Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical, 8 April 2010
By 
J. Skaife - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
I'm a bit of a cummings fan so please take effusive compliments for the poet for granted... but forgive me for making some more practical notes:

This edition is printed on the most horrible paper (why do that to poetry books that one will want to keep going back to and holding for hours?) with annoying variations in ink density from page to page.

The layout in contrast is good but not perfect with too many poems split across pages. This might seem nitpicking, but there is a graphic element to these poems.

There are useful and insightful commentaries by the editor who has, for me, made a good and extensive collection (well, it has my favourite ones and a number I hadn't read before).

There are a handful of illustrations by cummings which I find really helpful and complimentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book that enhances the poetry, 14 Feb 2012
By 
H. Beaton (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
Another review on here complains about the quality of paper and the way that the book is made up. To me, a first time reader of e.e.cummings, it enhances it. The paper, which is admittedly not high quality has a lovely feel to it, it makes the poems accessible and allows the book to be folded back so that one poem can be absorbed.
I believe that poetry books should allow the reader to absorb the writings and this one certainly does that with lovely text, paintings and a great, floppy cover.
I am now a huge fan, and this book goes many places with me, through my travels it is a very absorbing book which take wear and tear with delight.
Buy it now, it even smells loovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Making use of the Kindle App on a tablet with a large screen is particularly useful but I find the standard six inch screen of ., 21 July 2014
By 
Richard Johnston (Limerick, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Kindle Edition)
The poetry of E.E.Cummings is often very much a visual as well as a linguistic experience. The text is effectively formatted so as to preserve the unique patterns used by the poet. Making use of the Kindle App on a tablet with a large screen is particularly useful but I find the standard six inch screen of the Kindle is excellent too. Just make sure to adjust to an appropriate type size. A note in the book mentions that landscape mode may be a good way of viewing the poems.

This generous selection of Cummings' poetry is taken from a wide spectrum of the poet's creative life and organised into twelve thematic sections such as "A Child's World", "The Poetry of the Eye", "Love and its Mysteries", and so forth--flanked by a "Prelude" and "Postlude". The table of contents is thorough and takes the reader immediately to any specific poem and the entire volume is enhanced by an excellent introduction and commentary by Richard S. Kennedy as well as a photo of and a sketch by the poet.

This ebook can serve as a superb introduction to the work of Cummings or as a marvellous selection for those who have already come to love his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly not dull, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Kindle Edition)
The first book of poems that I have ever studied for school and not felt like bashing my head against the wall and burning the book.
That is very very high praise indeed as that has veen my predominant feeling for just about everything we have ever been forced to study in english.
He has a very unorthodox style and really libks it to the events of the time such as thanksgiving 1956.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ee cummings, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
If you enjoy poetry, then you should pick up this collection. It's slim, and written in such an intriguing way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poetry for E E Cummings fans, 9 May 2014
By 
Mr. A. Mowatt "humour magnate" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Kindle Edition)
Poetry is not something that would come top of my list of subjects to read on a regular basis. I was introduced to the works of E E Cummings by an ex colleague and read a few of them before being aware of this collection. I have enjoyed reading them and can certainly recommend this ebook as, perhaps, an introduction to E E Cummings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars e. e. cummings - Selected Poems 1923 - 1958 | Review, 5 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
e. e. cummings is an unremarkable poet - he's good but not great, and his work is easily overlooked. Nevertheless, he's well worth reading, and although his writing is a little too classical for my liking, it's still accessible to both literary scholars and the general public, in its way.

I wish I could say more - I'm fairly indifferent about this collection, it's too unmemorable and hasn't left me with the enlightened feeling that signals the end of a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Present, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
This was a Christmas present for one of my daughters who loves poetry. She was very pleased with the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read it! why?? since feeling is first, 5 April 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Selected Poems (Paperback)
Read it, d___ You! Well, i'm sorry, but though We may not Allagree with each and every of cummings' works, it is almost inevitable that something will be found amongst them, that strikes a common cord. The only fault in this book is that the editors had the effrontery, audacity, temerity, impertinence, and even bad, bold meanness to capitalize not only the first 'e' but also the second, and even the 'c' in the poet's name. Well, such blasphemy made me weep; that aside, however, it's a great collection of poems. Be sybaritic and hedonistic: have fun with the book the book. Okay, i suppose i theme can be overplayed. Nevertheless, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Selected Poems
Selected Poems by E. E. Cummings
£6.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews