Customer Reviews


200 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a behemoth of an album.....
In which our heroes discover Tool, unleash their inner prog, and in this reviewer's opinion cross the dividing line from "great", to "timeless".

I've followed Alter Bridge's career from its inception as "the good bits of Creed ditch that awful singer and get a really good one instead", through their first 3 albums (One Day Remains - solid if a little one paced,...
Published 11 months ago by Manir

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A SHAME!.
It's a shame that this is not as good as the other albums!. For me it seems that they rushed to finish it and with all of the other things that certain members of the band are doing it seems that it is interfering with the chemistry and ability of the band!. What a shame.
Published 5 months ago by MARTYN WRIGHT


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a behemoth of an album....., 1 Oct 2013
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
In which our heroes discover Tool, unleash their inner prog, and in this reviewer's opinion cross the dividing line from "great", to "timeless".

I've followed Alter Bridge's career from its inception as "the good bits of Creed ditch that awful singer and get a really good one instead", through their first 3 albums (One Day Remains - solid if a little one paced, Blackbird - slightly less solid but redeemed by the frankly astounding title track, AB3 - not a bad album but so unremittingly doomy it's hard work, and that's coming from a Peter Hammill fan), and saw them from their first gigs at the sadly departed London Astoria, to their current UK arena headlining status. So it's pleasing, and a little surprising in an era where a four album career is such a rarity, to be able to report that Fortress is Alter Bridge's best album by a distance.

There's a whole load of advances from AB3, from the Spanish guitar and slightly proggy structure to Cry of Achilles, to the Jeff Buckley-esque vocal on Lover, through to the title track, which has a twin-guitar section that is up there with anything I've heard in god knows how many years. The incredibly Tool-influenced Uninvited (which features in a really niftily clever recapitulation (how prog is that?!) in the companion piece Cry a River), and the anthemically riffy Addicted to Pain are also worthy of mention. There's a really epic feel to a lot of this album - an earlier reviewever mentioned Physical Graffiti, and I can definitely see the comparison - it's very much the work of a band who are sufficiently comfortable in their own skin to take a song idea wherever they want.

One of the most positive things about the album is the work of the rhythm section, particularly Scott Phillips on drums. It may well be his powerful yet not overly-flashy, almost Bonham-esque approach to the grooves on the album that elevate this to one of my favourite albums of a long time. Myles Kennedy still has probably the best voice in Rock, as well as a very, very good ear for guitar orchestration, and Mark Tremonti hasn't recorded a finer album.

I like it. A lot. You will too, if you're a fan of hard rock done well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
Alter Bridge have long been one of my favourite bands. I recall reviewing Blackbird and saying it was an amazing album full of fantastic songs. I'm pleased to say that after the superb ABIII, AB are back with what is easily their best album yet.

Clearly Mark Tremonti releasing his own album, Flip doing Projected and Myles Kennedy doing another album with Slash has meant they have reconvened with a serious purpose; To release the album of their lives.

There simply is no standout track as this is clearly a standout album in a genre marred by mediocrity. From the Tool like riffings of The Uninvited, the fist pumpingly anthemic Cry Of Achilles, the haunting and beautiful musings of Lover to the epic grandioseness of Fortress, you have an album that will grow on you very quickly and stay there forever. I admit this is quite an emotional album and will not be to everyones taste, but to me this is just sheer brilliance. There are mergings of different styles here that simply work well together and every musician is at 200% capacity. I haven't even mentioned the sheer power of Myles Kennedy's voice or the fact that Waters Rising lead by Tremonti is a wake up call to the fact he is an amazing vocalist!

If I could say anything else great about this album I would, all I can say is its a purchase I really don't regret and you won't either, it's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Oct 2013
By 
A. Woodbridge (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
Somebody once said to me listen to Alter Bridge - and I was hooked. Just added Fortress to my collection and it's brilliant. Can't put it down. I'm 52 years old and not supposed to like this stuff but, I can't help myself...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are witnessing a band on fire about to explode!!, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
I knew as soon as the opening Spanish guitar came into my ears, this was going to be something different to what they had done before and nothing short of a killer record. Make no mistake about it this is Alter Bridge at their most heavy and approaching an explosive conclusion as a serious stadium rock band. Every album they’ve done so far has improved on it’s predecessor and Fortress is their best album yet. They could have done the classic rock thing of having some success and playing to the radio… yet they’ve turned around, stuck two fingers up and done an album they wanted to do. This will annoy some commercial rock listeners and also some of their fare-weather fans. Personally I’m glad it does annoy people, that’s how you really know it’s good.

For me stand out tracks are: ‘Cry of Achilles’, ‘Calm The Fire’, ‘Lover’, ‘Waters Rising’ and the sure live hit ‘All Ends Well’

Fortress is a real mix of metal, prog and classic rock with a definite Tremonti influence. That alone has pushed Myles into delivering some stunning vocal work on these tracks. It really is breath taking at times.

Ignore the bore 3-4 star reviews. This is a five star album from a band who are seriously on fire right now. Sit back, turn it up and let the eruption unfold in front of your eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just buy it!!!!, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. Julie Sheldon "jame" (sheffield england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
Followed rock bands all my life from sabbath and rush through to pearl jam etc, The point is i love rock / heavy rock and discovered alter bridge having followed Tremonti from Creed. They have simply just get better and better with me half expecting a turkey after their first three amazing albums and Tremonti and Kennedy working on their own stuff too (yes the Tremonti album is also superb). They are amazing live and hugely talented musicians, The only thing that surprises me is that there not in the stellar league with Myles Kennedy simply being an amazing find and the best rock singer out there and i include Brent Smith of Shinedown The album is their most complete yet and as the other reviews suggest probably their heaviest with amazing guitar interplay. A sign of a great album is no fillers where they run out of ideas and there's none on this. Its solid from start to finish and worth every one of the five stars. I am not picking any tracks out other than "waters rising" as Tremonti sings on it and yes the clever custards got a great rock voice too. Just keep it going chaps and for anybody who hasn't seen them live then make sure you do as they tour the uk this autumn with Shindown which is a double bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A SHAME!., 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
It's a shame that this is not as good as the other albums!. For me it seems that they rushed to finish it and with all of the other things that certain members of the band are doing it seems that it is interfering with the chemistry and ability of the band!. What a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love This Band, 7 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
I didn't purchase this from Amazon but felt compelled to add my two cents worth.

Powerful, melodic rock and great to drive to, just watch your right foot doesn't push down on that right pedal too much ! I can't stop listening to this band, have their other albums too and every single one is brill, no fillers just pure top notch rock pumping out on each and every track. Will be looking out for any UK tour these guys will be doing and hopefully bagging myself a ticket !

If you love power rock then get this, you won't be disappointed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album so far?, 14 Feb 2014
By 
AndyL (Cambridgeshire/ Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (MP3 Download)
Alter Bridge are a very well respected band and their Guitarist Mark Tremonti is one of the Guitarists/Guitarists. Their singer also has a great loud bark of a voice. I think this is their best album yet but I think they can do even better...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic AB, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
Packed full of typical AB songs. " Lover " is a future classic. Overall not as strong as the previous album but it does contain some very good songs and a slight change in direction for the band on several tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album from a great band, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortress (Audio CD)
Alter Bridge must be one of the most consistent bands in the world of any genre.

On the first listen of each album there were always certain songs that I connected to before the rest and the same can be said after listening to 'Fortress'. Perhaps this is because of the progressively complex arrangements of each successive Alter Bridge album but that is what makes them an extraordinary band instead of ordinary.

It was the central songs of this album, namely 'Peace Is Broken', 'Calm The Fire' and 'Waters Rising' that initially captured my attention but after several listens of the album in its entirety it didn't take long for every track to grow on me. This is the sign of a future-classic album produced by a fantastic band that cannot be recommended enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fortress
Fortress by Alter Bridge
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews