Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 2 Oct. 2011
I have just finished reading Mr. Nasser's book, and it has left me in awe of the man for what he endured and overcame during and after the horrific years of Nazi rule in Europe.
Because of the subject matter, and the story like way it has been conveyed, some of the pages were very difficult to read. Other pages were impossible not to read. It is a story of impossible hope, insurmountable suffering, and, ultimately, the power of love.
I have read many holocaust books, though none have touched me quite in the way this tale has. In fact I would suggest this book should be on the curriculum of every school.
Mr. Nasser, I know that many like you did not survive the camps, but I'm glad you did to bring us all your gift of this book, which is, quite simply, unforgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing tail, 10 Mar. 2008
Having attended a wedding near Seeshaupt (Bavaria), I came across this biography of the early years of Stephen Nasser during the Nazi era. Most of his story took place in a forced labour camp east of Munich. However, towards the end of the Nazi period, a large group of surviving inmates were transported by train to....well, that was not at all clear and depended on the progress of the Allied troops in that area. Another one of these rogue trains to "anywhere". This group's train came to a halt at Seeshaupt station. We came across the Memorial near the station, for those who survived and the 100 or so who arrived dead.
I'll quote from just one episode described in the book. Stephen, on a starvation ration and having been worked well beyond his ability for week, had just been rescued out of the arms of an SS-man by an engineer. The SS-man was about to throw him down a funnel which led through the blades of a cement grinder, and to certain death. He managed to say "Danke schoen" (Thank you). The engineer looked at him, 'offering no reply but a nod. The mere look in his eyes seems to say it all, though, "I'm ashamed of the German army, the SS, and the whole so-called human race." '
His determination to live on being the sole survivor of his family, is remarkable. Humanity should (have) learn(ed) from this cautionary tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survival, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No book could have a more stunning opening than this account of slaughter at the moment when the author thought he had been released from internment in a concentration camp.
It traces his captivity, how, with his brother, he evades death and is transferred to a another camp of indescribable horror. But, throughout all this he teaches us how his indomitable spirit helped him survive. Woven into it is the poignant story of how his brother gave the author the will and the strength to survive - and the drive to tell others about what happened.
Finally, he makes his way back home through war-torn Europe just as the Cold War is starting. There he sees the magnitude of what has happened. Meeting a family member, he realises how cruel it would be to reveal what happened to the rest of the family.
It's a bleak story but one that's full of hope because it shows the human ability to rise above the horrors and to still care and nurture others. Reading this account raises the very real possibility that the human race has the ability to overcome intolerance and make the world a hatred-free place.

This is a book everyone should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique - A holocaust teenage survivor., 10 Mar. 2012
While there have been many biographies, and auto-biographies of survivors of the holocaust, this is the first one I have read of a teenager surviving. Stephen (Istvan) a Hungarian was incarcerated with his mother and brother in the concentration camp; his older brother survived with him for a while, but then succumbed to illness, through lack of nourishment, and the filthy squalor they were forced to live in. His mother and his wider family also perished in the camp.Stephen was saved just in time when war ended.; but again he was a victim of circumstances, the Communists moved into Hungary and Stephen decided to leave his homeland, and immigrated to Canada in 1948. Ten years later he moved to the U.S He is married with children, grandchildren and two great grandchildren.
This is a moving story, not only of a holocaust survivor, but of a childhood lost forever. Most people are able to say at the end of their lives that their youth was "the happiest time of their life" sadly this is not the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that takes you beyond liberation day, brilliant read., 9 Dec. 2011
I can't begin to believe the suffering "Pista" went through, the main character in this book. This is a straight from the heart book of his account of being a Jew at the hands of the Nazis. This book really brings home to you not only the physical suffering of this poor race, but the way everything they had was taken from them like they deserved nothing they had worked so hard for all their lives. I have read many of these types of books, but this one really gets you inside of the Jewish community and how they had to start again after the war. Most books leave you at liberation day, but this one continues to show you the aftermath that these poor people also faced when trying to rebuild their lives. Their are some parts that are not for the sqeamish, although they are factual accounts of what this poor family endured. A brilliantly written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Read, 5 Feb. 2012
This book is a 'must read' book.The terror brought to millions by the Nazis must never be forgotten and some of the detail, particularly their brutality towards children, is shocking to this day.
The book is compelling to read.It has you wanting to know what happens next and about how the author survived and got on with his life.I have already asked the author, Stephen Pista Nasser, to write a second book telling us about the rest of his life after leaving Europe.
What shines through this book is the author's strength of mind and resilience to survive against all the odds; it makes all the problems in your own life seem insignificant in comparison.
A brilliant book written by an extraordinary man.It should be read by everyone, particularly the young.I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a reminder that Hungarian Jews suffered, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A story of survival in the death camps created by the Nazi's and the sheer will to live that the human spirit has despite terrible, unimaginable horror. At times you think that things just can't get worse - but then they do. The way that inmates were dehumanised comes accross very clearly in this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heart felt, 17 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written account of a boy who survived the holocaust. It covers his life before, during and immediately afterwards; I was surprised about how little of the book is devoted to his time in the camp. And I'd liked to have known if his diary was ever found?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pista, 31 Dec. 2011
By 
D. J. Geninazza "Book Worm" (Eastbourne UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is not a novel but a true account of Pista and his survival written by himself. An excellent read, very in depth detail of one young boys' survival, impossible to imagine such cruelty by one human being to another, Pista suffered so much in the one year he was incarcerated, a real eye opener, well worth buying. I would recommend to any one interested in the Holocaust and the survivors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply the best book i have read!!, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Of the 20 - 25 books i have read on this subject this is simply the best. It is well written and keeps the reader engrosed all the way through. I have read many books that have been written by holocaust survivors that played many roles in various concentration camps - doctors, sonder komando,and german guards, etc - and 'factual' ones (thats not to say that the survivor one's aren't) that try to identify the reasons behind it and its birth from a documentorial point of view. I won't try to go into the story that Stephen Nasser has written or give you a synopsis of the book as i think this would spoil it for any potential future reader, except to say that it is very touching, graphic, happy and very sad in places but always awe inspiring i could not put it down.

Mr Nasser Thank you for your courage and determination in sharing your experience i'm quite sure that anyone who reads this document can't fail to be inspired with determination to work thorough any adversities that they may encounter in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews