Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice companion set
Great to own this new expanded set incl.Sound of the Shadows in mono for the first time on cd.Great to also have ALL the Thunderbird ep tracks in stereo. This makes a great companion to the A & B sides 4disc set which means that now that the all important period in the Shads career (1959/66) is covered, what with this new set including all the ep, s too.And at a bargain...
Published 11 months ago by The Wolf

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound quality a little underwhelming
I received the box set today after deciding to put some of my older Shads CDs up for sale to refresh my collection. I had hoped that the sound quality on the tracks would generally be a step up from my mid-90s triple CD 'First 20 Years at the Top' but it actually isn't. For the earlier tracks up to Dance On, the single Greatest Hits CD containing both the stereo and (I...
Published 6 months ago by Mr. Euan M. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice companion set, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to own this new expanded set incl.Sound of the Shadows in mono for the first time on cd.Great to also have ALL the Thunderbird ep tracks in stereo. This makes a great companion to the A & B sides 4disc set which means that now that the all important period in the Shads career (1959/66) is covered, what with this new set including all the ep, s too.And at a bargain price.I had a mammoth session listening to all 6 discs...LOUD.So ive either annoyed or entertained my neighbours today.Haha.A shame it only came jewel cased instead of boxed like the earlier issue. ..but hey at this price who, s bothered, its the music that matters.Top notch remasters also.
CD Firsts
Thunderbirds tracks all stereo
FBI...orig.newly discovered stereo master take
2 tracks from Dance With in stereo for the first time
Only minor negative ...South Africa (1962)live tracks not included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of the Shadows, 10 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. D. K. Smith (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Originally released in 1991, this expanded edition boasts considerable extra value - over 30 mono tracks available on CD for the first time as well as a number of stereo tracks previously only available in mono, such as FBI (whose stereo master tape was only rediscovered in 2008).

Containing everything recorded by the group during 1959 - 1966, this means that all of the big hits are present and correct - Apache, Man of Mystery, FBI, Wonderful Land, Dance On, Foot Tapper, Atlantis, amongst many others.

But the major joy of this release is coming across less well-known gems. With 185 tracks across 6 CDs there's plenty to discover - some of their later recordings, such as A Place in the Sun and The Dreams I Dream were new to me and they are quality recordings which show the group in a slightly different light.

The CD comes with a well-illustrated booklet which contains an extensive essay by John Tobler from the original release in 1991. This is then followed by an addendum which lists the additions to the 2013 re-issue. There are also full track credits, which list exactly where each track was sourced from - single, album, ep, etc.

Retailing at around the £12.00 mark for 6 CDs, this is incredible value for money. Housed in a jewel case, it isn't the most lavish looking product from the outside (and the front cover doesn't do it much favours, as it looks rather like a public domain title) but it's the content inside that's important, and The Shadows - The Early Years is a quality package containing everything recorded during the peak years of one the UK's most influential groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Collection to have, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. F. Reid "Frank Reid" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I grew up listening to The Shadows, and now at 63 I am learning to play guitar, so being able to play along with such wonderful tunes is brilliant.
If you want one Shadows collection, then this is the one to have.
Excellent price, good sleeve notes and comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Music was Simple and Pure ..., 10 Jan 2014
By 
Pieter Stok (Geelong, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a collection of music that brought tears to an old fan's eyes. This catalogue of songs shows the progression, development and experimentation that made the Shads great. It is a worthy replacement for all the early albums. It is worth every cent, penny or whatever currency you use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some fantastic melodies on here and never heard before as well as the best loved tracks of the past. Greatly enjoyed., 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some fantastic melodies on here and never heard before as well as the best loved tracks of the past. Greatly enjoyed and will keep as a momento of those icononic times. (the sixties)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delivers exactly what it says in the box!, 19 Oct 2013
I bought this expanded version having bought the original box set many years ago. This new expanded version delivers exactly what it claims on the box. Everything The Shadows recorded from 1859-1966 for Columbia / EMI is present and correct in the best audio quality. Many of the tracks are presented in Stereo for the first time. F.B.I in particular sounds amazing in true Stereo rather than the 'mock' electronically reprocessed 'Stereo' that has been available since their 'Greatest Hits' release of 1963. At this price I would thoroughly recommend this release even to the casual Shadows fan. These are the master recordings from EMI and not just a cheap cash in as many of the now out of copyright releases from bootleg type suppliers are not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Group, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brings back my early years I recommend this to everyone who enjoys the Shadows to purchase this as a reminder of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expanded version of "The Early Years" at a shrinked price !, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After 2 or 3 years trying to find the original 6 CD box set at a reasonable price... what a surprise to discover a few days ago that it would be soon available in an expanded version and for a ridiculous price ! I ordered it even before it was released ! (and received it very quickly, just 4 days from the UK to France). Almost everything of the legendary group - or let's say everything you need of their beginnings - is gathered in this compact set: great standards as well as more exotic things... A "must have" for any Shadows lover !
A delighted french Shads addict who at last found its treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good value for money, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For all old classic Drifters / Shadows fans this boxed set includes numbers from the original line-up onwards. Really good value for money, with some very rare hard to find recordings in the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews