Customer Reviews


238 Reviews
5 star:
 (202)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a behemoth of an album.....
In which our heroes discover Tool, unleash their inner prog, and in this reviewer's opinion cross the dividing line from "great", to "timeless".

I've followed Alter Bridge's career from its inception as "the good bits of Creed ditch that awful singer and get a really good one instead", through their first 3 albums (One Day Remains - solid if a little one paced,...
Published 19 months ago by Manir

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not fantastic like their first 3 albums
First off WOW what a sound loved the thundering Bass lines and fantastic Drums but the album felt rushed and more style over substance at times with only two really great songs in the epic Cry Of Achilles and the dark Waters Rising with Tremonti singing parts, maybe solo projects got in the way a bit and Kennedy's lyrics suffered because of it?, a shame because their...
Published 19 months ago by Jimmy


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a behemoth of an album....., 1 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
In which our heroes discover Tool, unleash their inner prog, and in this reviewer's opinion cross the dividing line from "great", to "timeless".

I've followed Alter Bridge's career from its inception as "the good bits of Creed ditch that awful singer and get a really good one instead", through their first 3 albums (One Day Remains - solid if a little one paced, Blackbird - slightly less solid but redeemed by the frankly astounding title track, AB3 - not a bad album but so unremittingly doomy it's hard work, and that's coming from a Peter Hammill fan), and saw them from their first gigs at the sadly departed London Astoria, to their current UK arena headlining status. So it's pleasing, and a little surprising in an era where a four album career is such a rarity, to be able to report that Fortress is Alter Bridge's best album by a distance.

There's a whole load of advances from AB3, from the Spanish guitar and slightly proggy structure to Cry of Achilles, to the Jeff Buckley-esque vocal on Lover, through to the title track, which has a twin-guitar section that is up there with anything I've heard in god knows how many years. The incredibly Tool-influenced Uninvited (which features in a really niftily clever recapitulation (how prog is that?!) in the companion piece Cry a River), and the anthemically riffy Addicted to Pain are also worthy of mention. There's a really epic feel to a lot of this album - an earlier reviewever mentioned Physical Graffiti, and I can definitely see the comparison - it's very much the work of a band who are sufficiently comfortable in their own skin to take a song idea wherever they want.

One of the most positive things about the album is the work of the rhythm section, particularly Scott Phillips on drums. It may well be his powerful yet not overly-flashy, almost Bonham-esque approach to the grooves on the album that elevate this to one of my favourite albums of a long time. Myles Kennedy still has probably the best voice in Rock, as well as a very, very good ear for guitar orchestration, and Mark Tremonti hasn't recorded a finer album.

I like it. A lot. You will too, if you're a fan of hard rock done well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are witnessing a band on fire about to explode!!, 4 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
I knew as soon as the opening Spanish guitar came into my ears, this was going to be something different to what they had done before and nothing short of a killer record. Make no mistake about it this is Alter Bridge at their most heavy and approaching an explosive conclusion as a serious stadium rock band. Every album they’ve done so far has improved on it’s predecessor and Fortress is their best album yet. They could have done the classic rock thing of having some success and playing to the radio… yet they’ve turned around, stuck two fingers up and done an album they wanted to do. This will annoy some commercial rock listeners and also some of their fare-weather fans. Personally I’m glad it does annoy people, that’s how you really know it’s good.

For me stand out tracks are: ‘Cry of Achilles’, ‘Calm The Fire’, ‘Lover’, ‘Waters Rising’ and the sure live hit ‘All Ends Well’

Fortress is a real mix of metal, prog and classic rock with a definite Tremonti influence. That alone has pushed Myles into delivering some stunning vocal work on these tracks. It really is breath taking at times.

Ignore the bore 3-4 star reviews. This is a five star album from a band who are seriously on fire right now. Sit back, turn it up and let the eruption unfold in front of your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
Alter Bridge have long been one of my favourite bands. I recall reviewing Blackbird and saying it was an amazing album full of fantastic songs. I'm pleased to say that after the superb ABIII, AB are back with what is easily their best album yet.

Clearly Mark Tremonti releasing his own album, Flip doing Projected and Myles Kennedy doing another album with Slash has meant they have reconvened with a serious purpose; To release the album of their lives.

There simply is no standout track as this is clearly a standout album in a genre marred by mediocrity. From the Tool like riffings of The Uninvited, the fist pumpingly anthemic Cry Of Achilles, the haunting and beautiful musings of Lover to the epic grandioseness of Fortress, you have an album that will grow on you very quickly and stay there forever. I admit this is quite an emotional album and will not be to everyones taste, but to me this is just sheer brilliance. There are mergings of different styles here that simply work well together and every musician is at 200% capacity. I haven't even mentioned the sheer power of Myles Kennedy's voice or the fact that Waters Rising lead by Tremonti is a wake up call to the fact he is an amazing vocalist!

If I could say anything else great about this album I would, all I can say is its a purchase I really don't regret and you won't either, it's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it !, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
Short : Great hard rock album.Buy it !

Long : If you consider how many albums are worth it nowadays , you ' ll find , unfortunately , that they are a few. Let me tell you , that this one is one of the best albums ever , in the top 3 of the year for me ( Along with A7X's Hail to the king and Dream Theater's ) and probably a very strong step in Alter Bridge's discography. Amazing guitars , huge bass and great drums.The vocals are outstanding.It's Kennedy man , what do you expect ? The tracks , especially 'Cry Of Achilles' , are all a masterpiece of their own . The creativity stands very high for those guys. Would definitely suggest it to you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Oct. 2013
By 
A. Woodbridge (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
Somebody once said to me listen to Alter Bridge - and I was hooked. Just added Fortress to my collection and it's brilliant. Can't put it down. I'm 52 years old and not supposed to like this stuff but, I can't help myself...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 29 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
From the introductory riff of Cry Of Achilles until the last lingering chords of Fotress fade away, this album is a solid demonstration of just how GOOD this band is. They've changed and improved vastly since One Day Remains, but remained true to their original ethos: brutally good guitar shreds and riffs, superb vocals and songwriting, and a total forgetfulness as to this "Creed" band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just buy it!!!!, 1 Oct. 2013
By 
Mrs. Julie Sheldon "jame" (sheffield england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
Followed rock bands all my life from sabbath and rush through to pearl jam etc, The point is i love rock / heavy rock and discovered alter bridge having followed Tremonti from Creed. They have simply just get better and better with me half expecting a turkey after their first three amazing albums and Tremonti and Kennedy working on their own stuff too (yes the Tremonti album is also superb). They are amazing live and hugely talented musicians, The only thing that surprises me is that there not in the stellar league with Myles Kennedy simply being an amazing find and the best rock singer out there and i include Brent Smith of Shinedown The album is their most complete yet and as the other reviews suggest probably their heaviest with amazing guitar interplay. A sign of a great album is no fillers where they run out of ideas and there's none on this. Its solid from start to finish and worth every one of the five stars. I am not picking any tracks out other than "waters rising" as Tremonti sings on it and yes the clever custards got a great rock voice too. Just keep it going chaps and for anybody who hasn't seen them live then make sure you do as they tour the uk this autumn with Shindown which is a double bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Brilliant album, 11 Oct. 2013
By 
T Abrahams (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
These guys are really talented musicians with the best vocalist in Rock. It is amazing they do not get any airplay on UK radio, people should be hearing this music. AB always manage to throw something new and exciting in the mix with their new albums and this does not disappoint. Do not expect a rerun of earlier albums - open your mind and listen to the beautiful vocals, lyrics and guitar playing - amazing. There's only one track i felt let them down but will leave that to you to check out. Go get it now, you will be glad you did - enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not fantastic like their first 3 albums, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
First off WOW what a sound loved the thundering Bass lines and fantastic Drums but the album felt rushed and more style over substance at times with only two really great songs in the epic Cry Of Achilles and the dark Waters Rising with Tremonti singing parts, maybe solo projects got in the way a bit and Kennedy's lyrics suffered because of it?, a shame because their first 3 albums are fantastic in everyway, hope the next album is a return to top form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably their best album...or at least a very, very close second to Blackbird., 21 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as there was an offer with a pick necklace (would have been buying the album anyway but this was a bonus!). The album is amazing. Not a bad track on it, totally recommend it. My favourite track changes but definitely between The Uninvited, Cry of Achilles and Waters Rising (Mark Tremonti and Myles Kennedy sharing vocals). Guitar pick necklace was claimed by my son to wear to the Glasgow gig!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fortress
Fortress by Alter Bridge
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews