Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People who bought this...are in for a treat!
Will Hodgkinson is the heir to Sue Townsend. This book is a wonderfully warm and witty instant classic. He comes from a family of writers and newspaper columnists so it is not surprising that he has written about them. What is surprising is how beautifully he has done it, how light his touch is, and how exquisitely funny the book is. I can't wait for the TV series.
Published 13 months ago by john moore

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An alternative way to look at life
Basically a story of Nev ( Will's father ) who is not satisfied with the way his life is panning out and it takes a severe dose of salmonella poisoning to make him take stock change direction and join a cult. Cults like this have been around for ages and if you're susceptible to their message it only takes a small push ( or in Will's father's case a near death episode )...
Published 11 months ago by David H J Ashdown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars People who bought this...are in for a treat!, 8 Jun. 2014
Will Hodgkinson is the heir to Sue Townsend. This book is a wonderfully warm and witty instant classic. He comes from a family of writers and newspaper columnists so it is not surprising that he has written about them. What is surprising is how beautifully he has done it, how light his touch is, and how exquisitely funny the book is. I can't wait for the TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest and most honest memoir I've read in a long time, 8 Jun. 2014
This might seem like an unusual story of a family turned upside down by a father's decision to follow a spiritual path, but actually it's a sweet, funny and touching account of how it feels to be a teenager in an uncertain world. Will Hodgkinson describes exactly how all of us struggle with life at 13 although his parents are a little more unusual than most. Although his Dad has taken to wearing robes and meditating and his Mum is busy branding her own version of feminism, Will describes his childhood without self-pity or anguish and is just as concerned with getting a girlfriend and his hairstyle. It's this approach to his account of his 'parents going weird' that makes it so enjoyable. Hodgkinson really captures teen angst, but never takes himself seriously. He's obviously taken a lot of time to think what his parents choices really meant to him and how they affected him and his brother. By the end of the book we see the family reconciled to Nev's decision and both sons emerging relatively unLarkined. I laughed out loud consistently through the book even when I was on the tube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hilarious and touching memoir, the Buddha of Suburbia for the 21st century, 9 Jun. 2014
This is a brilliantly observed memoir of what happened when the author's father suffered a life threatening bout of food poisoning after which he converted to the Brahma Kumaris and life was never the same again. Hodgkinson writes with a deftness of touch, creating hilarious scenes that had me laughing out loud as I tore through this book. His family are expertly painted- as if his father's new love of religion wasn't bad enough the teenage Hodgkinson has to put up with his domineering older swot of a brother Tom being a know it all and his mother writing a book called Sex Is Not Compulsory! It put me in mind of Adrian Mole meets the Buddha of Suburbia. Hodgkinson does not just play for laughs though with some incredibly touching and heartfelt moments as he navigates the choppy waters of teenage hood in his highly unusual family. As the end of the book approached I was sad for the journey to end, Hodgkinson felt like an old friend. An utterly charming book that will stay with you long after you have put it back on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Family and Other Yogis, 9 Jun. 2014
Achingly funny and heartbreaking - everyday kid's parents suffer food poisoning. What happens next will blow your mind. If you've ever liked My Family and Other Animals, Buddha of Suburbia or Catcher In The Rye you'll love the twist at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious from start to finish., 8 Jun. 2014
This review is from: The House is Full of Yogis (Kindle Edition)
Very funny and packed with humorous asides and barbed comments often throwaways at his Mum's expense.
I enjoyed observations such as Mum serving a takeaway that she had lovingly chucked into the microwave and my
eighteen year old son, who is now reading the book, confirmed the acute embarrassment that any teenager
would feel if their mother appeared on a prominent talk show proclaiming her celibacy and holding aloft her
international best seller "Sex is not Compulsory."
There is, however,more to the book than the humour and Mr Hodgkinson makes his observations without bitterness
toward his father to whom the Yogis refer or even toward his know all and dominant brother Tom. An excellent read
probably at a single sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An alternative way to look at life, 26 July 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Basically a story of Nev ( Will's father ) who is not satisfied with the way his life is panning out and it takes a severe dose of salmonella poisoning to make him take stock change direction and join a cult. Cults like this have been around for ages and if you're susceptible to their message it only takes a small push ( or in Will's father's case a near death episode ) to make you jump ship. Religions and cults serve as a way for humans to make themselves happy and give them reason to carry on - not everyone needs that reassurance but if you do ,go for it , who knows one of the myriad choices may actually be correct you just have to pick the one that you find acceptable. Whatever awaits us when we die will always be a subject that causes lots of controversy but whatever it is the main thing we need in this life is simply to be happy and not to impose what you believe on anyone else unless they genuinely want to know. You don't have to be a member of a Religion or Cult to be spiritual !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The House is Full of Yogis (Kindle Edition)
Very funny and clearly written with a deep sense of love and respect for the people and events that shaped the authors life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I also appreciate the description of self-absorption (in or out of the spiritual life) and the depth of love and respect you sho, 2 Aug. 2014
By 
Judy Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Thank you Will for this healing belly laugh of a book. And thank you for sharing your dad with a larger family who also appreciate that twinkle in Nev’s eye. As a student of the BKs I recognize your description of the difference between a subtle spiritual practice rolled seamlessly into a life and an earnest ritual publicly performed. I also appreciate the description of self-absorption (in or out of the spiritual life) and the depth of love and respect you showed for both your parents, each on their own journey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not much of a story, 4 Jun. 2015
By 
L. E. Roach - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot understand why this book was published - I read the whole thing waiting for this really interesting story to unveil itself - but it never did. The basic story line is that Will's Dad became a yogi and had some yogi friends over the house when Will was young. When the kids left home his Dad cashed in his flat and gave the money to the yoga foundation on the basis they would feed and clothe him for the rest of his life. Humorous, but not enough to make me laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will Hodgkinson paints a very funny, poignant, 10 April 2015
This is my first book review - ever, such is the quality of this read. Will Hodgkinson paints a very funny, poignant, touching and achingly accurate portrayal of growing up in middle class, 1980s, England. Even if you didn't, read it - it's a blast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The House is Full of Yogis
The House is Full of Yogis by Will Hodgkinson
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews