Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, but do we really need yet another compilation?
Firstly, this is a very good album. The poorest tracks on it are very good (e.g beyond here lies nothing, mighty quinn). Whilst the best are masterpieces (take your pick).Dylan has such an enormous back catalogue, containing some of the greatest songs ever written, and given that fact compilations of his best/most popular works will always be in demand. However, how many...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. D. Bain

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A career-skimming at best...
Yes, R. Poole has a point (several points...).
And one of the problems is the sheer quantity and quality of Dylan's work. And trying to fit that into a 2CD collection? Impossible. So what do you choose? Well, as Poole says, this has some goodies, some not-so-goodies, and some serious omissions. And apart from ones he suggests, where the hell is "Simple Twist of...
Published 8 months ago by P. A. Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, but do we really need yet another compilation?, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. D. Bain "Dave Bain" (Nottingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Firstly, this is a very good album. The poorest tracks on it are very good (e.g beyond here lies nothing, mighty quinn). Whilst the best are masterpieces (take your pick).Dylan has such an enormous back catalogue, containing some of the greatest songs ever written, and given that fact compilations of his best/most popular works will always be in demand. However, how many compilations do we actually need? Sony have already released Bob Dylan's greatest hits Vols 1, 2 and 3,as well as 'the best of Bob Dylan' vols 1 and 2, they also released the 2 cd set ' the essential Bob Dylan', a recent single disc compilation and the 2 and 3 cd compilation sets 'Dylan', as well as the 3 cd compilation 'the real Bob Dylan' (actually one of the best and cheapest of the compilations currently available. Now we have the very best of Bob Dylan available in both single and double cd formats. Why? By my calculations that amounts to 12 compilation albums. The actual figure is much higher than this as there are also many other Dylan compilations which can only be obtained on import (e.g Masterpieces, a 3 cd collection which was only released in Australia and Japan, there are more Dylan compilations out there than there are official Beatles albums. To summarise another excellent but absolutely unnecessary release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A career-skimming at best..., 4 Nov 2013
By 
P. A. Clarke (Oundle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Yes, R. Poole has a point (several points...).
And one of the problems is the sheer quantity and quality of Dylan's work. And trying to fit that into a 2CD collection? Impossible. So what do you choose? Well, as Poole says, this has some goodies, some not-so-goodies, and some serious omissions. And apart from ones he suggests, where the hell is "Simple Twist of Fate?" Or Maggie's Farm, or "One more cup of Coffee...? Or "Ballad of a Thin Man...? Totally outstanding numbers that would have contributed more dynamics and range.... And, yes.... the random order is unforgiveable. How can you appreciate a man's career arc if you jumble everything up?
So... while always good to wave the flag for Dylan - let's do it right. You gotta serve somebody.....!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best also!, 6 July 2014
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
It is Dylan - the man... along with The Beatles, the best also!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
Ruotsalainen Pentti (Finland, EU) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
I din't remember any longer how many great songs Bob D had written and performed! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delivered Late but Worth the Wait!, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Great cd's and could happily listen to for many hours.

Really pleased with purchase and would highly recommend.

Should have been delivered by 11th but did not receive until 20th.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Great CD, I just love this music listen to it all the time, I would recommend this record as I am sure it would give you as much pleasure as get from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice listen, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Bought it for my husband as a 'wish list' present & he likes it very much. Has it on most days..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than we remembered!, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
Great range of tracks-nostalgic and cheap!
Recommend to all fans and the youngsters too-Adele's track was a suprsie to us!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a listen, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
A good album for those wanting to listen to their favourite Dylan tracks. Ideal for playing on the move when you don't have time to flip through the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of (Audio CD)
This cd was better than I expected all my old favourites, great time listening to it while traveling in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of
The Very Best Of by Bob Dylan (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews