Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hate or Glory.
Aleph features less of the "bangin'" Front 242-indebted E.B.M. that was showcased on Gesaffelstein's sequence of excellent pre-L.P. singles, but that's to be expected... an album constructed entirely of austere Blitzkrieg synths, disembodied dominitrix vocals, & pounding anodic rhythms would be very one dimensional, I think?

Instead, it's a very dark, VERY...
Published 12 months ago by Rooksby

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost the groove...
Dark and noisy electro-house. However unlike his singles released on Turbo label which had a sexy techno groove and sounded like dancefloor remixes of Depeche Mode circa 1988, this recent effort is more like the worst excesses of the electo-house scene of 10 years ago. Plodding tempos, dull rythms, and excessive use of atonal squeaks and squelch to create a wall of sound...
Published 12 months ago by Bunky


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hate or Glory., 11 Dec 2013
By 
Rooksby (United KIngdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aleph (Audio CD)
Aleph features less of the "bangin'" Front 242-indebted E.B.M. that was showcased on Gesaffelstein's sequence of excellent pre-L.P. singles, but that's to be expected... an album constructed entirely of austere Blitzkrieg synths, disembodied dominitrix vocals, & pounding anodic rhythms would be very one dimensional, I think?

Instead, it's a very dark, VERY French collection of eerie crepuscular electronica that bears comparison with the lurid 4am drift studies of Bo'Tox & Discodeine - but don't panic, there several ferociously hammering techno cuts too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Germanic Frenchman's classical stomping funk attic haunting - BOO!, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aleph (Audio CD)
This one's hard to describe - when I feel that way about an album I know I'm probably going to like it for a long time. Things sound out of place at time's here because it's influences cover about three decades of 'tech' music: the best sounds of Nitzer/Front 242, the darkest Plaid (listen to Dead Sea), bleepish LFO circa 'Frequencies' up to and including the darkest/dirtiest/thug thumpin' sounds of hip hop without all the (w)rappings (Hellifornia) - amazing/some of the house vocals seem out of place and odd but I think that's why they're there.

I've been listening to older cheap Belgian techno cd's lately and can't help but wish they had the recording technology we have now - the recording and sound here is incredible - for those who truly appreciate the sound of electronics.

It's a dark and heavy trip at times and you have to be in the right mood for it - but there's something to be said for music that confounds you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great album from start to finish, 14 Nov 2014
By 
Superjock (Staffordshire. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aleph (Audio CD)
What a great album from start to finish! If you like Daft Punk, Chemical Brothers etc, you need to buy this!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most original Techno I heard in the last 10 years!, 12 April 2014
This review is from: Aleph (Audio CD)
This is like art Electronic \ Techno that is much deeper than average dance floor stuff.
I love all the tracks and it became one of my favorite CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost the groove..., 10 Dec 2013
This review is from: Aleph (Audio CD)
Dark and noisy electro-house. However unlike his singles released on Turbo label which had a sexy techno groove and sounded like dancefloor remixes of Depeche Mode circa 1988, this recent effort is more like the worst excesses of the electo-house scene of 10 years ago. Plodding tempos, dull rythms, and excessive use of atonal squeaks and squelch to create a wall of sound that is more like a 4x4 Brostep (Dubstep's uglier, noisier cousin) than techno.
A more commercial effort perhaps, and less dancefloor orientated (perhaps to be expected in a album), and most likely influenced by his work with Kanye West. A few tracks bring it down, (such as the title track) and hark back to earlier material but none of the tracks seem quite as sophicated as Mr Levy thinks he is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious french techno from rising star, 1 Jan 2014
This review is from: Aleph (Audio CD)
I've heard mike levy ,real name, for a while now. Great tracks. Brilliant minimal euro techno
Like to see him DJ in UK more.
Good follow up from his iTunes catalogue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aleph
Aleph by Gesaffelstein (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews