Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
162
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2013
Continues the story of two main characters through there service in the second legion. It brings ancient history to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Well written, pulls you into the story in the first page. The author knows his subject. Brilliant read, recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
Another well written and exciting story by an author that always delivers. I look forward to book 3 in this series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Another good read great characters they get through some bad times in this book only to come up smelling of roses
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
A very good read looking forward to the next chapter in the Cato & marco series hope the next one is just as good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Very good read. Having read all but the last of this series I will look at other Scarrow novels in the future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
This was deliverered promptly and does just what it says on the cover, a good buy at a good price thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2010
As my recent spate of reading speeds up , i completed the second simon scarrow book in the same time length as the first. The second book picks up as the second legion arive in britain in order to defeat the locals and add the bit of land to the empire. The book follows Cato and Macro as they battle and protect the roman empire , all the while questioning the design of the empire and its running.

The books main battles take place around the thames and cammolodunum (modern day colchester) , as well as this there are rumours of a plot to kill claudius and drastic changes to the empire. On top of this cato must face problems with his love lavinia and more hostility from his superiors.

This book has a lot more action than the first as the battles are more intense and the fights are closer , the writing leads you to really feel about the characters and their are many times in the book where you are wondering and hoping for their safety.

The book also carrys the politics outside of the conquest better and is done in short bursts , so you dont forget about whats happening elsewhere. As its the same characters they are easier to remember and their seems to be only one or two random characters that pop up.

In order to get the most out of this book and to really understand it , you do need to read the first book as their are a lot of references to previous skirmishes and meetings.

The plot is very exciting and isn't just about the fighting , the backstory of love , conspiracy and politics gives it an edge and keeps you intrested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
My 12 yr old son loves the series of books this belongs to
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
Both my husband and my son are now hooked to these books!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)