Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Everything I have bought was delivered quickly abd was as described. I could not ask for more.
Published 13 days ago by Jill Setchfield

versus
50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't quite do what it says on the tin.
As a fan of Tyrion, and as one who has read all five of George R R Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" publications, i expected rather more from a book with this title than a single quote per page, and mostly short quotes at that in a limited sample of his host of one-liners. In short, and with apologies, i couldn't help feeling that i had been taken advantage of.
Published 7 months ago by J. W. Platt


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't quite do what it says on the tin., 1 Dec 2013
By 
J. W. Platt "Author of the Book" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fan of Tyrion, and as one who has read all five of George R R Martin's "Song of Ice and Fire" publications, i expected rather more from a book with this title than a single quote per page, and mostly short quotes at that in a limited sample of his host of one-liners. In short, and with apologies, i couldn't help feeling that i had been taken advantage of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A tad disappointing, 5 Dec 2013
I got this as a Christmas present for my Dad as we both lived the books and series, and Tyrion Lannister is one our favourite characters. I have "quality controlled" the book before giving it to him (I know I shouldn't have read it but couldn't resist!) and it's very disappointing!
One short quote per page! Really? It took me precisely 7 minutes to read. However, it is presented well with nice illustrations but wish I'd waited til New Year when loads had been donated to charity shops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars looks great...but not much to it, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the GOT books and series - I thought this would be full of Tyrion's witticism ...but unfortunately the substance isn't there - a bit disappointed really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Wit and Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as funny as I hoped it would be, I find the wit of Tyrion Lannister in the books and tv series absolutely brilliant but it didn't seem to come over quite so funny. Sorry about that review but it is only my personal opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A real money spinner, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A compact book just like the subject. I enjoyed Tyrion in all the Game of Thrones books and laughed out loud at many of his observations. The TV series is also not a disappointment, the actor is just as I imagined Tyrion. In this little offering some of the wit is out of context and is clearly just padding. Not worth the money, unless you are the one cashing in LOL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Feels almost carelessly made, 13 Nov 2013
"The Wit & Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister" is a nice-looking little hardback to own and skim through every now and then, and, being a huge fan of ASoIaF *and* Tyrion in particular, I probably would have bought it no matter what, but a few things bugged me:

1) Some of Tyrion's best quotes are actually not in here;
2) On the other hand, a few completely irrelevant, commonplace quotes, that are neither that witty nor that wise, *are* in here;
3) Dialogue was never added, even where it might have been important for context, which, in my opinion, is a significant loss (and is probably what prevented some of Tyrion's best quotes that depended on dialogue from being added, too);
4) There are absolutely no references as to which book each quote is from, which might have been a nice touch for organization issues.

(Also, as other reviewers have said, it does not make much sense to put out a book like this while the series is ongoing and the character is still alive, but that's beside the point.)

Overall, and while I always knew this would be nothing but a money-maker, I still expected a *better* money-maker; at the very least, something with better selection criteria and organization. This feels almost carelessly made.

Oh well, still a nice-looking extra if you're a huge -- really huge -- fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful awful awful, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wit & Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister (Kindle Edition)
Money making sell out. This book has 1 line per page, just quotes from the other books. What a waste of money. Wish I had read the other reviews before I bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why??, 15 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Wit & Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister (Kindle Edition)
Read the damn books!! Fine, Tyrion Lannister is funny but he is a smart character in context to the story, not a QI toilet book. I'm not going to do a 'finish the next book' rant as GRRM needs to take whatever time he needs to do it but this very much feels like a stop gap release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unable To Download!, 17 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wit & Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister (Kindle Edition)
I would have loved this book as I love Tyrion Lannister, one of the more decent characters in Game of Thrones and his wit is really funny, but although it is advertised as a Kindle version, and it clearly states it is a Kindle book: the thing would not download: came up as incompatable with this device although it is clearly a Kindle it was going onto: so what is up with Amazon? Attempted it several times and in the end had to have it returned for a refund. What a shame and what a total rip-off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars If you're looking for quality you've come to the wrong place..., 22 July 2014
By 
Rhys (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Half of what makes Tyrion's wit so much fun is the reaction he gets from the people around him. Context is vital and be warned you will find no context here. Merely a small collection of quotes that can be enjoyed so much more by just reading the books and enjoying Tyrion's sardonic attitude as just one thread in a larger tapestry. Just a shameless, half baked cash-in by the publishers I fear which sucks because with a little more effort this could have been a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wit & Wisdom of Tyrion Lannister
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews