of sanity during what can be a turbulent time for everyone concerned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2010
This book is great. Not only does it demystify the teenager, it also provides a wealth of commonsense strategies for dealing with your adolescent in a constructive manner.

While the dynamics of every family are different, I am sure there will be at least one thing (but probably more) in this book that any parent will find useful for dealing with their teenagers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
This is an excellent book that I would recommend to all parents of teenagers. Helps you to understand their behaviour and offers really useful tips on how to deal with them. It is easy to read and well worth the price. My household has been much calmer since I followed some of the advice in the book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)