Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Psyche'n'Doom, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatarium (Audio CD)
The first full-length effort of Leif Edling's newest project has been one of the most anticipated releases of 2013 for this old-school psyche'n'doom fan. On the back of the Moonhorse EP from earlier this year, it became apparent that this album was going to be something of a delight for Candlemass fans, and, with textures sitting very competently astride the current predilection of the metal scene for prog and retro vibes, a whole load of others besides. Despite the popularity of such things, there is no obvious bandwagon jumping evident here, with material that is unique to itself, yet is undeniably another strong link in the heritage of Edling's musical creativity.

Thematically, Avatarium has a fragmented, dreamlike quality that the sometimes unconventional song structures emphasise, with lyrics that invoke dark, evasive fairytales, sorcerous conspiracies and the red grimness of nature. Jennie-Ann Smith's vocals add a crucial element to the realisation of these aesthetics and are one of the obvious highlights, delivering an enchantment and power that echoes the presence, phrasing and strength of Messiah Marcolin in female form.

With its higher level of experimentation, the riffs are more reminiscent of mid-era Candlemass like From The 13th Sun, Candlemass and the Abstrakt Algebra material than early albums like Tales of Creation or Nightfall. Though the doomier sections are strong and crushing and bear all the trademarks of their prodigious creator, it is the lighter interludes that carve up the boulder-heavy slabs of doom which add a subtlety and depth of interest that makes Avatarium more than the quick spin off project that Edling's doom supergroup Krux - for all of its quality material - has often felt like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All-time great non-symphonic female-fronted metal album, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatarium (Audio CD)
As a big fan of female-fronted symphonic metal music, it was interesting to hear a non-symphonic album sung bu a non-soprano or mezzo-soprano female. In fact, this could be described as Black Sabbath sung by a woman. If you are into long multi-part metal tracks with Sabbath style riffs, this is a must. The album is simply immaculate and the songs contain one great riff after another. The biggest compliment I can give Avatarium is that it is comparable to the great Sabbath albums for its overall level of quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doom with a twist, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatarium (Audio CD)
Amazing debut from doom veterans meets jazz/folk singer. Nothing short of brilliant.
Edling is the genius behind this but the whole band works to create a unique sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Avatarium, 2 Jan 2014
By 
S. J. Pearce (Gorleston-on-sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatarium (Audio CD)
New band, I heard a track played on planet rock radio and it grabbed me immediately, within the hour I had ordered the album and was not disappointed with the whole album, a great mix of rock music with the beautiful voice of Jennie-Ann Smith which creates a unique blend of hard rock and soft vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Subtlety & Power entwined, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatarium (Audio CD)
I knew nothing of this project, but I am glad with out a shadow of doubt that I discovered this magnificent release.
Totally taken back by the vocal performance, sheer beauty contrasting with the brutal riffs that manage to meld together as if they were never meant to be apart.
There is a great sense of depth on offer through the gradual shifts from a barrage of distortion to delicately picked guitar strings, great compositions.

Overall, a great effort from every member/component, which is what a band is all about & these guys show it in abundance.

A no brainer, go buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of 2013, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatarium [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I think this is the best album I bougth in 2013. Long heavy doom riffs, combined with a beutyful female voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Av It!!!!!, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Pesto Fingeration (Chez Vegas, Englandland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatarium [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Took a flyer on this one as it's from the GOD OF DOOM Leif Edling himself.

I didn't go far wrong. Can't say as it's overly DOOMY but it Rocks. Lot's of RIFFAGE in a more trad METUHL way than Candlemass, there's organ insertions and what is probably sampletron too and there's a chick singer.
I suppose if you ever wanted to hear what a Candlemass/Purple/Rainbow/Euro Chick Gothic Metal mash up would sound like then you'd find out here. Boneflower could even fit on Purson's album.

So that's a BUY then. Good Buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avatarium [VINYL] (Vinyl)
It Rocks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Avatarium
Avatarium by Avatarium (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews