Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!
The bonus traks offered as en EP here really are excellent and i feel 'Atomica' is the pick of the lot and should be a single with a push for the chars, the remixes are good but the ten minute remix of love is lost is much slower than the 5 minute remix offered as a single track. All in all though definately worth it just for the first track!!!
Published 8 months ago by andrew david hobden

versus
11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SOMEWHAT MIFFED
I appreciate that it is one of the artist's functions to rip-off his public and it is the SOLE function of the record company to do likewise.
That said I still feel somewhat aggrieved to be asked to shell out 17 for what is only five new tracks.
The original was only brought out in March and I don't see why this "Day After" option could not have been made...
Published 8 months ago by Million Voices


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The bonus traks offered as en EP here really are excellent and i feel 'Atomica' is the pick of the lot and should be a single with a push for the chars, the remixes are good but the ten minute remix of love is lost is much slower than the 5 minute remix offered as a single track. All in all though definately worth it just for the first track!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should have won the Mercury prize, 5 Nov 2013
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Day Extra (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
The extra tracks are great - I might even prefer some of them to some of the tracks on the original album. 'Atomica', which opens the extras album has a 70s feel, as does 'Rocket Man'. All of the additional tracks, and there are 5 new ones in addition to the 3 extras on the deluxe version of the original release, are superb as are the remixes of 'Love is Lost' and 'I'd Rather be High'

The DVD collection, which includes the first 4 singles from The Next Day, is a worthwhile addition as is having a lyric sheet included which can be read easily this time.

Just great - for sure, this should have won the Mercury prize!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man Who Took 2013, 5 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: The Next Day Extra (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
Firstly The Next Day album came out, then a week later the Deluxe version and then a few months later this Collector's edition.
And although this is just to gain more money, I really don't mind paying out for them. Each brings a bit more Bowie Brilliance.
This Collectors Edition is packed with really great stuff, in a nice box all be it plain but still, two CDs, A DVD of all the Videos -love is lost, which is a shame as it is a great video!
The Next Day track is great, Bowie turns to some biblical being who tells it how it is about the Church. It was even Banned from YouTube after the Church hit back! Ten years off and his first album causes trouble!
The bonus track CD is full of Tracks that are just brilliant, and unlike some other artists who bring out bouns tracks that just aren't as good as the album they are cut from, Bowie's would fit right in with the first Next Day album! Where are we now was the first single to come out, where we see a older Bowie, that singles almost in a fragile voice, but this is a trick! The rest of the Album is remonstrant to Reality back in 2003. And there are aspects of all Bowie eras. Each listen you hear a bit more magic from the last listen! BUY IT NOW! you'll be happy with it, and you don't need to be a Bowie collector or even a huge Bowie Fan. This is 2013 Bowie! It's NME's album of the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorgeous boxset, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Kevin Lindsay (Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Day Extra (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
Okay, so you've heard the album, so what does the collector's edition offer over the standard album? First off, the package is in a really nice box, which has tectured interior. There arevtgen 6 inserts: 1 - The Next Day album, 2 - the extra tracks (really good), 3 - DVD of 4 videos, 4 - lyrics booklet, 5 - booklet of photos, 6 - a blank booklet entitled "You". Wonderful presentation of the album. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie best album ever, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Day Extra (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of the works of mr Bowie since Life on Mars? Was released 1973 and earlier Mott the hoople - all the young Dudes etc then Aladdin Sane I ordered his back catalogue Ziggy, Hunky Dory, and Deram LP's. Love the Low/Heroes stuff Baal and have purchased every Album and single, CD and DVD available.

This is bye far my favourite Album off all his back catalogue, total genius. Love his classic single releases but this album has it all for me, and with extra tracks and a DVD well worth it, love the whole packaging and suprise single on his birthday 8 January, where are we now.

Some of his earlier albums were less than 40mins long so this is a bargain at over 1 hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie Bonus, 11 Nov 2013
By 
traveller (stirling, scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Day Extra (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
This was a gift for my husband who is a long-standing Bowie fan and he was delighted. Although he already has the album the collector's edition provides a bit extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cd of 2013 enjoy, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Day Extra (MP3 Download)
Every track is a single some remixes on the cd are better than the original tracks you can not say that often
A wonderful enchanted peace of work thanks David
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie,still Best., 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Day Extra (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
After all these years David Bowie always surprises and this collection is a must,full album,bonus tracks and dvd video brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album., 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Day Extra (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
The extras are great, just a shame to have to buy the same album twice.

I might start using my subscription services for new albums and wait for the Collectors Edition / Deluxe Edition / Special Edition etc. before buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping the best for last?, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Next Day Extra (Collector's Edition) (Audio CD)
I wasn't really that impressed with the original album, to the extent that I didn't actually get round to buying it at the time even though I’m a bit of a Bowie fan. But I’m really glad I held off! This set is vastly improved by the inclusion of the extra cd and to a lesser extent by the singles dvd. Atomica, Plan, The Informer, Like a Rocket Man, to name but a few of the tracks recorded with the original album tracks but unreleased, are excellent. The addition of the couple of remixes add an extra depth to the originals, especially on James Murphy’s Love is Lost, which has added brilliant textures and improved rhythms. While the singles dvd is a bit redundant, most people have U Tube access, it's nice to have in the event Sony ever block the videos. Note the excellent promo for James Murphy’s Love is Lost is not included on this extra disk. Since buying this set I have even started to like the original album. So I think it was well worth the wait. If you’ve reneged on buying this album the first time around don’t think anymore... it's worth it. Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Next Day Extra (Collector's Edition)
The Next Day Extra (Collector's Edition) by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews