Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very clear...
Looking through the Cross is the Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book for 2014. In the introduction Graham Tomlin writes, `This book is an act of two kinds of looking - looking at and looking through'. In the first two chapters he looks at the cross, first, as the place where God's wisdom is revealed in apparent foolishness and, second, where God heals the wound at the...
Published 15 months ago by M Carlisle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A different approach to a Lent book
The Lent books I've read before either have a session a day or a long session a week. This book broke away from that concept, which at first I liked but then decided was a flaw. i wanted to read it throughout Lent and I couldn't work out how much to read each day. I didn't finish it. There are some very good ideas in it so perhaps I will try again next year.
Published 11 months ago by B. Bampton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Through the Cross: The Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book 2014 (Kindle Edition)
It was thought provoking and challenging for anyone who believes. It gave clear insight into what faith is about and how life should be lived according to that faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book for Lenten reflection, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Through the Cross: The Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book 2014 (Kindle Edition)
It's been a few years since I found time to read a "Lent Book" in Lent! This one is endorsed by the new Archbishop of Canterbury Justin Welby and does not disappoint. Tomlin refrains from rambling but makes interesting links with topical events or common knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lent Book, 11 Mar. 2014
By 
J. Littler (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Through the Cross: The Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book 2014 (Kindle Edition)
Worth studying carefully to understand the essentials of Christianity, but it needs quite a lot of prior knowledge, so not for beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoughtful,challenging and an excellent summation of the reality of the cross and it's impact on humanity. No one will be disappointed by reading it,I am doing so for the second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book good service, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent deal.arrived here 8n good condition and wel lpackaged too-as books always,are from Amazon. I have yet to read it all but so far so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking Lenten read, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has proved to be a very helpful read and study for Lent this year, providing a meaningful way of reflecting on the cross of Christ in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lent reading, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent Lent book. Not "difficult" but certainty challenging. Each chapter can be read and thought about seperately over the weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enlightening and edifying, 13 May 2014
By 
curtis sonny (Trinidad, Caribbean) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book very explanatory and inspired when i read. I would recommend to anyone looking for a closer understanding of their faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought provoking &useful. Well chosen Justin. May thr force be with you. I don't want to add more. Why should i
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good book for those interested in learning more about the Christian views on the cross
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews