Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still worth trying after all these years
If you've come across this product and never played WoW, nothing more can be said than give it a try. honestly it's next to no money, if you're an avid gamer and you find a few people to enjoy this game with you can get an immense amount of satisfaction and fun playing World of Warcraft.
Published 7 months ago by Gimboid

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Game does not install
I bought this game to learn about World of WarCraft, but it is a waste of money! Game does not install!
Published 5 months ago by HarryLeonard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still worth trying after all these years, 3 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World of Warcraft (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
If you've come across this product and never played WoW, nothing more can be said than give it a try. honestly it's next to no money, if you're an avid gamer and you find a few people to enjoy this game with you can get an immense amount of satisfaction and fun playing World of Warcraft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great with Friends!!, 2 Nov 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World of Warcraft (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have been a player of this game for around 6 years, I've been through the ups and downs of this game. I think parents should be made more aware of the games contents before considering a purchase though as the game itself is kid friendly, its the other players who can say explicit stuff. Most of the people who play this game are around 16+ and you can only imagine the things that are said in general that anyone can read. You start off with choosing a faction, either Alliance (Good Guys), or the Horde (Bad Guys), you then get a choice of 6 different races to play ranging from humans and orce, to goblins and pandas. Once choosing a race you then choose what class it will be, from warrior, shaman, priest, warlock, mage etc. Change the appearance, and choose a name and your off.

You start at level 1 in an area suited to your chosen race and your adventure begins here, you start fighting your way through mobs, exploring areas, doing quests to gain experience points, get enough of these and you'll level up. keep doing this over the massive area named Azeroth and eventually you'll be level 90. Don't be fooled though this will take some time, weeks, or even months depending on the amount of time you play. From quests, to dungeons, from upgrading your gear to epic raids, the game can be a time filler or an obsession.

I no longer play this game but I did meet a lot of people both good and bad and learnt a lot in life because of it. So before you buy you must ask yourself if you have the time to play a game such as this and how you will play it. Play this game around your life not the other way around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HAPPY!!, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
A great starter kit for those who've never played before and want to try it out. Highly recommended if you've never played an MMO before as its easy to pick up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9 years strong and still going need I say more??, 31 Dec 2013
By 
P. Morton (UK Baby!!!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World of Warcraft (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
After reading the other reviews on here I felt that I needed to contribute to them as it seems the other reviews tend to be on the negative side.
That said I'm not here to ignore any negative parts but to explain why WOW is such a good game and why it still stands the test of time.

Firstly the game is huge with so many different areas to explore challenges to face and people to meet this isn't the type of game that can be fully completed on a lazy Sunday afternoon. It takes time skill and a lot of patience but if you're willing to put in the work the end result is worth it.

As I write this Blizzard have already announced the next expansion and have said they still have more in the pipeline so you know you have a long time of playing ahead of you should you wish.

As for the game it self as said before you get to choose which faction you want to play as bet it Horde or Alliance. Which is good or bad is purely your own choice I favor the Horde but don't believe them to be Evil or your typical bad guys in all but looks.
The story line is slightly different depending on the choice made but later on the majority of quests and story line follow the same path as you will be doing some of the same quests with the neutral factions scattered across Azeroth.

You then choose your class from the Warrior, Druid, Mage, Monk Death knight etc etc each one having a completely different style of play. Some roles are best for Tanking (Taking damage and giving as good as you get) to the Healers (who help protect Tanks and other members of groups from an untimely demise).

The general idea is to complete quest chains that give you more of the story and background on the world of Azeroth and its inhabitants, as you progress so will the level of your character starting at level 1 and working your way to the current cap of 90, the next expansion level cap will be 100.

This can be done a number of ways by following the quest chains offered to you or by using the dungeons in game and leveling up there through to taking no quests and leveling up by just killing the various monsters found all over the place or by completing your professions. One guy leveled to 90 with out killing a single thing and solely leveled by mining ores around the world which is no small feat.

You can play the game at whatever pace you choose be it all day sessions to a few hours here and there it is totally up to you.

As you progress more areas become available for you to explore and quest in adding new items of Armor, Weapons, Mounts etc to collect.

When you reach the higher levels a lot of End game content becomes available to you, Heroic Versions of Dungeons as well as Huge 10-40 man Raids that will really test your skills to the limits and give Epic Items to the best of fighters from Trinkets to improve stats to Legendary Weapons and Mounts that can be so rare very few players get to own them.

I have been playing this game for too many years to mention and the value for money has never been matched by another game.

I have played the likes of Guild Wars 2, Everquest, Tera, Star Wars etc etc but these have been nothing compared to the might of WOW.
Guild Wars had such great ideas let down but a severe lack of end game content and boring as hell quests and yes I did get to Max Level and do as much as possible until in the end I just couldn't bring myself to log on ever again. Add to this that the amount of hacks and account theft was utterly ridiculous Mine was hacked 2 times despite password changes etc Guild Wars really let people down with the safety of their service.
Star Wars if it was called anything else would not have sold at all. I bought this with high hopes that were soon dashed as I explored the ever tedious nature of the Star Wars Universe and yes I am a massive Star Wars fan but can admit a turd of a game when I play it.
People have complained about the recent expansion but the Pandaren Race was involved in the Original Warcraft Strategy games so people complaining are just idiots really. Saying they are to cute and cuddly and childish has no real relevance the game play mechanics are solid admittedly leveling from 85-90 takes a long time and can be a bit of a chore but with the lush surroundings and new areas to explore it doesn't feel to bad in the end.

Blizzard are always looking to add new content adding new zones, Raids and story lines to the game just a while ago a whole new story unfolded with the end Raid Siege Of Ogrimmar and whole new areas to explore in Pandaria.

Now Blizzard have released this box set with the original Game and the last 3 expansions inc Cataclysm all for a stupidly low price all you need is Mists Of Pandaria and boom there goes the rest of your life lol.

AS for the person having trouble installing the game and giving it 1 star It must be something you are doing Iv never had any issues installing the game and have never inserted any discs into my pc its all been downloaded directly from the Battlenet client and yes it can take a while depending on your connection. I'm with Virgin 60 Meg took 90 mins to install.

So if you want a game that's easy to pick up and can take a long time to master buy WOW now.

See for yourself why this is the most successful MMORPG of all time and why the competition can't keep up (and ultimately end up free to play to try and attract any sort of player base).
I will happily pay a monthly sub for a good quality game with excellent customer support and plenty to see and do.
And if you do decide to give it a go look me up in game: Edkrusha on the EU Karazhan server. See you on the battle fields!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 10 Jan 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World of Warcraft (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
been playing this game for 2 years and was instantly addicted....to get the best out of iy you will need decent-ish specs on your computer. you can link up with other players through joining a guild or go it alone, depends on your personal preference. thousands of quests available and when you are done with those there is still never a shortage of other things to do. craft your own items to help you through the game. Over all I would reccommend this to anyone who wants to be a gamer as it offers a wide range of experiences. definately something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing game!, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
If this looks like you kind of game then it is. I played this for nearly 3 years and it does take up A LOT of your time, and you won't even notice it go by. But it is an incredible game! Very time consuming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
best thing i have brought for a while i would recommend people buy this asap cause u know wow is just that kewl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great with Friends, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have been a player of this game for around 7 years. nice game~

You can join a guild of like-minded people and run dungeons and raids with them instead of random players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game but horribly addictive, 20 Nov 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World of Warcraft (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Warning before I start - the Mists Of Pandaria expansion is a tedious, boring slog full of childish panda characters and juvenile dialogue. Don't waste your money on it unless you are three years old. The review below is for the rest of the game in general.

This is a massive game that allows you to take endless quest lines in any order your character can handle. I've been playing it since the second expansion, so a few years. It quickly becomes addictive and many people have to force themselves to take breaks from the game so real life doesn't suffer. I have played RPGs of one kind or another since the 1970s and this is the first one that has hooked me to the point I really did need to take a break or become addicted.

From the social multi-player side of things I have had the following experiences, which are common to many people :-

Although many adults play, the majority are kids. The kids are extremely rude most of the time, use endless foul language and don't tolerate "noobs". If you need to team up with random players to complete dungeons (which you have to do most of the time) then they just tear through as fast as they can and kick anyone from the group that they think is slowing them down. Dungeons used to be big challenges but the game has become unbalanced over the years so that low-level dungeons are no longer a slow, enjoyable and very tactical crawl. Now they are just a race to blitz as many mobs as you can, as fast as you can, to get the dungeon on your "achievements" list and level up.

You can join a guild of like-minded people and run dungeons and raids (harder dungeons) with them instead of random players. However like any organisation in the real world the guilds become infested with politics and personal animosities over time. Also many guilds do not raid regularly so the big rewards in the game are lost to you. The real "raiding guilds" want experienced raiders and lots of time commitment, so it's a chicken and egg situation if you want to raid. There is a newish web-site called Openraid that now offers an alternative way to sign up with a group and it falls somewhere between the two in-game guild styles of raid recruiting.

You can however (over time) meet some nice people here and there and team up with them. You can also solo any non-dungeon quests and also some dungeons once you get good enough gear. Generally you do need a guild though, as so many levelling and equipment/mount perks come along with them.

From the game play side of things I have the following experiences :-

Nearly all of the quests are of the type "Kill 10 of these, now kill 15 of the bigger ones, now kill 20 of those" etc. etc. But because the areas are so large and the creatures quite diverse it is entertaining enough. Also there are many classes of character you can play, so learning to kill the same things with a new toon (character) is an interesting challenge. Dungeons take your survival skills to another level and raids to the hardest level in terms of skill at playing your class.

There is also a player versus player (PVP) mode which obviously is real-time combat against other players, or groups of players. This really is a challenge!

In the end the quests get repetitive and boring but the raids are the things that provide the challenge and addiction once you have tried most player classes, unless you are more into PVP. Along the way you can also take up trades like smithing or collect mounts (horses, dragons etc.), or look for "pretty" armour to pose in and other juvenile pastimes.

All in all a good game for the money with never-ending permutations. However once you are at the top level with all of your toons there is not much to do. That's where the game falls down, the content can't be delivered quickly enough to keep up with levelling. The only thing Blizzard seem able to do is give you endless very repetitive quests to do for certain non-player factions, in order to gain reputation and get a few special bits of gear or skills. But these become mind-numbingly boring after a very short time. So the game is good while you are levelling but there is nothing at the end to keep your interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Game does not install, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I bought this game to learn about World of WarCraft, but it is a waste of money! Game does not install!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World of Warcraft (PC DVD)
World of Warcraft (PC DVD) by Blizzard (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews